NAKED [Section 0.6]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

A Science Fiction Novel about crypto-anarchy

naked.jpg
[Section 0.1]
[Section 0.2]
[Section 0.3]
[Section 0.4]
[Section 0.5]

[Section 0.6 -Begin]

I have so many things to work out. I could use the construct to walk through the past few hours with Maxim. But then I wouldn’t be solving this on my own. I'm also pretty sure Maxim wouldn't like some of the things I’ve been into lately. I decide against getting him involved, at least for now.
The Aion Construct is a neuro-program given to me by Maxim. All Anarchs of our Gens use it. When you fall asleep and begin REM, the construct comes online. The mind is kept in REM, but consciousness is also activated. Your mind is technically awake but your body is asleep. The construct visualization is a memory of a place I have assigned to be used when the construct is activated. I don’t normally sleep wearing my neuropatch…I usually take it off when I get home.
It’s been a while actually since I’ve spoken to Maxim. We’ve only talked maybe three times since he found me and lead me back to the Gens, less than four years ago.
“This was one of your father’s favorite places.”
“It was, this is the last place we went together…” My words bring a bit of bitterness to my heart.
“He was a true Anarch, we owe him so much.”
“Yeah, well… In many ways you knew him better than me.”
“I see him when I look at you.”
“It’s nice to hear that someone does, I certainly don’t… Although I only knew him as a small child. To me, he is almost a mythological figure.”
“Ha, funny you should say that. Before I knew him, he was already a freedom fighter. He told me about how he first got into trouble, it reminded me of a Mythological hero. Do you know the story of Cadmus?”
“Nope.”
“Cadmus was a King and founder of the city of Thebes, a dragon slayer of Greek Mythology. There was a dragon that was killing his people, so he cut off it’s head, planted its’ teeth in the earth, up from which sprouted an army. ”
“My mom never really liked to talk about him. I always felt like she resented him for not putting us first. She once told me he had first got into trouble when he created a virus that disabled early versions of federal neuropatch implants.”
“Heh, yes so you do know it… He created a tracer program and inserted into an isolated segment of the federal neuropatch blockchain. Since the federal neuro chains weren’t truly decentralized at that time. There were central servers that collected data and controlled the populace to some extent. The tracer program made its way into the servers ultimately wiping the control systems. Then it rebooted and installed a new data browser and connected directly into the secret encrypted servers of the system. Those who had the program were given full access to the records and history of federal city. Needless to say the seed was planted, those who saw the truth, were forever changed and driven to become free.”
I feel anger rise inside. I am new to this world, I spent the majority of my life hiding inside of the system. I know the system is the cause of so much suffering, but he speaks of my father like a saint. How could a saint not be there for his own son?
“In comparison, my life seems pretty meaningless…”
“Axiom, you are who you choose to be. There is nothing that can stan-”
“Yes, I know... I’ve heard these aphorisms. We live very different lives, my father and I. I don’t really know if I can see the truth of these aphorisms in my own life.”
“Aphorisms in your own life... Do you own your life?”

20170916_110042.jpg

“Do you always have to talk in poems?... Do I own my life? I am trying to do just that...I sometimes question if you’re even real, Maxim. After all I’ve only ever known you though this construct. How can you possibly have all the answers…Pure logic doesn’t always work. Most times, my experiences with the truth turn out to be the opposite.”
“Listen Axiom, I’ve visited just to see if you wanted my council. It’s clear you have some things to sort out. I do not have all the answers.” He looks away pointing toward the ocean, I glance over in direction he is looking, focusing my eyes on the horizon. He continues speaking.
“You know, I’ve often felt like virtue is like the horizon line before me, always visible on my path, yet unreachable. We still have many things to do.”
“Why do you do-” I glance over and he is gone. I should’ve known. He disappeared with another poetic statement. Virtue is like the horizon? I do feel like I’m going in circles. Things are just not as simple as he makes them sound.

[Section 0.6 -End]
[Section 0.7]

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @axiom-prime to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81