The Art of Death: Love and War: Chapter 2

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

bookcover_steemit.jpg

 

Chapter 2


I turned around to face the church. I watched as three Beasts started running towards me while on fire. One of them was missing both arms. The other two were missing a part of their heads. You could see the blood draining out slowly from the head where brains, and parts of their skulls, were popping out. I was scared. The scent of blood will attract more Beasts and Dusks. I removed my clip to count the bullets. There was four left. Counting the two I picked up, I had six shots to work with. I wasn't too worried. Once I got back to the camp I could get more ammo loaded the two bullets in; the Beasts running towards me. The armless was faster than the other two and it leaped towards me. I shot at the beast's leg, and it came clean off. It fell down and it started crawling towards me as the other two made their way forward. Their movements looked like they were doing a waltz. The one on the ground growled and got my attention back.I stomped my boot on its head and watched as blood and brains came out; soaking my boot in its disgusting bodily fluid. I looked back up. The other two were now only a few feet away and I was able to get a better view of the horrid creatures. One was missing an eye and the other one was missing a huge portion of its head. I shot the eyeless one first. The bullet penetrated his skull and blew his head off. I kicked him, launching him toward the other one to make it lose its balance. I walked up and kicked the still conscious one in the head. They both stayed down after that. I heard a loud screech and looked around. The sun was setting on the horizon.  "Shit!" I yelled. I had a half an hour before it was nighttime. Half an hour before the dusks would be out. I started to run in the direction of the camp, tripping over my feet before I got into a full sprint. The camp was only a mile south, but I didn't know if I could make it in before the sunset. The good news was I was in a desert that led straight to the camp; so I could go easily run straight on without being interrupted. The bad news was there were buildings all around that sunk into the sand where dusks loved to hide and my tall physique and long legs made it harder to run. I ran as fast as possible, but it seemed like the faster I ran the darker it got. Given where I was before I started, I estimated about a quarter of a mile left and roughly 20 minutes tops until I made it back safely. I stopped when I tripped over something. There, by my bloodstained boots, was a sign that said "San Francisco, 6 miles." I went pale. We used this sign as a landmark when we went out for the day to look at the familiar destruction of what's left of the buildings that were left to rot for food and survivors. That meant I had at least a half a mile or more to go. At least fifteen minutes more before I was safe. I started feeling droplets hit me. I looked up to see the clouds above me. "Damn, just what I need, is to be slowed down," I whispered. I heard the screeching getting closer. Since it was raining, it got darker. Meaning the Dusks are out and near me. With the half a mile I had left, I picked up my legs and ran the fastest I ever did in my life.  The camp was in my sight, surrounded by a building or two, with woods on the outskirts of the desert. It had an electric fence to keep out the Dusks, but we turned it off before we left and no one came back yet. I was literally a few yards away. I could hear running and howling behind me. The Dusks are here. I ran up to the fence door and opened it, slammed it shut, and latched it. I ran up to the power panel at the side and flipped on the switch. The fence buzzed to life. I sighed in relief but noticed the door to the building we stayed in was wide open.   


Chapter 1: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-1

Remember to upvote if you like what you read!

Sort:  

Congratulations @shadowmoses1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66