Another day with Mr. Bales | Short story - FictionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Mr-Bales.png

‘Good Morning Mr. Bales’ I said as I gave him a cup of tea this morning, something I have been dutifully doing for the past three months or so. Mr. Bales smiled kindly while reaching for the hot drink shivering a little; it is cooling down again as the autumn approaches. In spite of being a national holiday he was getting ready to leave for his office. There has never been a day, ever since I met him - even the day that followed that dreadful night - on which he didn’t get up at the crack of dawn and set off to work, weekends included. Something which regrettably forces me to get up even earlier.

Then, he told me amiably that I did not need to call a cab for him, because today he had decided to walk to work. ‘I want to feel the sunshine in my face’, he said smiling again. I nodded twice, repeating once more the way I mostly interact with Mr. Bales. I watched him walk down the street and stood there until he turned the second corner. Just before he disappeared from my sight he checked his briefcase and ran his hand through his hair. Mr. Bales is very particular about tidiness; he often made remarks about my unpolished shoes. He often promised to buy me a new pair, but every evening, at his return, when I greeted him again with a cup of tea and some biscuits he narrated his meetings, business deals etc... (no details spared), only to then tell me ‘My dear, I haven´t forgotten your shoes. It is just that it has been an incredibly busy day. Tomorrow I’ll get them in the shop.’

In the evenings I often sit beside him for a while and listen to him talking about nothing but his successful enterprises. When he finally gives me back the empty tea cup I wave him goodbye, wish a good night’s sleep and hand to him the newspaper, which he prefers to read at night, unlike everyone else, among his blankets. But, Mr. Bales is unlike everyone else in many, many ways. For example, he isn’t very fond of books, whenever I offer him a book he promptly exclaims ‘books don’t keep me updated about current world affairs, my dear. I only read the paper’. That makes things easier for me, to be honest; at the end of the day I just give me him the paper I read in the morning.

Talking about the paper, a very interesting thing happened one day. By mistake I gave Mr. Bales some old newspapers when I came to greet him at his arrival with his evening tea. It might have been something like one month old, I took it by mistake. Curiously, Mr. Bales never noticed! He didn’t say a thing about it. That situation puzzled me for days. I even wondered if Mr. Bales was literate. Until, of course, that dreadful night, when he didn’t return home. That awful night soon made me forget the newspaper event.

You see, Mr. Bales is very punctual, he always, always, comes back from work at seven o’clock. On that night, the clock struck eleven o’clock and he never returned. I kept looking through the window. I thought I would never see him again, but then he finally appeared on the other side of the street all beaten up. I was in shock! ‘What happened?’ I asked. He said some young men had done it. Mr. Bales was profoundly sad and confused. While we awaited the ambulance he complained about the youth of our days. I, as usual, nodded in agreement asking to myself in thoughts. ‘Who would beat up a man in his late 60’s?’ I am not sure of his age as he told me he is 64 in one occasion and 68 in another.

It only happened that one time. Also, we never talked about it; even while his wounds were still healing and aching he didn’t say a word. So, tonight at seven, I served him tea, biscuits and gave him the paper. Once more when I crossed the road to come back to my house, I looked through the window and watched Mr. Bales lying on his blankets, which he carefully places on the bus stop bench, before he begins to flick the pages of the newspaper. As well as all the other nights I wondered whether Mr. Bales really ever was a successful entrepreneur, or has always been a mad, lovable homeless man.

hr.jpg

[Original content by Abigail Dantes - 2017]

Sort:  

Poor Mr Bales. Mr Bales made up the story; it's all in his head. If we cannot live in a world we think we deserve; we sometimes create that world we desire as an escape. Great story.

Hi @abigail-dantes, I was honestly not expecting the twist at the end. You set the scene perfectly. All the time thinking Mr Bales is the Lord of the Manor. Awesome story telling ability without doubt!!!!!

@zest my dear friend 🙂! How pleased I am to hear you liked my little story. Thank you so much for taking the time to read it. As I don't have an assignment to get on with tonight I am going to have a glass of red.... ;) and take a little break from the computer.
Have a great evening and chat soon 🌷

Totally agreed!! Unexpected twist that deserves a glass of red wine 🍷 cheers!!

Cheers! 🙂 Thank you for reading @myrockandocean

The best stories are the ones that we see while we read them. Thanks for sharing and followed!
See ya around the fishbowl,
Mo

Great story poor Mr.bales. I really liked this at first I thought he was all banged up because she gave him an old paper and he got in a fight with someone about the news or something ha ha but any how I am a minnow bloger and have followed you please feel free to folow me @user0103283 cheers.steem on

Thank you for taking some of your time to read and comment with such details @user0103283. It makes very happy reading meaningful comments like yours! 🙃

well you took the time and your talent to give us all the cool story so you are welcome.

Good Morning Abigail ! What a story you wrote! This is awesome, you are gifted! Don't you want to continue Mr. Bales story? I think i would love that. GREAT job you did!!! <3
oh, one more thing- i was just surprised that he did not like books. that part i didn't like. :-)

Good morning Steemean friend 😊. Thank you for reading Mr. Bales!! I know... who does not like books, right?! A sequel?! That was not the initial plan; but, who knows?
Thank you for always stopping by @agneslaczo! 🌷🙃

Abigail-dantes you have talent! Very good story and good twist. I shall be following your progress. One small point, I write screenplays so I am very visual and hot on continuity. Paragraph five explains the old man having been beaten up. You have to find a way to fill in the gap before the time you help him. To explain: there is every indication that you are caring for him at his home, the lovely twist at the end is surprising but that gap needs to have more flow. Just my opinion. I could be wrong. I love young writers and you are very good. Thank you. JV

@jvalentine, I will take everything you said on board, and keep it in mind for my next short story :)) I have so much fun writing them. I trully appreciate your feedback, thank you vey much! 😊

My pleasure. Every story you write is your baby!

that was a nice little story ^_^

@trumpman! How great to see you here 😃Thank you for your support always!
🌷🙃

:*

Great story!

I read through the story but wasn't able to believe the concluding lines in the last paragraph. I was in such a state of shock!

Amazing twist - so much so that even the best writers will not be able to deliver a similar shock with a twist in the end. Thanks!

Hi @maxabit! thank you so very much for stopping by and, also, for the dedication and support you have been giving to the Steemit community. I have been following your blog and am very impressed by your dedication! Thank YOU. I am pleased to hear you got so caught up with the narrative that did not expect such an ending. It is definitely great to hear that. I truly appreciate you taking the time to read and comment on Mr. Bales.
Best! :)

Thanks a lot for the kind words, and the support!

Your articles and stories are easily the best on Steemit. Each of them deserves to be on the trending page for at least a week if not more. I think it is just a matter of time before that will indeed happen - of that I am certain.

Way to turn me on my head with your ending! Love it! I hope you'll consider joining us in the MSP fiction workshop. We have a lot of fun over there, too!

Hi @geke !! It makes me so happy to hear that a writer like yourself liked my little story. I still have a lot to learn 🙃 It will be my pleasure to join in the MSP workshop, I shall look into that this weekend. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. It means a lot to me!

Wow amazing concept and flow in the story! I thoroughly enjoyed

Thank you @bindu. Your words are very kind and encouraging! 🙃🌷

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53