“Q”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Chapter 51: The Johnston Flood


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

On May 31 of 1889 an entire city was washed away killing over 2200 people


(a few years before the present day)

The boy who Charlie had met in the swamp that evening was named Rowdy Thibodeaux . It was rather amusing to think how long they had hung around together before Charlie learned his name.

“Look what the cat drug in” Charlie heard a voice say one day.” Who you go with you?”

Charlie turned around to see another boy, about his age and size, approach.

“Oh hi Clyde...this is...uh” he turned to Charlie and grinned.” You know...I don’t believe that I ever got your name.”

“Same here” Charlie grinned back. "I don’t know your’s either. Mine is Charlie...Charlie Green.”

“Mine in Rowdy Thibodeaux” Rowdy said "This swamp rat is known here about as Clyde Boudreaux. That’s what he says his name is. With Boudreauxs....you never can tell.”

That lead to some rough housing. It was all in fun Charlie was sure...pretty sure.

“All right boys..” you keep that up and I’m gonna have to build a ring and let you fight it out.” Roy Brown, the new chief, had seen the ‘fight’ and walked up unnoticed.”

The three boys turned and looked to see who had spoken...it was the first time Charlie has seen Roy. Roy was a BIG man.

“Oh hi Roy” Clyde said "yeah..that’d be a good idea. That way I could kick this little weasel’s ass and no one could complain.”

"You just keep thinking that, you little rat.” Rowdy had replied.” I’d ....”

"That’s be enough of that for a while” Roy said. He noticed the expression on Charlie’s face.

“Are you the Green boy?” he asked.

“Yessir” Charlie replied. Roy was REALLY a big man. Looked strong too.

Roy laughed. "Don’t look so worried. I don’t bite.”

“Don’t believe a word of it” Clyde said "That’s the Chief...and I don’t just mean of the Tribe. He’s a pro.”

Charlie blinked at that. Pro?

“I seen how you stomped the Desperado on TV the other week.” Clyde said "That was awesome.”

Desperado? Charlie was SO out to sea.

Finally Roy took pity on him and said "Me and the wife used to run the pro wrestling circuit up until a bit ago.”

“You were the BEST” Clyde said.

“You certainly were.” Rowdy said.

“Well I’m outa that now” Roy said "I got two young’uns to raise and Pop put me in charge of this lashup.”

“I bet you’re gonna miss it” Clyde predicted.

“Yeah...I imagine you’re right.” Roy agreed...


Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
and comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

Once again @everittdmickey you got me all the way to the end! Love your writings. By the way...is that tiger on an old greyhound? Windows sure remind me of one. Is the artwork your own? Keep it coming, your work truly is the #Steem coming from the boiling hot community of #Steemit

Thanks.
The tiger is an avatar drawn for me by a guy on Facebook.
He said that when he thought of me he evisioned a tiger.
he's supposed to be driving a truck .
I was a trucker for over twenty years.

Right on. I'm sure you had sometime to wander in your mind coming up with some wild stories. Or for that matter...just the experiencing so many different places as a truck driver, I'm sure there were many people you could fit into stories. I travel for work, it's amazing some of the things you see out there.

that's right...I've changed the names to protect the guilty..but a lot of what I write about happened.

nice one more,thanks,its real thinking and writing good

good work bro
please help me , follow and upvote so i will do the same for you bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11