“Q”

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Chapter 96: My face is a MESS!


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

My face is a MESS!

Shaniqua said a few days after she had been introduced to Jenny. She had been looking at in a mirror and didn’t like what she saw. I examined it closely.

“You’re right about that.” I agreed.” The swelling has gone down some though. I think they broke a few bones. Possibly the cheekbone on one side...it looks a little bit flat. I dunno about the orbital. It might be fractured too. How do you feel?”

“Oh I feel ok.” she said

“The medicinal nano is doing it’s job then.” I said "If not for it you would be in a great deal of pain.”

“I can’t bear the way I look though. I’ve never been pretty but...” she said .

I interrupted "I most vehemently disagree. I think you are gorgeous, present tense.”

“You’re so kind.” she stood on tip toes "bend down.”

I did so and she kissed me on the cheek.

“I still don’t like it” she repeated.

“It takes time.” Jenny said. "Even for medicinal nano. It can stop the pain and repair the soft tissue rather quickly but it takes longer to repair bones.”

“How can you be here?” Shaniqua asked Jenny. "We’re in the Real World, I think, not in virtual reality.

“Your molecular nano-circuitry must be maturing to the point that you can do AR now.” I replied.

“Oh Fooey!” Shaniqua said "Not ANOTHER exotic concept?”

You betcha” I said "It’s called ‘Augmented Reality’. It’s a blend of the real world with computer generated overlays.”

“AR is well and good but it doesn’t help my face any .” Shaniqua was almost in tears "I can’t bear for you to see me this way.”

“Wear a veil” Jenny said.”or a mask. Women have done so for centuries.”

“Huh?” Shaniqua said” A veil?”

“Why not” I shrugged. "It’s been the fashion off and on in the west. It’s not just an eastern tradition.”

“That’s not a bad idea” Shaniqua said. She sounded a little bit happier. " I like it. I will. I think a mask would be better to hide all the bruising and discoloration. I don’t need anything fancy”.

“Sometimes understatement is best” I agreed. Have you considered a balaclava? A lot of people wear them for protection from the sun. They don’t need to be very heavy. Something like this perhaps?

I projected an image. Q can do that. The balaclava had the face of a cat painted onto it.

“You call THAT understated?” Shaniqua giggled, Jenny did too.

“Still” she said "It might actually be useful at certain times.”

“If you wear it with sunglasses and a scarf no one can see your face.” I replied.

“That’s for sure sir” Jenny said "However I think this might be more appropriate. She materialized a veil such as belly dancers wore...or harem girls. It had gems, little gold chains, coins and tiny tassels sewn to to it.

“Oh Yes!” Shaniqua said " I like that one MUCH better. That’s what I want.”

Jenny made one from Q, then showed her how to alter it to fit her desires. Shaniqua was getting better at controlling Q , but pointers from a master were always good. Jenny was definitely that. Shaniqua wore the veil from then on. Women..what can I say?


Next Chapter
Previous Chapter
The Beginning

I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

I was only kidding about him gathering a harem. lol.

Nice sir . Your Story and you know I like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31