The Lottery Council- Chapter XXI: Aftermath Part 2

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

11.jpg

Jack and the Nolans had put their time to good use in the confusion following Metzger's demise. Children reunited, money safely out of reach, precious metals under the floorboards of their spacious RV, the Dawsons and their eccentric uncle Jack were on "vacation."

The view along Route 2 heading through the Berkshires is one of the most spectacular in all New England. The leaves had changed and the hills were ablaze with color... They couldn't have picked a more beautiful time to depart. Jack had seen to it they all had new identities. When Jim had asked how he was able to pull it all off, he just smiled... Who was this guy? Jim guessed it didn't really matter, his family was safe. It was the first time they had met face to face. Jim had expected someone much younger.

The plan was to stay on the less travelled back roads- a family out seeing the country. They had brought plenty of cash- credit cards destroyed and a new identity firmly in place. It would be a little hard to get used to, especially for the kids... Dawson, not one Jim would have picked, but it would do. The future may be uncertain, but at least there was one. He reflected on his luck, having escaped certain death at the hands of Metzger. Luck, in reality, had nothing whatsoever to do with it... Jack's watchful eye had seen everything. His reaction had been swift and decisive... and Jim was still alive. He moved toward the front of the RV where Jack was driving. He was concerned about Leyland.

"Where are we headed?" he asked Jack.

"First to Arkansas for a week or two until things blow over a bit and to get you and your family used to your new names. Then it will be up to you. We could use a guy with your talents," Jack told him looking straight out the windshield. Turning his head slightly, he asked, "Why, what did you have in mind?"

"I'm not sure. I haven't really given it much thought... I've just been concentrating on keeping my family alive. Ever since... you know."

"Look, Jim," Jack went on. "You have to forget all about that- it's over. Over and done with. You didn't do anything wrong. And you have to forget about escaping... if you think like you're running away- you act like you're running away. That's the last thing you need... we're just a big happy family on vacation. We've saved our money and we're out to see the country. If you think like that- you act like that. Tell your wife too. It will make her feel better."

Jim hadn't really talked much to Ann about what was going on. They were too busy making preparations to get away. She had fulfilled her role admirably- even Jack had said so. He decided to go and talk some with her, He could quiz Jack about Leyland later- they had plenty of time. Ann was sitting quietly looking out the window. The kids were playing video games and David was asleep. He sat beside her and took her hand. She turned her head and smiled.

"You Ok?" He asked.

"I'm fine," she smiled. "As long as we're all together and safe, I don't care about the rest. Did Jack tell you where we're going?"

"Arkansas, first. Just to make sure everything's safe... until it all blows over and dies down some," he replied. "I'm so sorry about all this... I thought..."

"I know," she cut him off. "None of this is your fault. You were just being you- trying to do the right thing... Trying to save the world. I'm just glad David caught on to everything and that Jack stepped in. Where would we be right now without him?"

"I'll never doubt his crazy conspiracies again... at least I'll listen." Jim looked seriously at his wife. "I wish I knew what we were going to do."

"Do?" She asked. "We're going to do what we always do... Mr. Dawson." She smiled.

Jim smiled back... everything was going to be all right. It was time to ask Jack about Leyland. He excused himself and went back toward the front.

"There's something I need to talk about," he said.

"Your friend Leyland is fine," Jack grinned. "Right about now, he's on a plane to the Caymans to get his money... that's what he seems most concerned about."

"So he's ok? He made it out with no problems?"

"We drove him down to Charlotte and put him on a flight under an assumed name... Passport and everything," Jack told him confidently. "Once he gets his money, he's supposed to contact us."

"There's something else... Who is US?" Jim quizzed him.

"Us is us... The good guys. We're the ones that don't want our country... Hell, our world taken away by scumbags who want it all to themselves. We are many and we are strong." Jack was grinning widely. "Don't worry who Us is, you're one of us and that's all you really need to know for now. If you really want to make a difference, like you thought you were doing with that fucked up council- join us. We can always use good people. Ann too, she's a good lady and she would be a good fit."

Jim felt better. "How did you finally come to the conclusion that Leyland was Ok... that you could trust him?"

"Trust him? I don't trust him- not yet at least. I gave him an encrypted phone with a number programmed into it. I told him to call that number and no other. If he tries to get hold of his former friends... we won't be seeing Leyland again." Jack looked at Jim, eyebrows raised. Jim looked like he was beginning to get it.

Jim shook his head. "I'm not sure what you mean," he said.

"Ok," Jack went on. "There's just enough C-4 in that phone to take your buddy's head off. If he calls the right number- Ok... If he doesn't- Boom!"

Jim got it. The rest of the journey to Arkansas was uneventful. They stopped only for food and gas, with david, Jack and Jim taking turns driving. By the time they reached the hilltop retreat in the Ozarks, it was dark. They all desperately wanted showers and to sleep in a real bed. There was plenty of time to make plans tomorrow... And the very best part was- there was a tomorrow.

                                                                            FINIS

Epilogue to come:

https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-lottery-council-chapter-xv-dr-winstead-summons
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-lottery-council-chapter-xvi-picnic-jim-s-uncomfortable-epiphany
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-lottery-council-chapter-xvii-metzger-takes-charge
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-lottery-council-chapter-xviii-the-clock-is-ticking
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-lottery-council-chapter-xix-fear-creeps-in
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-lottery-council-chapter-xx-chaos
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-lottery-council-chapter-xxi-aftermath-part-1

badge.png
icross.jpg V V.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you waiting patiently.

This one's over for now... Just a short epilogue left. I'll either do a sequel, or try to weave this group into the Night Gods. After all... the fight against evil must go on! Thank you so much!!!

I will read what ever you do my friend I enjoy all your posts.

Thank you very much. I wouldn't be surprised to see our intrepid heroes back in a sequel or another story.

nice... the story is progressing very well! I can start to see that Jim is finally becoming aware, and is realizing the situation fully. I think the dead Metzger kicked Jim into survival mode.

Yup! Now all I have to do is come up with a good sequel!

0_0

DID SOMEONE SAY SEQUEl?!?!?!?

It always seems to happen... when I finish something I start getting ideas about how I should expand it.

yeah... happens to me too lol

I went through your post and looked at your portfolio. I did not expect you to be this good. Your work is excellent!!! I just wanted to let you know that I was really impressed!!!! follow you @richq11

WOW... Thanks. I think I'm getting better. I started a story months ago A Case of Murder, that sucked so bad I quit writing it lol!

My background is Political Science and Economics... most of my writing up to now has been academic. fiction is something fairly new and I really am beginning to enjoy it!

I see you're in New Hampshire- I used to live there.

you mean leanardo - de caprio , ha ha. yes, he is truly inspired me and my one and only favorite actor. yes I love the way of you are writing . appreciate your skills and talents

Greetings from Colombia good post;)

I've really enjoyed reading this story...a bit sad it's ending.

One good thing about my stories- they never seem to be over! There will probably be a sequel, or I might weave our intrepid heroes into The Night Gods.

Nice post. I will wait for the sequel

Congratulations!

@richq11,
Great post with a great story... yeah this is the first time I am reading your post and I think I will read your posts again and decided to follow you too. Thank you very much for sharing this amazing story and really appreciate the effort you have put here!

Cheers friend~

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55030.03
ETH 2337.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32