NAKED [Section 0.5]

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

A Science Fiction Novel about crypto-anarchy

naked.jpg
[Section 0.1]
[Section 0.2]
[Section 0.3]
[Section 0.4]
[[Section 0.5 -Begin]
Standing up, I see to my left the other federal droid has Lexi by the arm.
“That droid is impounded as evidence, please remain where you are.” The federal droid just behind says, observing my gaze.
I again ignore it, and begin walking up the ramp.
‘Axiom, Your vehicle is arriving, should I have it come inside?’
‘No, have it stop at the entrance, I’m coming up.’

FederalCitySlums.jpg

It seems to take forever for me to reach the top of the ramp. My car waiting at the curb never looked so good. It looks like I’m in on the north side of the Federal City slums, not too far from the massive front gate. It’s sunrise, the sun is coming up behind the skyline above me, everything tinted in blue green shadow. Looking past the the vast mass of stacked rectangles and cubes of the slums I see the the battered, vandalized walls of the main city. The tech-nouveau style winged sphinx looking down on the haphazard pile of boxes dotted with Holo-Ads blinking, rising, and disappearing intermittently. The federal droid stayed with me all the way to the street.
“Through net queries I have determined you to be Axiom Troy age 28, member of Maxim Garrent Gens, all interactions have been made part of the ledger. Legal protocols have already been enacted. You are hereby notified that you may face consequences. Do you verify that you are Axiom Troy?”
“Mark this down for the record: If a liar tells you he is lying, is he lying?” I say as I sit down, pulling closed the door with a hiss and click.
‘Shiva, route to Maxim Gens MedPod. High speed. Security maximum.’
‘Understood.’
The low whir of the zero drive engages. I climb upward past the stacked shanties and modified storage units. The gray walled citadel of shone in shadow before me. As my car banks right, the pinkish sun peeks from behind the slender sturdy tower at the center of the city. The slums below look like a vast junkyard, as I climb they shrink away. I look at the horizon colored from bottom to top in magenta then orange, then to black as I slowly nod off.
Next thing I know I’m looking at my feet. My feet in the sand. The sound of the ocean, the cool smell of the sea. I know this place. I’ve been here before.
“Axiom, how have you been?” I hear from behind me.
Damn… I forgot to remove my neuropatch. I’m in the Aion construct. I just want to get some rest… I turn around. The tall slender build of Maxim Garrent, stands before me. His long rugged face displaying a wide smile. Bright eyes below a wrinkled brow leading up to a jumbled mass of graying dreadlocks.
“You seem annoyed, is this a bad time?”
“Uh.. yeah kinda a rough night. I passed out without removing my neuropatch, wasn’t really thinking about talking to you right now.”
“Passed out? Oh, I see… we can do this another time, if you’d like.”
“Well I’m here now, so it’s as good time as ever. I suppose you’ve received notifications from the fed city legal chain recently.”
“I have indeed.”
“Yes… well… I’ve gotten myself into some trouble as of late. It has something to do with a woman.”
“Ha ha, doesn’t it always? We’ve all been there.” His smile calms me.
By now my immediate memory has returned… I can piece together what caused me to be laying knocked out in front of my burning car.

[Section 0.5 -End]
[Section 0.6]

Sort:  

And i thought, "wow, i gona read chapter6 too!"
But it seems like you have a dead link. Propably you didnt wrote that in the last couple of hours, after you posted this one ;)
Im waiting for it! Maybe you should try @originalworks ,Rstmd upvt tip!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @axiom-prime to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

I am still writing, just put the link there... I forgot to for Chapter 0.4, and now I cant change it. Will be posting next relatively soon.

Congratulations @axiom-prime! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@axiom-prime
Keep up the good work. If your upvotes and steam payment is any indication, people love it.
I know that I do. It's very compelling, and leads me to wonder if your hero is a cyborg or not. I can't wait for the next chapter.

Thanks! It's inspiring... I will definitely take your thoughts into consideration. Not concrete in where I am going with this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79