“Q”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Chapter 75: I didn’t notice what was happening to my body


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

.........................but Jenny did, she told me about it later.

Poor gurl, she had to watch the mess. Remember now, the more painful it would otherwise have been, the more I enjoyed it.

It was bad.

It was sooooo good.

I lost ALL control of ALL of my bodily functions. Urination and Defecation were the least of it. Think ‘explosive diarrhea and projectile vomiting'. It sounds gross and it was,... but remember...my polarities were reversed. I was SO enjoying the process.

But wait!...it got better. My skin begin to split, bleed, and ooze. I looked like, and would have felt like, 4th degree burns all over doused salt and alcohol....and maybe some acid too.

It was wonderful.

I didn’t notice, nor would I have cared, the Q-Wasps cleaning up the mess. I must have looked like I had been tarred and feathered, with the wasp wings being the feathers.

I was having SUCH a good time that I zoned out....and found myself in a Virtual Reality. I could tell this time. I’d done it before.

“Hi there big boy” Kitty said.

“Well hello. What are you doing here? I’m in...”

“Yeah...I know all about it. Don’t you worry about a thing Sugar.” Kitty assured me” Jenny is taking care of Business. That’s HER job. Right now I have Business with YOU!”

“You mean?” I was starting to get excited...I couldn’t help it.”

“NO!” Kitty said. "Not that kind of business. You need to be educated.”

“About what?” I asked.

“About the capabilities of your soon to be newly enhanced and augmented body for one thing. For another thing you need to learn some history. REAL history, not the lies you’ve been fed your whole life.” Kitty sternly explained.

“What kind of enhancements and augmentations?” I asked. "Neural Lace?”

I’d recently read about neural lace online. It was supposed to be a big deal when they finally figured out how to make it.

“Yup.” she replied "That and other things”

“Direct Neural Interface?” I added.

“Well Duh!.” she agreed. "and built in multi-frequency, widely distributed, highly redundant transceivers so you can communicate properly. Actually all of your systems will be widely distributed, highly redundant and massively parallel. No single point of failure for anything.”

“Fat?” I muttered hopefully. I was so dam tired of being obese.

“Gone.” she replied " It will be used for fuel to help power the transformation. "

That was a good thing I thought.

“But wait” Kitty looked at me with an evil smile.

“Whut?” I asked dubiously. I didn’t really like the way she was looking at me.

“You’ll still look fat. You won’t have any muscle definition like weight lifters. You won’t be ‘cut’.” She said "Oh you’ll loose the beer belly and you’ll gain bulk in your chest and shoulders but you’ll still appear to be a fat man.”

“Why?” I asked. "I assume there’s a reason?”

“Oh there is.” Kitty positively gloated. "Armor.”

“I repeat my last. ‘Whut?’ How’s it work?” I said, but I actually liked the idea. Getting shot was really annoying and it seemed that I’d been getting shot a LOT lately.

“It works really well.” Kitty looked like the cat that had swallowed the canary. I could easily imagine feathers sticking out of her mouth.

“No, seriously, tell me.” I was interested. It might save my life so I had a reason to be.

“The thumbnail sketch of how it will work is that you will have another mesh or net slightly under your skin. It will,naturally, be made from one of the allotropic forms of carbon and thus VERY strong. It’ll easily stop bullets from small arms. Behind that, and thus the reason for the bulk, will be a layer of non-newtonian fluid. More in some areas of your body than others. That will spread any impact much like the ceramic inserts you made from floor tiles in your trench coat.” She finished.

“I can deal with that” agreed. Moving on I asked "Strength?”

She quoted Tennyson. " ‘You will have the strength of ten men because your heart is pure’. Actually you’ll have the strength of ten gorillas but that doesn’t scan.”

“Yet you will retain your fine motor control, in fact it will improve. You’ll not have any trouble threading a needle.” she said.

I’d given up trying to do THAT a long time ago. My hands didn’t EXACTly shake..but my dexterity wasn’t what it used to be. That was good to know too.

“Reflexes?” I added.

“Improved...a LOT too.” she replied.”picking a fly out of the air without harming it will be NO PROBLEM...in fact you’ll have much better reflexes than a mongoose. You will be able to dodge an arrow easily or snatch it out of the air. You might be able to avoid a bullet if the shooter isn’t too close. Your eyesight will be good enough that you will be able to SEE the bullet coming at you.”

“Endurance?” I questioned.

“Humans are pretty much at the top of the list when it comes to that, BUT you will have more endurance than the best human ultra-marathon runner.” She told me.

I liked that part especially well. Lately I was getting out of breath just climbing a couple of flights of stairs.

“Eyesight?” I asked her. I didn't’ see as well lately as I once did either.

“Like I said, it will be improved as well...immensely. You will be able to see MUCH better than you ever could before. The spectrum of light that you can perceive will be extended beyond the visual spectrum high and low. You will be able to see in the Infrared like mice, in the UltraViolet like bees and in very dim light. VERY low levels of light...better than a cat or even a cave fish. You will even be able to polarize light in your eyes like Octopus. That can come in pretty handy. Glare will become a thing of the past AND nothing will be able to hide from you. Almost any type of Camouflage will be easily detected by your new eyesight. Your pattern recognition ability will be improved upon also.”

"As a matter of fact light won’t really be required. You will have additional senses other than what standard humans have. Several as a matter of fact. We copied them shamelessly from the animal kingdom”

"Just to name a few you will have an electrical sense like the Platypus.”

"Echolocation, a.k.a. sonar, like bats and the Cetacea.”

"You will have a magnetic sense...similar to that of Bees.”

"Your sense of taste will be greatly enhanced like...well like almost every other animal except for humans...”

“The sense of smell as well. You’ll be able to smell better than a bloodhound. "

She paused for a moment and grinned "Molecular cybernetics augmenting genetic engineering can do that.”

“Well won’t I be just the little super man.” I said.

“Pretty much " she responded. "You can’t fly unaided...not exactly, I’ll get back to that. But you will be able to jump fairly impressively, and Kryptonite doesn’t affect you either.”

Huh? I thought about that then looked at her.”Joke?”

“Yup” she nodded. "just making sure that you are paying attention.”

“Good one.” I agreed. "Oh I’m definitely paying attention.”

“In summation.” she said "My people have been master genetic engineers for a long, long time. We know how it works. What I’m basically doing with you is picking the best genes for your purposes from among the entire biological pool on earth, cutting and splicing them appropriately then mixing in some advanced materials tech along with molecular cybernetics. Simple.”

“That’s simple?” I asked. "I can’t imagine what ‘complex’ would be like”

“No you can’t.” Kitty said " You don’t have the technical back ground.”


Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

yeah, still sounding like a good party.........


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Excellent post.

Fabulous one!!!

Every time i watch one of those sci-fi movies with super human power, it's like i feel i am morphing into a similar one. Here was the same case!
One day you should have your posts turned into a movie. Excellent style Mickey as always!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31