The Art of Death: Love and War: Chapter 6

in #fiction7 years ago

bookcover_steemit.jpg

Chapter 6

We walked up to the bridge. It had a few Beasts walking on it. You could see a few giant towers ahead. The bridge was destroyed halfway through where I imagined we would have the most difficulty.

"What is this bridge?" I asked.

"The Golden Gate Bridge. It's about a mile and a half across," Elias explained, then added as he slowed his pace, "Shh, a few of The Beasts are ahead." I knew that. I could see several of them walking around, but they didn't seem to notice us. Yet.

"Let's not waste more ammo unless it's needed," I whispered to Elias.

"Agreed. There's a walkway under here." He pointed to a sidewalk that led under the bridge. We walked under the bridge and there was a giant walkway with only a few Beasts. We would only attack if they came at us. They were a few yards away and I think Elias and I silently agreed to be as quiet as possible as we stopped talking altogether and tiptoed over any debris that was in our way. We made some noise while moving, but the bridge was rickety; there would be no way around that. With all of the holes, it was only a matter of time before it collapsed completely. The Beasts were a few feet away at this point, and the hole in the bridge was behind them.

"I have an idea," I whispered to Elias.

"Shoot," He responded.

"We shove those two into the water below."

"Let's do it!"

"On the count of-" I started saying before I saw Elias shove one into the water, then kicked the other one down. It made a small splash noise but nothing to be worried about.

"Ok, I guess you had it," I sarcastically whispered. We came up to the giant gap where the bridge separated. "What do we do now, genius?"

"We walk on the steel that supports it."

"Are you kidding? It's dangerous!"

"Only other way is to jump, and I guarantee you won't make it across." He was right; this still was a dangerous idea, but I went with it.

"I'll go first." He got on the steel pipe and walked slowly, balancing himself out. He was like a trapeze artist from a circus. He made it halfway, with his arms balancing himself out.

"You go!" He slightly shouted. "Don't look down!" I huffed and got on the pipe, following him cautiously and trying to not look down.

He got off and I was halfway at that point. I looked down to see a deep blue sea under me crashing into the beams that were holding the bridge in place. I started freaking out, but composed myself. I was deathly afraid of heights, but I had no choice. I reminded myself I was almost there, with a yard to go. I moved slowly, focusing on my steps and balance. Then, when I was finally at the edge of the other side, I jumped off.

"Wasn't that hard was it?" Elias laughed.

"I'm never doing that again," I whispered sternly to him.

"Oh, I can guarantee we will do it again before we get to Canada," He admitted, thinking it was funny. I just looked at him and rolled my eyes. "I estimate a mile left!" We were close.

We walked down the abandoned bridge, which had nothing on this side. The sun was still high in the sky. It wouldn't start setting for a while yet.

"What time is it?" Elias asked.

"About 4 or 5," I replied quickly. I was already guessing.

"Good, at least an hour to find food and shelter." Finally, food. I was practically starving at this point. We came up to a hill, which came out from under the bridge. "Oliver, welcome to San Fransisco."

Remember to vote and resteem if you liked what you read!

Chapters:
Chapter 1: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-1

Chapter 2: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-2

Chapter 3:https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-3

Chapter 4: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-4

Chapter 5: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shadowmoses1/the-art-of-death-love-and-war-chapter-5

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66