The Art of Death: Love and War: Chapter 9

in #fiction7 years ago

bookcover_steemit.jpg

Chapter 9

I walked slowly towards the door; my heart beating out of my chest. I haven't inspected this room yet, but the smell scares me. I knew that smell. It's the smell of death. I twisted open the door handle slowly, and peered inside. It was a bathroom with the lights still on. Probably from the solar panels. It had a toilet, white tiling, and a sink with cupboards, a mirror, and a bathtub. On the sink, I saw a note. I looked at the bathtub, and it seemed fine, but the curtain was drawn.

I walked in and headed to the sink. I picked up the paper. It was a letter. It said: "To whoever finds this. I'm sorry you had to find me like this. There's no point in living. I rather die now rather than die by one of those things and be reanimated. I can't I'm sorry." He didn't sign his name.

I read it in shock and horror. I looked at the bathtub, and drew the curtains open slowly while closing my eyes. I didn't want to open them. I opened them finally, and in the bathtub was a dead, bloated, greenish body covered in moss. Its head fell into the water with the rest of the body. There was blood in the water, and on the tiling next to the bathtub. I saw a revolver sitting on the floor between the bathtub and the sink. I gagged and started to freak out. This was a half rotted, half-eaten corpse covered in maggots and other bugs. Sure I dealt with Beasts, but this guy killed himself. I did feel sorry for him. I would doc it too if I was in that situation. I heard of people doing this, but I never saw it. Now I wish I didn't.

I left that room, and left the shop. It was 5:43, 17 minutes until I had to meet Elias back at the spot. I wasn't sure if I should tell him. I mean if I came up empty handed he might be mad, but if I show him, I don't know what would happen. I should tell him. Not about the corpse in the bathroom, but that I found a place to sleep, and I did find food. We could cook it since we had the solar panels and not worry about getting sick or undercooked meat over a campfire. I rushed back where we would meet, next to the bridge.

I waited and waited. It was now 5:50. I was worried something happened to him, but I still didn't encounter any Beasts. However, that didn't mean he didn't. I was worried, and grew more so as the seconds turned into minutes. It was 5:57. He should be here. I mean we have three minutes, maybe he's late. I shouldn't have split off from him. Something bad happened. I knew it. I felt it.

5:58, the minute hand turned. Oh, god, where is he, I knew I shouldn't of let him go alone. He could've came across a horde of them. I don't know. Those things might've ate him alive.

The minute hand turned, 5:59. I was panicking. Where the hell was he? If he becomes a Beast, will I have to kill him? He is a human being after all.

6:00. I was sweating. My mind went to the monsters and what they were. Those Beasts were all human at one point. We are killing humans. Are we really the bad ones here? Am I bad a person for killing my fellow man?

6:01. He's still not here yet. Keep your cool, Oliver, I thought to myself. His timing may be off. Maybe he lost track of time or his estimations were off. He did ask me for the time. I mean the clock was set at 5:15. So he had to be a few minutes off.

6:02. I heard loud groaning and hissing.

"Oliver!" A voice screamed. I looked up. It was Elias, he was being chased by dozens of Beasts. I aimed my shotgun at them.

"Don't bother," he continued, "There's too many! I hope you found a place!"

"Follow me!" I hollered, and led him while running to the clock shop. The Beasts followed close behind. We ran up to the clock store, and entered. I led him to the door, as the Beasts were right behind us. Elias went in first, and I was right behind him. I struggled to close the door. I had to shoot a few of the Beasts arms and faces to get it to close and lock.

Chapters:
Chapter 1: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-1

Chapter 2: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-2

Chapter 3:https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-3

Chapter 4: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-4

Chapter 5: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-5

Chapter 6: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-6

Chapter 7: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-7

Chapter 8: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-8

Author: Remember to upvote, comment, and resteem if you like what you read! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66