5-Minute Freewrite Collaboration - DEVIL DOG

in #fiction7 years ago

Devil_Dog_JRhughes.jpg


Celebrate!

Today's Five-Minute Freewrite is so special because it is the 100th daily prompt, and @mariannewest came up with a commensurately special plan: Grab a partner and do-si-do. @Raj808 and I chose to do the one-minute each taking turns thing and I think it came out pretty fun!

Thank you @raj808 for collaborating with me and for finding such a perfect pic! And yes, this is posted at both our blogs because we each wrote half.



Devil Dog

It was Saturday morning and there was blood everywhere. Which sucked big time because I’d had plans to go to a concert in the park and that was not going to happen now. Just my luck Uncle Billy--the drunk fuck--would fall off a ladder today.

That ladder had been in the garage forever. Just rotting away. I told the mad old fucker to leave it until we could buy a new one from the store, but he just wouldn’t listen.

It was my fault, really. If I’d gone to the damn store and gotten him another fifth, he wouldn’t have been searching the attic space for possibly hidden bottles to quench his thirst. You could say I was the one to blame.

Or I was the one to thank.

It was kinda funny how it happened though. There he was perched atop the ladder reaching out, straining, fumbling for the non-existent booze bottles when the dog came careening past.

He’d always hated Muffin, the stupid ass purse dog my step-mother carried around everywhere she went. I’d always hated Muffin too--one thing we had in common--but now? Muffin was alright with me.

Muffin had come flying around the corner yapping and hit the side of the ladder. As Billy reached out to grab the side of the attic space, the ladder toppled and he plunged down, landing on Muffin and ending those infernal yaps for good

The evil stepmother was gonna be so pissed about Muffin.

Probably about her brother’s blood all over the white tile too, but mostly about Muffin. I started to think what could be done to get me out of this shit storm when I spied one of her million freaking scented candles.

So without further ado, I grabbed one and lit it. You need a nice atmosphere when cleaning up uncle and dog guts, you know. I ran to the kitchen, grabbed the bleach and popped on a nice classical music CD.

I hadn’t gotten through the first roll of paper towels when my bitch step-sister got home.

“Holy shit! What the hell did you do, you psycho freak?”

“Calm down, I didn’t do anything. But the cops will probably look at it just like you did.”

“What have you done to Muffin?” she exclaimed in horror. “He was mother's favorite and my little snuggle monster.” She sighed, and looked at me in that annoying way that big sisters do.

“Give me a paper towel then, let's clean up this mess.”

Fin


Thanks again @mariannewest, @improv, and @raj808!


Do not miss the Isle of Write Curation to Publication happening right now!


If you'd like to land on our shore, a click of the map brings you right to our door!


IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

OMG! This gets better each time I read it! The two of you work fantastically together! The part about needing a nice atmosphere for cleaning up guts? Bwahahaha! ! 😂 (Evil stepmother sounds like she would be more upset about Muffin.) You two slay me! tip!

Oh thank you so much @brisby! For the kind words and the tip :)

I'm so happy Raj tapped me for this it was a lot of fun writing with him and it was nice to get something lighthearted on my blog for once lol!

You're welcome! It can be refreshing to write something a little different. (That being said, after a couple of days of lightheartedness, I'm ready for some bloodshed!)

Today I'm flying along on the back of a griffin to deliver the prompt to all of our fantastic Freewriters!
Day 101 - 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt : hardboiled minds

lol, Uncle billy couldn't have been that terrible, could he?

Ha! We will never know because five minutes is so damn short!

Well holy shitsticks, this is fabulous.

Lol, thank you! I thought we did okay for it :)

Looking forward to combining our powers to write sad shit ending with a bang ;)

Turned out pretty good @jrhughes. Thanks for collaborating with me 😂It was so much fun!

It really did! Thank you so much for thinking of me, I am flattered and happy we got to do this, it was a blast!

This is jessicalicious.
You and Raj did a great job.
One sec. I'll join in to clean up. :-)

Hahaha! Awesome, thank you Jeff! I knew we could count on you ;)

Hi @jrhughes! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.05 SBD @tipU from @brisby :)

@brisby wrote lately about: Saturday W/ @Improv - Freewrite (100Th Day!!). Feel free to follow @brisby if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

you two had way too much fun!! :D I loved the whole thing and had tears in my eyes by the time I was done reading it!!!

Great wonderful job!!! to both of you!!

Well, this story sure went places I didn't expect.

Not enough cussing in the end :P

Also, that sister. Then again, the narrator. Guess in that family, everyone deserved everyone else ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49