Chapter 1 (1 of 5) - Core (The Blockchain Based Fiction Series.)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Introduction 

The Beginning. 

It was unimaginable to think these same streets were bustling with people just a few hours ago. 

Noise and chaos had been replaced by the wonderful orchestra of nightlife. The sway of the breeze, the chirping away of birds around with the crickets occasionally joining in. The many stars in the sky, together with the moon, providing the best lighting ever. It was a perfect stage for the end of the day's drama. 

Work had dragged on a little longer than expected which threatened the chances of catching a bus. He did catch it, only to discover he had left his headphones behind. This was the last bus for the night but not even that fact would be strong enough to come between him and his headphones. Not on this night.

Corey had gotten off the bus at the next stop, which was already quite a distance from the cafe he had worked that night. He ran the entire distance back to the cafe without breaking a sweat; something he gave himself some credit for just before going in to retrieve his headphones. 

The mumblings he heard were still running wild in his head. It was the manager's office but felt he had no reason to bother himself about it. He shrugged off the thoughts, and with his mind incapable of being idle, he suddenly began to admire himself. 

In truth, it had been a very long walk home but he wouldn't have dared to try this just two months ago. Some viral video he stumbled upon on YouTube had motivated him to keep himself fit. It was tough keeping up with the early morning jogging initially but he kept at it. Tonight, all the hours spent jogging paid off. 

The lights inside the house were still on, which meant his dad wasn't in bed yet. Corey dragged his almost 6 foot frame through the door looking very exhausted. 

"What's the story today boy?" His dad asked from under his reading glasses. It was not the first time Corey would come home late. 

"Won't the old man ask the young boy to eat before talking about the long day?" Corey managed to mumble the words as he made for the kitchen. 

It was in truth more than a modest apartment for a school teacher. Living in a predominantly white neighborhood, Corey grew up a very privileged child. 

The entire day was played out on the dining table after the meal had been devoured. There was never a boring time with his dad and he loved that. 

"I better get to my room real quick. I've got an appointment in dreamland." Corey said as he kissed his father goodnight. 

"Korede Evans, the true son of the one and only Kolade Evans, his very handsome father" his father said as he watched Corey leave the room. 

Raising him in a neighborhood like theirs made it important for him to always remind his son of his roots. The rest of the world might call him Corey but to him, he will always be Korede.


                                                 Next


Please note that you can always be a part of this writing adventure. It's open to all fiction writers on Steemit. We have some exciting ones already. We are waiting for you still! Kindly go here https://steemit.com/fiction/@fisteganos/authors-wanted-a-fiction-series-created-by-members-of-the-steemit-community for more.

Sort:  

https://steemit.com/fiction/@dreemit/reborn-chapter-one-seven-weeks-earlier

found a nice piece , but it's too much for me to read , I would rather go over other posts and I have to write my own too :) so hope you can diest it and find some inspiration

also
https://steemit.com/fiction/@everittdmickey/ride-the-lightning-episode-32

is a great author an writer , but I can't catch up with everyone

Great great finds.
Here dreemit's piece is a long read. Reached out to him tho.
Won't mind if you help share the link https://steemit.com/fiction/@fisteganos/a-blockchain-based-fiction

Haha! Great to see. It's a movement already lol. Time to flood Steemit with stories for days!

Ohh, gotcha, I was taken to the other link first so I didn't know what you meant about contributing. Like a connecting story, we used to always do this around campfires, pass the stick so to speak. That's awesome, I would love to. I'll have to take a longer look in the next day or two. I'm a girl by the way, people make that mistake when they see my page and my brother with his guitar ;)

Had to go check my earlier comment. Lol. Sorry about that 🙈.
So great, I'll add you to the channel at Steemit.chat (i'm assuming you're on there).
😊

Naija, inspired to see you here. does steemit open easily in naija?

Yeah most times. Some other times I have to keep refreshing. Let's say it's good 90% of the time. I guess it's heavy and has been telling on my data plan already 😂

I love the idea, where do I sign-up for writing it?

Wow great! I guess you already did.
I don't really have it figured out yet. This will be my first real shot at writing fiction and i'm trying this out (sounds crazy yeah? 😃).
We could catch up on Steemit.chat if you're on it and when you're available

Hey, you too huh? I would love to collab with my lovely friend, the awesome @writingamigo ;)

Thanks for the heads up! I really think a artist will suit the narrative, add in some color and motion to the sets , but it's great as it is , Good luck with the story, a few more and there will be a chapter :) !

You know you're free to join in yeah?
Let me know when you're ready 😊

There is something I might ask you for the future , but so far I'm not going to try my hand in fiction, I'm barely posting as it is and if I take another challenge before I've failed my first it' not going to go well ,

I will support you from the sideline on this one and follow up on my blogs, I kind of promised that to myself :).

I might need some creative writing for a contest I'm trying , but it will be some shorts only. I'm still figuring it out

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66620.20
ETH 3494.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72