NAKED [Section 0.8]

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

A Science Fiction Novel about crypto-anarchy

naked.jpg
[Section 0.1]
[Section 0.2]
[Section 0.3]
[Section 0.4]
[Section 0.5]
[Section 0.6]
[Section 0.7]

[Section 0.8 - Begin]

Out of the ocean below two guardian drones rise. Their tear drop shapes look vaguely like dolphins, as they ascend out of the water, coming in line with either side of my vehicle. They perform a wide spiraling circle, scanning over then under the vehicle. I watch as they fall back into the sea behind me.
securityDrones.png
'I’ve transmitted your vitals to the Med Pod’ Says Shiva.
The holoscreen on the windshield before me begins blinking, emitting a low dull tone, the word “Med Pod” showing who is calling.
“Yes” I answer, mustering what little strength I have.
On the screen appears the an ai avatar. A pristine, smiling asian woman wearing a white lab coat.
“We’ve received your vitals Axiom. The bay has been readied, please allow control of your vehicle.”
“Not needed, my os has it under control.” I respond.
“I am going to go through some tasks with you Axiom, so as to gau-”
“I am opening a vitals channel. Shiva please open channel to vitals”
‘Done.’
“Receiving your data.” the avatar says with a pristine smile. “While I have you, I’d like to ask some preliminary questions.”
The med pod is approaching fast, The red lights of the entrance bay pulse slowly getting ever closer.
“I am nearly there, let’s skip this.” I say.
I dislike talking to ai. Even the best ai comes across superficial. Maybe it’s just that I hate superficiality. The same superficiality that bothered me dealing with real people, as a citizen of Federal City. I feel the velocity slow as the car enters the entrance bay and comes to rest gracefully hardly making a sound. An automatic wheelchair pulls forward, as I pull the handle letting the door raise up. The same avatar I was speaking to on screen, is now projected holographically slightly in front of the wheelchair.
As I stand up, my vision starts doubling, and sound from the surroundings is muffled. Everything seems slowed down, as I sit in the chair. As the chair turns around the Avatar is leaning in muttering something that seems incoherent to me. As the main door slides open I am blinded by bright light.

“Welcome back.”
As my eyes focus, I see the same avatar hologram projected on top of a slender opaque medical droid.
“What was the damage doc?”
“You lost a lot of blood. She waves her hand presenting several bar graphs showing blood, and other fluid data.
“You almost didnt make it man... “
I turn to my left, I see my buddy Nick smirking. His pale blue eyes look questioningly, his white blonde hair backlit by the window behind him.
“What happened to you? You get lost partying in the wrong part of town?”
“Nah… I… It’s complicated man. I’m mixed up in some shit right now…. I need to get out of here.” I sit up, and turn toward the medical droid.
“You really must rest more, the tissue damage is repaired but-” The droid says to me.
“I have to leave, please step aside.”
The droid steps aside, and I look around for my clothing. I grab my pants off the chair next to the bed and start pulling them on.
“Ax, man, I’m kinda worried about you… Not sure what you’re going through… doesn't have anything to do with Yara, does it?”
“It does have something to do with her... “ I say with a nervous laugh.
“Well is there anything I can do to help you out man?”
I think about it, I feel comfortable around Nick. We both run pleasure bars by trade. I actually look up to his operations. Still I don’t know him that well… If I bring external trouble to the Gens I will be kicked out of it. Nick is the owner of local pleasure bars called Ophelia’s that caters strictly to the Gens. Five star operations. His places, make the one I run in Federal City look like a fast food joint. I need some help in getting into the Citadel, one of his Eden models running my danger-angel program would really come in handy.
“How did you know I was here?” I ask
“Well… Do you know Grayton? Grayton Walters?”
“Isn’t he part of the Gens Council… or something like that?”
“Yeah, he is one of the guys who created our security drones… He’s kinda a regular at my place…. Anyway he let it slip in conversation, you were admitted here in bad shape. I feel somewhat responsible for you, seeing as I helped bring you into the Gens.”
“Yeah, I get it. I know I’m not supposed to be fucking around, bring in trouble or what not. Cool if we head to one of your spots? I’ll tell you what’s going on in the car.
“Okay”.
We walk outside the med pod, Nicks vehicle pulls up. It’s a long silver Falconer-5. The car's abstract shape invokes the feeling of some sort of jungle cat. Various ornamental fleurishes along the doors and windows. It makes me laugh.
“Only you would drive some shit like this.”
“We have to project the proper image my friend. Step in.”

[Section 0.8 - End]

[Section 0.9]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95