Raindrops | A 50 Word Story

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

dropofwater545377_1920.jpg
Source

He watched care as the water drops fell from the overhang. The rain had left a steady trail. Waiting until the perfect moment to make his move, he lunged, mouth open wide to catch the raindrop on his tongue. He spun around and woofed as he heard his owner laughing.

This is my entry to @jayna's 50 word story challenge! This week's prompt is water - check out the challenge here!

This is inspired by one of my dogs at work that really likes to catch the raindrops as they fall from the roof. I've tried desperately to get a video of it, but anytime I attempt it, he stops immediately. Naturally. haha.

Sort:  

My dog is not so keen on rain; think he learned it from the cats.

I love the dog's point of view... Thanks!

😄😇😄

@creatr

I love this, especially how you don't realise it's about a dog until the last sentence.. Well penned

Thank you so much!!

A dog is the main character! Like it a lot. And you really hold it until the end. Little masterpiece. :)

Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it! I thought it would be a nice little surprise if I waited until the end to reveal that he’s a dog. :)

Hahaha. Nice. Mine don't like the rain. When it rains hard we get innundated. They associate rain with pandemonium.
They too have a knack of sabotaging pictures and videos :)

Mine personal dog doesn’t like the rain either. Open the door to go out, he’ll peak his head out and see the wet ground and run right back into the house! Haha. I’m convinced all dogs are professional photograph sabotagers! They’re so good at it.

Very nice, @riottales. I love discovering that the character is a dog at the end!

Thank you! I was hoping it would be a nice surprise to find out he’s a dog!

Congratulations @riottales! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62623.58
ETH 3021.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72