Tale of The Beer Tycoon (really short story)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Beer

Tale of The Beer Tycoon

Once there was a brewer named Dave who created a brew.
It was a beer to itself. Nothing compared as he knew.
It was strong, hoppy, malty, and sweet.
It paired well with anything you wanted to eat.

Dave determined it was his favorite beer, convinced it was better than any.
So he set off to build a small business. He invested everything for the taste buds of the many.
Over time, Dave discovered he had more than a talent for craft.
He had business savvy to spare as his large competitors laughed.
Investors offered him a fortune to buy him out, but Dave said , "No thank you.
I do not really know how my beer fares in your view.
The joy of the craft is that this beer stands alone.
I will build my own fortune and buy my own throne."

Dave built a brewing empire from the ground up in his name.
His business expanded and earned him world fame.
In business, his tactics were ambitious. Even cutthroat to boot.
He built a great fortune, bought a throne, and he wore a nice suit.

Beer lovers across the globe admired him. To his fans, he was friendly.
He sponsored beer tastings, competitions, and conventions a plenty.
With all of this honor, Dave's integrity was strong.
If his beer was not the best, he would know he was wrong.

One day, Dave met a brewer named James with a taste of new drink.
"I didn't forget my keys for nothing!," said Dave with a wink.
Dave gave it a taste and was amazed by the flavor.
Something even better than his own brew? This he had to savor.

"How much do you want for it?," Dave said with a gasp.
James replied, "I'm honored truly, but afraid I must pass.
The value of this beer will stand on it's own.
Your integrity inspired me to invest in it alone."
Dave the Beer Tycoon understood this too well.
He wished James good luck and plotted James' business to fail.

Dave The Beer Tycoon stuck to tactics that got what he was after.
"It's a shame," he thought, "about that talented crafter."
James' beer failed the market with James none the wiser.
Dave saw it as business, not business as a miser.
To the end of his days, Dave The Beer Tycoon lived on with great cheer.
He remained at the top, with a fortune and throne, drinking his second favorite beer.

This was a small story I've had floating in my head for the past month. It's meant to describe what I think about today's business culture and what's missing in economic theory today. Let me know what you think in the comments below.

Disclaimer to UpVote and Follow Swappers: I will not upvote or follow just because you did the same for me. What I will do is take a look at your work if you are respectful in your request for me to do so. If I like it, I'll up vote it. If I like you, I'll follow you. I only ask for the same in return. If I could, I would reject the upvotes and follows from swappers because those are insincere. Please read my work and get to know something about me that you like before you upvote or follow. The reason for this is that trading upvotes and follows without any respect for content is hacky. If you don't appreciate content, this is not a good space for you to be working in. You shouldn't be working in ANY entertainment space if you don't respect the content. Go back to scalping tickets on ebay or something. Just spare me your penny for a lie.

Credit: My own story. Image was found on Pixabay

Sort:  

Beautiful and sad. Unfortunatly common reality these days.

That's a great story/poem! It illustrates, first, just how these things go in the real world. But secondly, that last line, shows how Dave is also the loser from all this. That's why I can't consider the 'top rich' to be intelligent people. There's a form or irrationality involved in keeping most of, say, India in poverty, when there might be so many geniuses in India, who could've invented things that would make the rich folks' life so much better, but they never will, cos they live in poverty. This "I'd rather be king in a village than a peasant at a futuristic supersociety where everyone's an immortal" approach never made sense to me.

I recommend you remove the tag 'beer' and add 'writing' for more visibility!

Awesome! Glad you like it! I'll take your advice on the tagging since this is a bit of a writer/reader heavy community.

I think that this might be an epic poem disguised as a short story! Try writing it out in stanzas.

Thanks! I actually decided to break it up in stanzas while we were talking about it on the podcast. Before that it was paragraphs. As it is now, it might seem off because the font has it spilling over on some lines. I'll see about making a smaller font. Perhaps even pick a stylish font for it too.

Forgive me for not taken to the story too much, however your disclaimer was brilliant. My favorite, go back to scalping tickets on eBay or something. Just spare me your penny for your lie. 👏

No apology necessary. I know not everyone will be impressed by everything I make. Any feedback as to why it didn't catch your interests would be welcome and appreciated, even if all you can say is "I just didn't think it was that impressive /entertaining."

As for the disclaimer, I went and made a post for it if you want to check that out. Glad you like it!

There are some post that grasp your interest, or pull on your heartstrings, or make you aware of something you didn't know before. Then there are some that do all of this but for some reason you just don't connect with the story and you find yourself scrolling to the bottom. That was me. I love your other post, read every word. My cat pictures, thanks for not taking offense and replying.

No problem. The pleasure is mine! Honesty is more valuable to me than money or fame. Cats rule!

hahah, power to the kitty community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58