“Q”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Chapter 66 : We talked and we talked.


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

Actually Kitty talked and I listened. She told me more about what happened in humanities past and what I MIGHT expect in the future. She stressed the possible and the probable, NOTHING, she emphasized repeatedly, was for certain.

“Ok.” she said "now that’s out of the way...here is what you’re gonna do.” she said.

Over the next few weeks we did one thing and another. Sometimes she squirted me some computer files. Some times she sent me stuff by bird. In fact there were a LOT of birds coming and going from my balcony. I did geek stuff with the files and the deliveries using the new equipment that I had been building for so many months, under her close supervision of course, this was critical.

Then one day the last printer was complete. It didn’t look like any of the other printers that we had built. As a matter of fact it looked like a small cartoonish bee hive.

“That’s odd.” I told Jenny.

“It’s a Q-Hive.” Jenny said. " It will make wasps and Quintessence

“Quintessence? I think I heard Kitty use that word once. Wait a minute, did you say Wasps?” I looked at it warily. "What kind of wasps? I’ve had bad experiences with Yellow-Jackets.”

“Q-Wasps naturally.” Jenny said. "They are analogous to Bees. Bees leave the hive, find nectar from flowers then bring it back to the hive and make honey. The Q-Wasps are not so picky. They look for almost anything organic, eat it, then pre-process what they eat before depositing it in the Hive. The Hive then makes more Wasps and Quintessence. Handy stuff that. You’ll really like it. The Hive needs to be primed in order to grow the first Q-Wasp though.”

“Primed with what?” I asked dubiously. I wasn’t all that fond of wasps. Like I’d said about the yellow-jackets. I’d been stung more than once and I didn’t like it much.”

“Any kind of meat will work..” Jenny said.

I found the ziplock bag in which I stored the ‘gifts’ left to me by the visiting cat. Yup, it contained a small bird. I had’t flushed it yet. I’d been busy.

I held it over the Q-Hive, the top irised open. I dropped it in.

Gulp.

It was gone.

“Now we wait.” Jenny said.

“So tell me about Quintessence.” I prompted.


Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

these two sexy minx's are cooking up trouble.....

In my experience, that's pretty much what sexy minxes are for.

sound like we must have met the same sexy minxes then. ohhhhh! this must mean they are all like that then...

Fantastic! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31