Bully Tears [50 Word Story]

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Ian flings his balled fist against the kid’s jaw. A sickening crunch of cartilage and bone. He tightens his fingers and swings again.

He stands over the kid that has taunted him for years. Tears roll down the bully’s face mixing with blood from a broken nose.

No more bullshit.


My entry for @jayna's 50 word story challenge with the prompt tear.

Bullying sucks. I was bullied quite a lot when I was younger and some of those tears and lessons always stick with you. I wish I could say the above was a true story and I stood up for myself more but that wasn't the case. If I could go back in time I definitely would.

Don't let others knock you down. Stand up for yourself based on your values and principles.

Pixabay Image Source

Sort:  

How cathartic! Note to me: teach my kid martial arts asap to make him become a cute, lethal weapon.

Well done to you and your character @cizzo. It doesn't work out this way much in real life, as the bully selects his targets carefully and rarely chooses someone who'll fight back. You packed a lot of punch into this little micro story. Great job!

Thank you @ablaze
I've read stories of people standing up to bullies plenty, so there is hope :)

Yes and so often the bully grows up to be somewhat of a waster, and the bullied kid is successful... Often the bullying comes from jealously or insecurity on the bullys part..

Ah, I did a bullying story a couple weeks ago as a 50 word story that was also a true story drawn from my memory. I didn't stand up for myself hardly ever. Except that once.

Great story!

Thanks @negativer!
I do recall reading that one and enjoying it a lot. Feels great to stand up to bullies, even if just in fiction.

Powerful story, @cizzo. And I appreciated the backstory on this one. It demonstrates one of the reasons I love fiction so much. It gives us an opportunity to imagine different outcomes, and even to resolve things that have caused us pain. I hope it felt good to belt that bully, even though it is with words, not fists. 😊

Thank you @jayna
I agree, fiction allows us to take experiences and dramatize them in any way we want, and sometimes that can lead to healing.
I didn't belt the bully, Ian did, but I was right there cheering him on :)

And that’s another story...!

Great story, @cizzo. I will never forget that some bullies jumped the scariest girl in our class in high school and she fought for her life and beat them both up. Needless to say, they never messed with her again.

Thank you @pyemoney
That experience illustrates that you gotta stand up to bullies, they will usually back down.

That was some powerful imagery. Cartilage and bones crunching . . . Ouch!

Thank you @jluvs2fly. The bully got what he deserved.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cizzo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @cizzo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75