Today Again: An Original Novel for steemit by dreemit Chapter SixsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction8 years ago



If you missed out on Chapter Five click here


Chapter Six

Lissa didn’t take a full breath until she’d turned the corner at the end of the street. Her heart was racing, her hands were clammy and shaking. He never let her use his car. In fact the only time she ever drove it was to take him to the store for more beer when he was trashed enough to worry about getting pulled over. He thought she was getting a pregnancy test, she’d deliberately led him to think that in light of what had happened yesterday which was actually today a day ago….Oh God, holy shit, she felt hysterical laughter bubble up and swallowed it back. What the hell was she doing? Stealing his car? Did it matter? Could she drive halfway across the country and end up back in her bed tomorrow morning, or this morning, or….she yanked the car to the side of the road and stepped on the brake, squeezing the steering wheel. She needed to get a grip, reason this out.

The way she saw it there were only a few possibilities. A: She was in a drug-induced coma. B: She had actually died and this was some kind of purgatory. Or C: She was caught in some kind of time blip like the skipping of a record, and the best she could hope for was some cosmic event to knock it back on track.
Well if she was in a coma then none of this mattered because it wasn’t real. If this was purgatory…she shuddered. She’d get back to that one. But if this was in fact some kind of strange rift in the fabric of reality then the whole thing could end without warning bringing Friday with it, so it might not be the best idea to steal his car. Well not to drive it across the country anyway.

She pulled back onto the road and twenty minutes later pulled into the bus station. It was in a nicer area of Binghamton so she wouldn’t have to worry about crazies assaulting her while she waited to go….where ever she decided to go. Her phone beeped startling her and she groaned, knowing it would be Tyler wondering why she wasn’t back yet. She ignored it for the time being. She’d wait until she was safely on a bus before texting him and telling him where to pick up his car. Then she’d turn the phone off. She felt a bit of her tension loosen with that decision. Baby steps.

She walked into the terminal and sat on a bench, noting that there were only a handful of other people sitting on chairs and benches spread across the large room. Okay, next step…where the hell was she going? She forced herself to think, her brain really wanted to shut down but she was not going to let it. She was always just letting things happen. Okay, I should err on the side of caution and assume that this strange repetition will end tomorrow. In which case she didn’t want to spend too much of her money on a ticket, which would limit her choices. But in case today was going to repeat, did she really want to spend the whole time on a bus? She rubbed her left temple which had become the new target for her pangs. Fuck it, she thought, as she continued rubbing her overtaxed noggin, all day on a bus was fine. Maybe she could use the time to figure out her life. She should probably pick a destination she was actually interested in that way if tomorrow came she wouldn’t be stuck somewhere shitty with a dent in her wallet to show for it. Well, she’d always wanted to go to Colorado, see the Rocky Mountains.

She stood, once again glad that she’d chosen this station. The station downtown was so shady, there was bulletproof glass separating the patrons from the ticket sellers. Here there was a desk where a middle-aged woman with greying, stylish hair and a pleasant smile greeted her as she walked up.

“Can I help you?”

“Uh, yes. I want a one-way ticket to Colorado…” she smiled sheepishly, “not sure exactly where in Colorado, just that I’d like to be on a bus as soon as possible and not spend too much money.”

The woman typed something into the computer. “Well it looks like we are running a number of specials for Aspen since it’s out of season...there’s a bus heading in that direction in 45 minutes but it has a number of lengthy layovers. If you waited until later today...” she stopped as Lissa shook her head, “okay, well the cheapest is ninety-nine dollars plus tax and the arrival time is Saturday at 10:30 a.m.”

“I’ll take it, thank you.”

A few minutes later she went back to the bench and sat, holding her ticket tightly, wondering if the woman would notice her lack of luggage. She was noticing it herself. Wishing she had at least brought a few changes of clothes. Nope, she thought, not going to worry about it.

Less than an hour later she followed two people out of the terminal and onto the bus, making her way toward the back. Fortunately there were plenty of empty seats so she chose one that was just far enough from the bathroom not to smell it, but close enough she could easily reach it. She slid all the way in and took her phone from her pocket. I’m sorry. She typed, I need time to think. Your car as at the bus station uptown. She sent the text and shut the phone off, slipping it into her purse, then leaned her head against the window, looking out at the parking lot without really seeing it. Figure out her life, she thought. Where to even start? She squeezed her eyes shut against the now recurring stab of pain in her temple, wondering if it was a side effect of her predicament, or if it was something being done to her in the hospital bed she could be lying in, which would also be a side effect of her predicament…she sighed loudly.

Everything felt real. The glass her head was resting on was chilly, the fabric of the seat was soft and slightly worn, and she detected a faint odor of cleaning products. If she were in a coma, would everything feel this real?

She pulled her phone out of her purse thinking she should look it up then huffed out a short laugh. If she was in a coma then looking it up was not going to help because it would be her mind fabricating the information. Plus Tyler would have texted back probably ten times by now which is why she’d turn the thing off to begin with…had she really forgotten that in a matter of minutes? Injured brain didn’t seem so farfetched. It was by far the most plausible of her theories whether she could smell Clorox and lemon or not. They were not new scents, this was not her first time on a bus, it was entirely possible she was trapped inside her head after overdosing. Maybe a lot of dreams were like this, you just couldn’t remember that when you woke up from them. Maybe, could be, might be, shit. She closed her eyes again and this time let her mind wander rather than directing it, hoping it might lead her where she needed to go.



It was three a.m. by the time all three women had fallen asleep from exhaustion, the king-sized motel bed a tangle of legs and tits and ass. Physically Caleb was as wiped out as they were, but mentally he was still alert, wired from the generous lines of coke he’d shoveled up his nose. He pulled himself out from under them and crawled to the edge of the bed, leaning over and grabbing his jeans. He flipped to a sitting position and pulled them on, his eyes flicking to the half a gram sitting on the card table. He should probably wait until he fully came down…he caught himself and smiled wryly. Those were rules for reality, they did not apply to comatose dreams.

As he pulled up a chair and divided the powder into lines he mused that this was exactly like what he would imagine a virtual realm would be someday. He did two in quick succession and shook his head vigorously, barely suppressing the urge to vocalize the rush. He slid a glance at the women who hadn’t stirred, and decided to take his thoughts and his high elsewhere. He used a card to scrape together the remainder of the powder into a pile by the edge then carefully pushed it back into the plastic baggie from whence it came, pulled on his shirt and flip flops, then grabbed his phone and made his exit.

He stood on the sidewalk and pulled out a cigarette, enthralled with the whole process of lighting it and taking his first drag, watching as the smoke plumed from his mouth and floated off into the night sky. Definitely how he’d imagined the future of virtual reality. He brought the cigarette back to his mouth and noted that his hand was jittery from the speed shuttling through his system. Incredible, he thought. It made him question what reality truly was, because it all felt just as real as it ever did. What if his brain hadn’t decided to repeat the day? He wouldn’t know that this wasn’t real. He took another drag and scanned the length of the sidewalk, not a soul in sight. It was after three am on a weekday, it would be a few hours before the street woke up…huh, what will happen if I force myself to stay awake until the afternoon, I wonder? Could that break the routine? Only one way to find out.

He knew of an all-night diner across town that would suit his purpose perfectly, particularly because of the time. He’d probably have the place mostly to himself. Plus it had a single bathroom that locked with a convenient metal shelf under the mirror. And coffee.

He dialed the number for a cab and tapped his foot while he waited, his body filled with a frenetic energy. This was his least favorite part of a cocaine high, he preferred it when he started slowly coming down. His thoughts grew laser-focused without the addition of body energy-as long as he wasn’t drinking.

The cab pulled up and he got in, giving the driver instructions as he shut the door. He stared out the window as they pulled from the curb then jumped backward so forcefully he nearly landed on the other door.

“What is it?” The cabbie asked in alarm, checking his mirrors.

Caleb’s heart was pounding out of his chest but he forced himself to answer,

“Nothing, sorry, just a trick of the light.” Trick of the light, he repeated inside his head. Because instead of a faint impression of his own face in the window, for a split second it had been the face of a girl. It was too quick for him to have taken in detail but that didn’t matter, he knew who it was. Especially since it was his imagination, what other female would he freak himself out with?

By the time they got to the diner he was pissed as hell and still on the up side of the upper. He paid the cabbie and got out of the car, closing the door a little harder than he’d intended, earning a scowl from the man. He mouthed ‘sorry’ and turned in the direction of the diner than changed course just before he reached the door, deciding to walk to the river, burn up the extra energy.

He could always come back.







Logo made by the incredibly awesome @papa-pepper

Sort:  

Little by little I'm fond of lisa, I'm in doubt for the budget that will be to pay the beers you consume, magnifico pos dear friend @dreemit thanks for another exciting chapter

Thank you! Lissa has a long way to go but hopefully she will learn ;) I love your support my friend @jlufer :)

Hey @dreemit!

The book is coming along amazingly well! The inner feelings of Lissa, deciding on whether to take that bus journey or not, being trapped in limbo whilst weighing up the possible consequences in her unique situation are all beautifully told by you.

You should be very proud of yourself. It's coming across as very polished and lovingly creative. Looking forward to the next chapter. Great job! :)

Aw, I love your comments. Actually, I wouldn't generally ask this but I'm trying to get a consensus to make a decision. The blog I posted yesterday, The Scene it's from a series I've been writing and I'm trying to decide whether or not to put it on steemit. If you'd weigh in I'd greatly appreciated it. Only when you have time, no pressure :)
Your short story is still on my mind, imagining what happens next ;)

Hey @dreemit!

Just finished The Scene. It's crazy that I missed it. I thought you were just working on Today Again.

But, it's very impressive indeed. I love horror writing and this is up there with the best of them. I think you should definately put it out there if you so wish. It caters for another genre than the one you're currently writing and should be well received. Honestly, you do have a gift with words. Not everybody possesses that skill. I say, if you can, I would publish!

From what I can see, the positive comments also point to that outcome. :)

I should probably have clarified, ha, no it's not horror it's paranormal. It's got a bit of everything, including action and romance, but definitely paranormal would be the genre :) Thank you for checking it out for me!

Lol, sorry. The imagery I got was maybe more full-on than I should have interpreted. But I still stand by my conviction and say that it's very well written and should be considered for release if you wish to. :)

I've written two books for this series and I'm partway into the third, I'm trying to decide whether I should self publish them as e-books or put them through here first, I meant to say that in my comment to you, I got distracted LOL

Right. That's a whole nother quandary. I guess I felt the same way with my book. I think that's something very personal to you and only you can make that call. It's a tough one for sure but either path you decide to take will have its pros and cons just like anything in life. The best advice I can give is do what feels right to you.

Sorry this comment took a while, I wanted this to be my 888th post to wish this the best success it could get. I'm on the fence whether it qualifies for the #curie vote, but I submitted it in hopes of securing it a spot, just as I did your previous works.

You are on a roll, my friend! I know that you're in the midst of an impressive run of posts, but this is a firm assurance that you are firing on all cylinders, with no signs of stopping. The reactions, emotions and imagery are up to par with what readers would come to expect from you, and you certainly have done a great job being consistent, my friend. I was caught off-guard when I read the beginning as told from Lissa's POV. I had thought this was Caleb's chapter, but it was a nice change of pace.

We're at the point where the interesting questions like "what would you do if you get a reset everyday?" come to the fore, and I'm liking the reactions. I would be totally freaked out as Lissa is, which is surprising since I've mostly been relating to Caleb up until this point. The hedonistic approach by Caleb isn't what I'm inclined to do, but it really fits in with his character. I finally figured out what sets this apart from similarly-themed stories: the question is tackled from two angles. Something which you are doing so masterfully. The juxtaposition between their situations are simply amazing!

Another great installment, and I'm continually looking forward to see how this tale unfolds!

Is triple 8's a lucky number? I don't think I've heard that, always with the 7's here, haha! I appreciate you submitting to curie, but don't worry, donkeypong has been pulling for me since the playground series which he told me he really enjoyed (talk about pressure! haha) and started following me as well (triple pressure ;) I have a feeling it's when he's going through with curie that they hit me for the most part, though he votes on me on his own too. You certainly could be bringing me to someone else's attention which would be totally awesome and I would not object to, but I don't want you to feel bad if doesn't happen:) What are the qualifications?
As always I love your feedback! The story is taking me in an unexpected direction, for Lissa actually, I'm as interested in seeing where it leads as you are, ha!
I found myself nose deep in my first book today, Reborn is its name by the way though I have never quite settled on a series title. I'm definitely thinking more seriously about putting it here :)

7's, 8's whatever number repeated multiple times (except 4) is generally considered lucky here. Fun fact, 888 is the most commonly sought after plate number combination here. So much so that they've added a premium when requesting that combination!

Oh, wow! That's awesome! I've never even received that kind of praise from donkeypong, much less a follow. You're already miles ahead in that category :D

No pre-determined path, huh? I like it :) To some extent, it was the same for me in my current series, at least in the middle part. Whatever you're doing, it's definitely working! I'm excited to see what Reborn holds. Wherever you decide to post it, I'm looking forward to supporting it :D

Oh I have ideas of where it's headed, but it turned on me for a moment. Although I should have known, I've never written a main character like Lissa before. My heroine's are usually innocent kind creatures, who would have died before betraying a friend, lol. And I have to be careful not to slip into that, Lissa has to grow into a deeper character. It's tough this chapter by chapter thing, wow! In a book if a chapter's shorter or doesn't give a lot it doesn't matter because you're right into the next chapter.
Thanks again my friend :)

Yeah, I was just going to say that this is such a huge 180 from The Playground Series. You really went for it in the adult scenes, and it's been fun seeing your progression with this. It's nice to step away from your comfort zone from time to time :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34