The balloon invasion: A 50-word short story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

This story is based on the prompt, "science fiction," by @miniature-tiger. I'm not a sci-fi writer, but I could not resist the invitation to write an entire sci-fi story in exactly 50 words.

The balloon invasion

above-736879_960_720.jpg
Photo credit: Pixabay

To everyone’s surprise, they came by hot air balloon--quietly, one by one.

There were no spaceships. There was no whirring or bleeping. No little green men. No abductions, and no violence.

But each town they passed immediately suffered an earthquake, hurricane, tornado, flood, tsunami, or volcano.

The natural disaster apocalypse.



Thank you for reading!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

About me

My recent posts

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

THE WEATHER BALLOON!
Oooooh!
Spooky.
Very nice, ominous, and fifty words! Wowza!

So glad you like it. It was very fun to write. And as you know, my predisposition is to write much longer stories! So these are a big stretch for me. It’s like a novelist trying to write poetry.

But I'm a novelist who writes poetry :o

Ahhh! So then I’m like you!

Suuuuuuure? :P Do you have any novels on the inter-webs I can check out?

Okay fine. I’m not like you. 😝

sigh I thought I found where I belonged.

I like this! Using our own planet against us...very clever and unnerving!

Thank you, @bryarose23! This one was a lot of fun to write.

That was quite interesting. Using the balloons to invade.

Thanks, @mydivathings! I am so glad you liked it. 😊

I love this @jayna! They came by hot air balloon. Whodathunkit.

Or by crystalline pod. They're not so hot on tech.

Thanks so much, @carlgnash. Evidently I’d a-thunkit! But I have no idea where these things come from. 😆

Whoa! This has shifted huge imagination plates of my mind's surface. Cheers!

That sounds like a good thing. Thank you for reading and commenting, and good luck with your writing!

WOAH! Nicely done! The natural disaster apocalypse, I don't think anyone has done that before, haha. Great job!

Thank you, @therosepatch! The prompts and writing contests really get the creativity going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68