A Day in the Clouds (Chapter 17) - The Hours Between 2100 and 2200

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

This is a continuation of the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds. Be sure to check out the previous chapters to catch up with the story. Enjoy!


<< Chapter 16


cover

The multi-talented @verbal-d (who, by the way, edited this chapter) has bestowed a wonderful gift for this story. Known for his lyrical rhymes, he's also a master when it comes to mixing melodious beats. To enhance the reading experience, play this on loop in the background as you read this chapter. Take a deep breath, and allow yourself to be consumed by the entire experience. Please be sure to follow and donate to @verbal-d! You can also follow his work on SoundCloud.

I wanted to scream, or use my armas to propel me up in the air. Different contrasting thoughts flooded my mind. If I didn't have self-control, I would've ran out of the fortress to fetch Diego to show him a fragment of his past. But, I did none of those. The teevee held my gaze. No matter how much I tried to move, I couldn't bring myself to do so.

"Hola, Dora," Diego greeted his cousin, with a pleasant tone that I hadn't heard in person.

I didn't know why a story of their lives captured my attention the way it did. It wasn't particularly pivotal or even compelling; though it was so captivating. I couldn't explain it. It gave me hope or a warm feeling of simpler times before the Great War.

In it, the story narrated how Diego saved this kangaroo from giants, who they referred to as "poachers." I didn't know why they referred to our adversaries that way. Whatever the reason was, one thing was for sure, those fiends were up to no good.

Could this be how the giants discovered our weaknesses? The two devices worked in conjunction with one another. Those fiends used computers for tactical communication. All the while, the teevee provided them with intel about our lives.

The revelation was gut-wrenching and, above all else, maddening. I wanted to scream at the top of my lungs. A part of me wanted to wreak havoc inside the fortress. But, I had neither strength nor the numbers to overpower my opponents.

Look before you leap, Ledd. That infernal mantra had been ringing in my ear ever since my recapture. I steadied my breathing and unclenched my fist. Trying to force a smile, I decided to sit back and grit my teeth.

After consuming the information about Diego, Lowlow clicked on the remote. The act forced the teevee to change its display. He went through several "channels" before he settled on a scene of pleasant looking giants.

"Donde esta la biblioteca?" a dark-skinned giant asked a brown-skinned one. At the bottom of the screen, the text "Where is the library?" was displayed. Written in the giants' native language, the text flashed ever so briefly. Perhaps it was a video that helped the giants learn my people's language.

It seemed like they were going to great lengths to learn how their prisoners spoke. I couldn't help but wonder why they had yet to understand a thing I said.

"Channel" was the term they used to refer to the teevee's different displays. In a way, it was like the "websites" of Dadier's computer. Lowlow flipped through them furiously, as the giants digested information at lightning speed. They paused briefly at different channels, until one eventually stuck out.

There was a little golden "H" in the graphic on the upper-right hand side. The voice on the other end kept mentioning "History." I'm not quite sure what it meant. But, it sounded like "his story," which was ironic because it showed a glimpse of my old life.

My eyes welled up, but I bit my lower lip to stop myself from bawling. This was a rare opportunity to rekindle my past life, and I wanted to take advantage of every second afforded to me. The display showed footage of the ruins of my village. There were no survivors, and teevee classified my people as extinct.

Chachapoya. They weren't satisfied with extinguishing my race, they had to butcher our name as well. The realization devastated me, and I wanted to make the giants suffer the same fate. Seeing what became of my people made me realize that I needed to be smart about how I handled things.

I was the last of my people. Am the last of my people. Even if I produced an offspring, it would not be the same. I was no elder, I didn't know how to pass on the knowledge that I held. The legacy of my people would end with me, so I had better make sure that I honored them by avenging what the giants did.

"One day I will join you, my brothers and sisters," I thought out loud. "But, not until I avenge your lives."

"Did you say something?" Teten asked.

"Oh, no, nothing," I excused, shaking my head. "It's just ... It's the story of my people on the teevee."

Without warning, Lowlow changed the display. And with that, my opportunity to be with my people, even for a brief time, vanished. The giants laughed among themselves a few seconds later.

As much as I wanted to get up and leave, for some strange reason, I felt compelled to linger. It was definitely odd. I could move, but could only make slight gestures. Focusing on the clock above the teevee, I pushed up against the cushion and tried to exit the leisure area.

The stare of the teevee was hard to avoid. Whenever I was able to lift myself an inch from the cushion, my gaze fell from the clock and back to the viewing box. A numbing trance came over me, and, suddenly, my thoughts were cast asunder. When I finally snapped out of it, what felt like mere seconds were actually minutes stolen from my life. As I gazed back to the clock, I could see that time had jumped forward.

It felt like time passed me by. I had no recollection of the minutes that passed, not even what the teevee was displaying at the time. The giants shifted their positions during the stolen minutes. I hadn't even noticed that Lowla had already left the leisure area. It was a very peculiar trap I found myself in, but I had to admit that it was quite ingenious.

The time the giants had taken were precious moments that I could've spent plotting. It was a non-violent deterrent to any suspected rebellion. That was, if that was what they were doing.

I closed my eyes and attempted to leave the area once again. After successfully standing up, I extended my arms to feel out the area for any obstructions. It was hard to navigate to the exit with my eyes closed, but it was a necessity.

"Ledd, don't walk with your eyes closed," warned Mamie.

With my viento, I felt her approach, perhaps to guide me back to my seat. I picked up my pace a little, redirecting my viento to my bare feet. In my haste, I stubbed my toe on a coffee table that stood in the middle of the cushions and the teevee. The pain forced me to open my eyes, and I involuntarily looked back at the screen. I broke out of the trance as quick as the snap of a finger, but 20 minutes of my life had already vanished. After snapping back to reality, I found myself back in my seat with my back slumped against the cushion.

It was frustrating, but I didn't want to let it get to me. If I became enraged and lashed out at the giants, I would have been even further from them trusting me than before. I had to be smart about this. This is what they wanted, and knowing that, I needed to be careful not to fall into their trap.

Was it not a trap and instead a reconditioning method? I had thought of that possibility much too late. I found it strange that I didn't have the same violent reaction as before. The teevee didn't really paralyze me the way it did at first. It was only after that I ... That I ... Keep it together, Ledd!

"Teten," I cried out. She was as transfixed as I was, while the giants were free to move around. At that point, I was almost certain the reconditioning theory was the correct one. "Snap out of it! We need to—"

My words slurred, as nothingness began to fill my mind. For some strange reason, it only immobilized prisoners. It warped our minds to allay thoughts of defiance. Our guardians seemed to be immune to the ... Wait, what? Guardians?! I meant giants! Captors, adversaries, foul beings! Get a hold of yourself, Ledd!

Snapping out of the fugue state, I discovered that only Teten and I remained in the leisure area. Even in her advanced state, it was reassuring that Teten was still not one of them. She was too far along than I was, that was why I was able to snap out of the hypnosis more often. This may have been one of the last reconditioning sequences that she had to undergo before her transfer.

Lowlow had set down the remote on the coffee table. If only I could reach it, I could turn off the teevee and end this miserable plight. I closed my eyes once again, and made a beeline for the coffee table.

If I were to gain Teten's allegiance, freeing her from this trap was a surefire way to do it. After this nightmare was over, I was sure that she would be eternally indebted to me. Side by side, we could save the other prisoners from certain doom.

I jumped from the cushion and fell on the smooth cement floor below. My bare feet pounded against the ground, and my legs marched with purpose. I tilted down a little so that my hands could feel out objects that I could trip on. Making little steps so that I wouldn't miss my target, my crown eventually hit the side of the coffee table.

Teten rushed to my side to see if I was alright. I wasn't quite certain if it was her, though. With my eyes closed, I only made assumptions based on the sound of the steps the approaching figure made. It didn't make the earth shake, for one, and it made shorter strides than a giant normally made.

"Are you alright?" she queried. "What are you doing?"

"I'm alright," I replied, waving her off. "It's ... I'm okay. Don't worry."

I stood up, scratching the top of my head. My eyelids opened up slightly and I was able to see that the remote was right in front of me. Squinting, I grabbed the device and clicked on every button combination I could think of. Not knowing what was happening with the teevee's display made it difficult. I based my assumption on the sound it produced.

Teten tried to snatch it from my hand. Knowing that she was under the giants' thrall, I tried my best not to injure her. I used my viento to strengthen my grip. The augmented strength she gained from the giants' transformation made it difficult.

The volume of the teevee increased as the struggle went on. It must've been a defensive mechanism for when prisoners fight the reconditioning process. With only my sense of hearing as my sole means of navigation, I had to act quickly before it became impaired.

"Mamie!" she shouted. "Ledd's destroying the remote!"

I shouted back, trying to push her away with my armas. Sweat dripped down the side of my head and seeped into my squinted eyes. The sharp pain made me wince, but it wasn't enough to force me to give up control.

The brainwashed prisoner must've been sweating as well. I felt the remote slipping from her grasp. It didn't feel like she was wavering, so I held steadfast. I dug my fingers between the buttons, bent my knees, and crouched down. It allowed me to gain sole control of the device! I tilted back and laid flat on the floor, pointing the remote towards the teevee.

The teevee was deafening now, and I could no longer hear if a giant or Teten was approaching. Refusing to fully open my eyes, I clicked on the buttons more vigorously. Hoping against hope, I tried my best to rid myself of the brainwashing device.

All of a sudden, the ear-splitting sound vanished! Whatever combination I mashed must've done the trick. But, when I opened my eyes, the teevee was still functioning. It seemed as if only the sound disappeared.

The minor distraction provided Teten the opportunity to grab the remote. Without hesitation, she repaired the sound. I tried to snatch it back, but I couldn't establish a good position.

"Ledd," Mamie said, in a deep, authoritative voice. She scooped me off the ground and carried me up the steep staircase.

I stared at Teten, but she averted her eyes. This time, I lost the battle, but it wasn't anger I felt. As I looked at her, I couldn't help but feel only sadness. She was too far gone, but I remained hopeful that I could get her on our side.


viento
The extremely passionate @ryivhnn has created this magnificent viento-inspired artwork for this story. Close your eyes and picture this masterpiece, as you imagine Ledd soaring to new heights. Please be sure to check out @ryivhnn's wonderful artwork and in-depth logs of her experiences with homeschooling her children. You can also become a patron of hers on Patreon so that you can support her regularly.

mandala40400.png


<< Chapter 16


Thanks for reading! Follow me, @jedau, if you want to live.


Leave this post a feedback, and I'll be sure to return the favor!

divider

Sort:  

One of the things I love about this series is the way it seems to stimulate new ways of looking at things for me, even though they might not be what you intended.

But first a comment about the other day when I talked about GAPS - I just want to clarify that I don't think it changes the unique, creative way autistic people think. It doesn't make them neuro-typical, and they wouldn't want to be. The world needs them not to be. What it can do is help them to be more functional, within their uniqueness. (Actually, maybe we all could do with help to be more functional, within our uniqueness.)

Today's thought was triggered by Ledd seeing the demolished village. What if people who are on the spectrum are somehow more open to what the rest of us can't see? What if they are more in tune with previous lives? What if Ledd was an inhabitant of that village or one like it, and was one of a tribe that is now extinct, in a previous lifetime? What if, in real life, Zepp's seizures are him actually slipping over into another realm or time, temporarily?

One of the things I love about this series is the way it seems to stimulate new ways of looking at things for me, even though they might not be what you intended.

I just replied to @dreemit's comment about this haha! I'm so happy that this is being evoked by the story. Truly makes my eyes water a bit :')

I really enjoyed writing scenes without writing them, such as how the giants feel. It was probably the aspect that attracted me most about this approach. Since I'm not a first-person writer, I might not be able to replicate this again, but I'm so glad that great friends like you support and appreciate the thought and effort put into this :D

Ohh yeah, that's how I took what you said, with the GAPS diet helps them become more functional. I didn't take it at all as something that would change how they think. Was that how I conveyed it in the SILVER LINING?

Hmm awesome thought-provoking questions, my friend! It's a cool thought about previous lives. I actually have a different story that deals with this as a main topic. You know, I haven't really thought about seizures as a manifestation of him slipping over into another realm or time, that's definitely interesting! I really like where you're going with this, and if I hadn't finished the story I would've definitely thought twice about incorporating that into the finale! :o

Thanks for that very meaty comment, my friend! I really have a lot to think about when I approach a story I have in mind for the future :D

No, you didn't convey anything like that about GAPS, I just wanted to make sure I hadn't. That I hadn't implied that autism is something to be fixed. But a little fine tuning can sometimes be helpful.

It was the first time I had that idea about the seizures too. There is so little we know about how the things work, really.

Nice! I'm glad :D Yeah.. In the PC world we live in, we really have to be careful that what we say don't get misinterpreted. Good of you to think about those finer details, mate!

It was on the spot?? Wow! That was an awesome thought :) I agree with you that there are so many things we have yet to fully know about. I'm looking forward to exploring some of them in different stories. It's so fun thinking about the possibilites, that sometimes I don't even want to know the fact because it might turn out disappointing haha

There we go I was right yay XD

That poor child...er...man, he's so confused! The giant's brainwashing is working! D: And not only that they could spy on people all along! No wonder they won the Great War!

How are those two getting away with being up at that time anyway, aren't prisoners back in t heir cells by now? Quick Ledd now's your chance! Oh wait Mamie already picked him up, drat.

That was so much fun, his battle with the teevee was epic, and very reminiscent of my younger son especially and the sheer effort of will it sometimes takes for him to switch off especially when he knows we need to go somewhere XD

HAHA! Dangit! It's bittersweet that your guess was right haha I'm torn whether I should be happy or I should be cursing the clouds. What I'm not torn on however is the gratitude I feel for the support you continually provide, my friend :D

Damn those giants.. Damn us!! Going all big brother and shit in our quest to control everything in this planet.

It seems so long ago, but the events earlier in the day pushed everyone back a bit. It's not uncommon here to be up that late. It wasn't a school day so Teten doesn't need to wake up bright and early the next day :) I like how your mind goes there haha! Even though I have an answer for that, I didn't expect anyone would ask!! Knowing you better though, I should've expected it.

I have been told by several people who have read this chapter before that this was one of the better chapters of the story. Really though, writing this was a breeze, and I wasn't that emotionally invested in this one. I wrote this with the reveal in mind, but I'm so glad that people took notice of the other aspects haha

Your younger son and I have a lot in common then haha! Even now I still struggle a bit with it, especially when a good movie or basketball is on. Thanks for yet another entertaining comment, my friend! :D

Well, I've had kids for a while ;)

LoL! XD I don't understand that problem, I can't wait for the bloody thing to go off, I hate tv XD unless I'm playing PlayStation games on it, that's different ;D

Well just goes to show you either find writing fun things easier than writing hardcore serious things or that you do a better job when you're relaxed? :D

Ahhh! That figures :) The reference is a hit or miss, so it's just fortunate (or unfortunate?) that the era your kids were growing up in fell in line with Diego :D

Hmm that's something to think about for sure. Definitely better when relaxed, but when I write, I tend to act out the scenes so that I could feel the emotions the characters are feeling. So, I really get into that mindset, making me less relaxed haha!

LoL! Do you have to write while feeling it or can you ruminate on it for a bit and write later when you're relaxed again?

I usually write while I'm feeling it. Haha! When I relax a bit, the emotion isn't as raw, so I try to put it down into words while it's fresh. I think it makes a world of difference, I said to myself in hopes of convincing myself that I'm not wasting my time acting out the scenes. hahaha!

Well if you can be bothered conducting an experiment you could always try writing while it's fresh and after you've had time to ruminate and see which one you like better XD

Whatever helps you work better is totally worth it! ;D If it's any consolation I pull stupid faces whenever I'm trying to work out expressions and will often be cavorting around the room trying to work out timing and weight for animations, and handy friends and family often get unexpectedly roped into things when I need quick references for any given thing XD

You know what.. I might just do that with the project I'm working on. Definitely an interesting experiment. Thanks for bringing that to my attention, my friend! :)

Haha! Drawings do need more of what I'm doing. I'm sure the people you're roping into being models don't mind it at all :D

Thanks, @shayne! I'm glad you found it entertaining :D I hope you would find the time to catch up some time. Since I'm updating weekly, you would be able to catch up before the story wraps up :)

It's all coming out. The drama with the TV and the volume. Only just the other day I had a battle with my little one as she need the volume up to infinity!! Great stuff dude. What lies ahead for our little Ledd!!

Haha! I never imagined the chapter to be that topical! It's best you give in to her demands now while she hasn't gained full power over an entire corpountry (corporate country. I found a spare time machine earlier and peeked into the future, but there wasn't enough juice to send me through. Don't worry about it) You wouldn't want to be deprived of basic necessities and told that the reason for it is because you refused to turn the volume up that one time decades ago in the future, right?

We're on the cusp of the final arc! I'm so glad that you're in this ride, dude! :D

Oh the hypnotic thrall of a television. I must admit that I used this tool myself when my children were young, haha, to give me a bit of well, me time ;)
I have a guess about Diego, though I'm not entirely sure.
His story, that is exactly the way I read that word myself, and mystery, despite the e, I see as My story, haha!
Have I mentioned how much I look forward to the day that I can read the entire book cover to cover without waiting? I always feel like I'm poised at the edge of my seat at the end of each chapter...then drat, I have to wait!
I felt that stubbed toe, and I really felt that bonk on the head, ouch!! There's a certain spot that is awful to whack!

Haha! Then you'll want to stick around for this week's SILVER LINING, my friend :D The final edits have been placed in a couple of day's ago, and a full copy is now available. Would you want to read the whole thing now? The reason why I've held off was that so the posts would have comments, but if you want to read the whole story now, I could send it to you :)

The teevee really proved to be a surprising opponent for little Ledd. When I was writing this, I didn't imagine for the chapter to be viewed that way and just focused on the big reveal of who Ledd thought he was. But, I'm glad that there are more things mined from this chapter than what was intended. Thank you for leaving your entertaining thoughts on it, my friend! :D

Can't wait until I get to read it through, uninterrupted ;)

Enjoy! It would be interesting to see your thoughts per chapter after reading the whole thing :D

sorry its my first read of this story,what category is it?.....fiction or non?

It's fiction, but based on his little cousin who is developmentally delayed, you definitely have to start at the beginning or you will be lost, but I highly recommend doing so, it's an awesome story! He also writes a companion post for it called Silver Lining, a backstage peek into the life of Ledd :)

wow,i will get on it

Nice! Happy to have you on board, @oluwoleolaide! I hope you enjoy reading :D If you have any questions or comments, feel free to leave your thoughts about previous chapters in the latest posts :D

By the way, @dreemit also has an ongoing story entitle Reborn :D Do check it out as well, it's definitely a must-read!

will do just that....☺

Awesome! I'm interested to read about your thoughts on it :D

Excellent post dear friend @jedau you are a brilliant writer, tines much future, congratulations, I wish you many success !!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you, my friend! I hope you enjoyed reading :D

Absolutely brilliant, bro!! I like to think of your book as a child simulator. A unique and explorative take on the wonders of a child's mind. Fantastic work.

I'm almost fully caught up now and thoroughly enjoying it. Another home run chapter. The fact that Ledd perceives the television as a gateway into another world, his interpretation of the events unfolding before him and the strong emotions it conjures up, are expertly written, bro. Your narrative is a living, breathing entity unto itself.

Very intrigued to see where this is all heading from here. You're an undiscovered master of penmanship and your book proves your worth in bucketfuls. Hope you rise to the heights you so deserve , my brother.

Woohoo! I'm so glad that you've been sneakily catching up. The story is nearing where you left off with The Symbiotic Protocol! I can't believe it's been that long haha! You are definitely missed here, brother! Wait, no. I mean, no. You are not missed. Who are you? ... haha yeah, no, I can't do a misdirect :D

I hope that you've been catching up sequentially, brother! I don't know if it's the same thing when read out of order. I'm so happy that you've been enjoying it. Warms my heart that you took the time to leave your thoughts on this chapter. Especially considering this was one of the least voted on.

Awaiting the day you come back here full time :D

Bless, my brother! You are recognized as one of the greats on this platform when it comes to writing and it warms my heart to know that. I'm also currently catching up on the fantastic @dreemit and her awesome novel too. Man, I really missed being on here... Sincerely, what a wonderful bunch you guys are.

Look forward to loads more from you, my brother!

You are the glue that bound us all together man. All you. So know that you are equally missed, brother. I don't know about being recognized as one of the greats. Most people don't even notice my posts and comments haha! Really though, I have nothing to complain about considering the marvelous people who continually support my work :D But, I really did miss you on the comments section, man. It just wasn't the same without you.

No, bro. I feel I've become the apprentice trying to reach up to the levels of the new masters (yourself included, of course). Again, I'm so incredibly happy at the attention your material has been getting.

Steemit is slowly getting more and more well known, man. I'm just so glad that my old comrades are (mostly) still on here. Once again, really sorry for just disappearing like that. Things have calmed down since so I should return and post regularly soon. Can't wait, bro and thanks for understanding. :)

No, no, no, no. You will never be an apprentice. All this time you were away, we saved your seat awaiting your eventual return. It's like you just stepped outside for a bit. The months felt like mere minutes.

We've built up quite the bond, and you have a permanent place in that fellowship. The others have achieved quite a lot while you were away though, but they're still the same awesome people. As for me, I've grown 1 solid rep since you went away hahahaha! So "not much has changed for me" is very appropriate.

I'm happy for you that things have calmed down. Personally, I'm still in the middle of trying times myself. But, if you ever need a friendly ear, know that mine is available for you, brother :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47