Dying in the Desert (Dystopia, Part 1)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Picture



The following story is a sequel to the Lost/AIOA and Numb/Awake series (and, in a way, the Mars series). You won’t need to read all of that to understand the story as I will try to make it enjoyable for new and old readers alike. But if you want to have all the background, check out my most recent Masterpost for Lost/AIOA/Mars and this and this link for referrals to all the parts of Numb/Awake. Sorry for the mess!



Tristan chewed on the dry root he had packed as a snack. The taste of the dirt was annoying but still something he was used to. There wasn’t much of a choice when it came to food these days. He wasn’t sure if he could remember a time where it was.

The dry, red dirt beneath him was still warm from the midday sun when he placed his hand on it to check for vibrations. Eyes closed, he focused on the world around him, trying to ignore his own heartbeat. @suesa

Nothing. He curled his lips in disapproval. It had been a while since a herd of bison had come this way and even longer since any other bigger mammal had shown itself. The desert just became dryer by the day and every kind of animal seemed to try to flee, even those adapted to such circumstances.

Tristan couldn’t blame them. If he had a choice, he would flee too. But just as with the food, there was no choice for him in regard to his home. Not a real one at least.

With a deep, overwrought sigh, he stood up from the ground and stretched his shoulder muscles. Searching for food the whole day took its toll, even on him. And now, as the sun was setting, he felt a need to go home.

The setting sun wasn’t as hot anymore and Tristan knew that the temperatures would rapidly drop after the last glimpse of light had vanished. He needed to hurry.

The meters turned into kilometers as he jogged through the darkening desert. When the sun finally touched the horizon, he arrived at the small settlement his community had founded around an oasis. When they had first arrived, everything had been greater than anyone had dared to imagine. The water had been a crystal clear blue, the palms provided shade and food and herds of larger animals had passed by every now and then.

Tristan only knew this from stories. When he had been born, 34 years ago, the water had already turned into a muddy brown and the palms had been dying. The situation hadn’t improved during his three decades of life, in the contrary. People were starving and there was nothing anyone could do.

Not realistically.

His arrival didn’t attract much attention. The scouts had probably seen him a long time ago and told everyone that he wasn’t bringing any food. The disappointment that filled the air did almost physically manifest itself and Tristan felt it dragging him down.

It had been two weeks now since they had run out of fresh food. Two weeks with nothing but dry roots.

His footsteps were heavy when he entered his small hut.

”Joy?” He called out softly. ”Are you awake?”

A small shadow sat up in one of the beds.

”Tristan, you’re back! How was the hunt?” The raspy voice of his little sister drove a dagger through Tristan’s heart. She had been born when he had just turned 24 and was technically just his half-sister. When his mother had died during his teens, his father had taken a new wife and had tried to father as many children as possible. Not many babies lived past the age of one, so it was everyone’s responsibility to secure the community’s future.

Tristan couldn’t do that. For some reason, he seemed to be completely infertile. And Joy, the fragile, sickish Joy … the only child his father ever had aside from Tristan. Her mother had died during her delivery and his father had killed himself as a result, leaving Tristan to care for a newborn.

”I’m sorry, Joy. No luck today either”, he told his sister and sat down on the bed, next to her. ”Maybe I will have more luck tomorrow.”

”I’m sure you will”, she said with a wide smile. ”And if you don’t you can just go to the city!”

”Joy!” Anger resonated in Tristan’s voice. ”You know that I can’t go to the city. It was a one-time thing.”

Joy pouted but he ignored it. He couldn’t give in, couldn’t endanger his life a second time. The first and only time he had entered the city, it had been to find medicine for Joy, when she had been about to die because of an intense fever. He hadn’t had another choice.

”I’ll go out and get your food ration for tomorrow”, he said. ”I will be back in a few minutes.”

Tristan was out the door before she could say anything else. He knew she’d ask him to get something else than the roots. She could barely chew them. But there was nothing and denying her request hurt him deeply, every time.

”RUN!” Tristan flinched and almost tripped over a stone when Mathilda, one of the scouts, appeared out of nowhere and screamed into his face. ”They found us! We need to evacuate!”

”Who? Who found us?”

”The Androids, they’re here!” And Mathilda ran.

The Androids. Soldiers of one of the two governments ruling the earth for 200 years. They had finally found them.

Faster than he would have expected to be able to, Tristan turned around and ran back to his home. Back to Joy. He would need to carry her. He wasn’t sure if he would be able to, but he had to. He couldn’t just leave her alone.

”Joy! We need to leave, now!”

His eyes needed a moment to adapt to the almost complete darkness in the hut, so he didn’t immediately notice the invader.

A tall, humanoid figure stood right in front of him, examining him head to toe.

”You’re the brother she mentioned”, the figure said. ”You’re Tristan. Your sister said you’re a good human, not like those who only want to kill each other. Is that correct?”

Tristan couldn’t move. He couldn’t breathe. Every fiber in his body screamed at him to just turn and run. But Joy, he couldn’t leave Joy.

”What are you?” He asked.

”I’m an AIOA, an Artificial Intelligence Organic Android. The only one with a full free will. You can call me Erin. Now, will you join us in our quest to make this world a better place to live again?”

The Android extended their hand towards Tristan.

There was no choice. No real one at least.

He took the hand and shook it.


Picture taken from pixabay.com


Today’s Suesa’s favorite is: @gtg

@gtg is an unusual choice because I’m not recommending him as someone to frequently read (he doesn’t really post much) but as someone to vote for! @gtg (short for Gandalf the Grey) is a Steem witness and actively trying to make Steemit a better place. He is also helping out on steemit.chat and supports steemSTEM. All in all, great guy, give him your witness vote!


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
You want to support scientists on Steemit? You are a scientist on Steemit? Join the #steemSTEM channel on steemit.chat and connect with us!
STEM is an acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

SteemStem

Monster GIF was made for me by @saywha and @atopy

Sort:  

I felt like i could taste the dust in my mouth, and the chewiness of the root. The imagery of your writing took me to "Thunderdome" an iconic Australian movie, that also denotes a dystopic state of hopelessness where basic survival is the main game. While I have not read the previous story, I feel a strong sense of a previous utopian life with the crystal blue water, that everyone (perhaps) took for granted, and who are now faced with the unknown, new and not so understood world... I like Erin, it gives​ me hope, like perhaps the oasis in the desert, be that a mirage or a new reality, or just some hope in what seems a harsh and desperate place where survival has nothing to do with effort. The relationship between Joy and Tristan is unconditional and beautiful also displaying a loyalty that gives hope in what seems like a very difficult place to live.
Its Christmas​ night right now, my belly is full and my eyelids getting very very heavy. I most definitely​ 'feel' your words, and love the way you write. I'm​ not sure I​will be able to get too far into the next story tonight, but the first thing I​ will do tomorrow is read the next installment! Thank you suesa, now i know why you are a rockstar

the movie I​ referred to is actually called MAD MAX, apologies,Thunderdome​ is a subsequent film.

I really like how you included Erin. Looking forward to find out more about her.

Just wondering how you keep track of all characters? I know its currently not a lot of them but if this story gets bigger it would be wise to do so.

(I like how everyone gives Erin a different gender)

I always only introduce a handful of characters, the moment they have their own personality, they're usually burned into my brain.

Except for that one male MAIN character from my first book. I once read in front of a class of children and then asked for favorite characters. Totally forgot about that one because I hated him. One kid loved him. Oops.

Do you plan to release that book on steemit?

It's in German and intended for 12 year olds... And my publisher holds the rights for 7 more years. So probably not :P

Hi @suesa, The problem with the fictional series or any other series of story writing is that if someone missed one or more episode, s/he won't be able to catch the train again.

I really like your writing style, I'm rather a fan of yours but I must confess that I missed many of the episodes of this series. Wouldn't be it a nice idea to post a summary of the main events with every episode you write? I mean just like we watch seasons and in the start of every episode, there is some past history re-shared with the audience. Something like that?

Anyway, it's always pleasure to read your posts in hopes that one day, I see your photo. :)

Steem On!

As mentioned at the beginning, it won't be necessary to have read any of the other stories to understand this one. Key points will be explained as we go along. That's why there is a new protagonist who doesn't know anything about the previous stories.

Misread part of your comment cause I'm standing in the rain and it's freezing. I will think about writing a summary at the beginning, I just really suck at summaries.

No worries. Peace.

If you pay me a small fee of one million SBD, I can print you the previous chapters of all the stories required to know :)

Nice story, although it doesn't feel like a continuation of Lost and Awake. Let's watch what happens in the future, maybe that will tell. But I enjoyed this story.

I don't think I for once told you that your science write-ups brought me to your blog but your fictions kept me....
Wonderful work, Suesa.

I like to have both as this gives everyone the chance to find something they enjoy 😊

Hmm... I just don't seem to know how to combine science and fiction. Kudos to you...

Is it just me or do your stories actually get even better over time than they´ve already been in the beginning? I can´t say it more often but I really enjoy every single one of them, especially whenever you mix in some valuable science information :)

Well as much as I write it wouldn't be surprising if I improve :D

True that :) I´d bet though that a fiction book of yours would become a top seller in any book store within a matter of days :)

You just lost that bet, twice

Ah I know, I should have referred to books you´d write today :P

Great world you've set up here. I wasn't expecting androids but I haven't read the past installments. There could have been more suspense between the introduction of the android and the revelation that he was good. Great writing though. Is this or anything else going to become a novel length story?

I just write as far as I get, you can either expect 6-7 or 13-14 parts, that has been the usual length so far. Considering I aim fork 1k words a post, that'd be about 14k words maximum. Doesn't count as novel length I guess :D

And well, those who did read the other parts already knew Erin is alright, so it didn't make much sense to make them appear dangerous.

Oh ok so we know Erin already. I will go check out more when I recouperate from that one. Fiction takes a toll on me, which is why I write it so much slower than you do

Woo, I'm so looking forward for this story. I'm getting good vibes from the first post, even though I know it usually goes all the time better after the first post :)

The pressure!

.. is around 101 315 Pascal, why?

But AI does scare the crap out of me. I dont want to think of my car making decisions for me or a judge programed to understand the law perfectly presiding over a loved ones trial.

The effort you put clearly seen on this post.
Good Job My Friend:)

I am not a huge scifi fan but liked the post. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70