The Art of Death: Love and War: Chapter 10

in #fiction6 years ago

bookcover_steemit.jpg

Chapter 10

We both caught our breath. With those Beasts slamming on the door we didn't know if the door would last or not. Elias ran into the door that led to the kitchen and living room.

"Oliver!" He shouted. I was still catching my breath, and still out of it. Should I tell him? I went into the room he was in.

"What?" I asked.

"We scored big here didn't we, bud?" He excitedly answered, while he was inspecting the freezer.

"I see you found the freezer."

"Yeah, man, this can last us for weeks. Only thing is we can't bring it all with us. How about we stay here for a week, and what's left we bring with us!"

"But doesn't meat attract the Beasts?"

"Not if you put it in an airtight package and mini cooler; they won't smell it then." He was right. We just needed to find a cooler and a few airtight bags. I'm sure we could worry about that later. I'm sure we could stay for a while at least; to get some rest. The banging on the door was still going.

"Well, Elias, I need to tell you something, well, show you something." I quietly told him.

"Well, show me," He sighed. I led him to the bathroom. You could still them groaning in the clock store. The banging stopped. Probably because those things gave up. I opened the door first, and he followed behind. I pointed to the bathtub.

"Damn," He sighed then went closer to the body. "He recently died."

"How do you know?" I questioned.

"He's still decaying. He is in rigor mortis, too."

"What do we do?"

"We ignore it, if we need to go to the bathroom, we go outside. If you need to wash up, I'm sure there's running water somewhere; due to the electricity we have."

"We don't just ignore it..."

"Yes we do!" He shouted.

"What do you expect me to do, sleep with a rotting corpse?" I yelled back.

"Yes! Now just forget about him! This bathroom is off limits, okay?!" He stormed off to another room. I just looked down in shock before I left; locking the door before I closed it.

The groaning out in the clock shop was still going on. They knew we were here. They were waiting for us to come back out. I walked back in the kitchen and living room space and he already had the TV hooked up and playing. It wasn't loud enough for the things to hear it, and barely us for that matter.

"This is a great movie isn't it, Oliver" Elias exclaimed. I just nodded. How could he just forget the corpse? Is it past trauma? Either way he was hiding his past. He wouldn't tell me now. I have no idea how to get him to open up to me. He just kinda stared at the TV blankly as the movie was playing. Like he was one of the Beasts. And I feel like having the TV on took away the power the solar panel was making...Then... Everything shut down. No more power. The TV was off. And assumingly the freezer.

"See what happens when you do this shit?" I told Elias. He just mumbled something under his breath that I couldn't hear. I wondered about it for a second, then shook it off. I was being paranoid about Elias' intentions. I don't think he had the best in mind for either of us. He clearly is still in shock over what he went through. I have no idea what it was, but I wasn't prepared to find out either; yet.

"Oliver, why are you just standing there? Sit down," Elias suddenly spoke up as I was still deeply thinking.

"Sorry, it's just, I was thinking. I got distracted. What are we doing again?" I asked.

"Nothing until tomorrow."

"Why?"

"Don't feel like it," He answered and laid down in the darkness. Of course, he was the lazy and laid-back type at night. During the day is when stuff gets serious. I just sat down on the couch, and almost instantly I nodded off to sleep.

Chapters:
Chapter 1: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-1

Chapter 2: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-2

Chapter 3:https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-3

Chapter 4: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-4

Chapter 5: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-5

Chapter 6: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-6

Chapter 7: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-7

Chapter 8: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-8

Chapter 9: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-9

Author: Remember to upvote, comment, and resteem if you like what you read! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05