“Q”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Chapter 52: “Hello Ms Smith, my name is Alfred Perkins


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

.......................... a somewhat snooty voice with a vaguely foreign accent asked her. " I handle the luxury condominiums. I’d be happy to help you find what ever it is that you want. How many bedrooms will you be interested in?”

“I think there is a misunderstanding” Shaniqua told him.“I don’t want to buy an apartment.”

“Oh?” Perkins been disappointed. "What DO you want?”

“I want to buy an apartment building. I'm particularly fond of high-rises, perhaps near a lake or river?”. Shaniqua said.

Perkins couldn’t help himself. He gasped "Yes Ma’am. I just happen to have several properties for sale. In fact one is still under construction. Would you like to visit them personally?”

“I believe that I would.” Shaniqua replied.“Where are they?”

“Oh you needn’t worry about that " Perkins gushed. He was already counting his money. His commission would be HUGE. "I’ll send a limo to get you. Where may I direct it to go?”

“The Chronicle” Shaniqua said "I work there.”

Perkins wondered about that. Was this a joke? How could anyone who worked at the local newspaper have that kind of money? He’d learned a long time ago, not to judge a book by it’s cover though, some of the richest men he knew looked like truck drivers.

He wondered if she might be interested in that white elephant that had recently been constructed outside of town. Some kind of cult had built it. For one reason or another the building was only partially completed. It was for sale and had been for some time but no one seemed interested. If Ms. Jones wanted something unusual she could buy it. The potentially for inflating the price and increasing his commission made that all the better..

“When would you prefer for it to arrive?” he asked politely.

“Now would be good.” Shaniqua replied.

“It’s on the way.” Perkins said. "It should arrive within the hour.”


Between 1865 and 1877
Over 3,000 people died at the hands of the KuKlux Klan...
or so it is assumed.
The perpetuators said to have worn hoods.
Who else could it possibly be?


Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
and comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

sits down with first coffee of the day ......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74