Announcing The First Fiction-Trail Writing Competition

in #fiction-trail8 years ago (edited)

Hey Writers, Storytellers, Authors and practically ANYONE that wants to have a go at getting the stories out of their heads and out into the big wide world of Steemit - and beyond - who knows?

I’m posting a Writing Prompt – a picture that inspires you to write a story about it.

It can be ANY genre, any length - but please, for the sake of this competition, no poetry.

The competition will be judged and decided on by Saturday 11th Feb so you have time to think.

To enter, the FIRST tag needs to be fiction-trail and one more of fiction. Use the picture on this post so we can see at a glance who is entering the competition - then, the world’s your oyster as the saying goes. Use more pics through the story if you like, as long as the first one is the one in this post.

The prizes will be 60 STEEM – donated by me, @michelle.gent.

@fiction-trail will ALSO be donating Steem-Trail Coin.

The prizes, therefore, will be:
1st – 30 Trail Coin & 30 STEEM
2nd – 20 Trail Coin & 20 STEEM
3rd – 10 Trail Coin & 10 STEEM

You WILL need an Open Ledger Account to receive the Trail Coin.

Please consider resteeming this post, AND clicking the links to share on other social media, it all helps spread word of Steemit.

A few hints and tips:

Read your work again before posting. You may catch a typo or mistake.

Once you’ve read it again… Read it again! Trust me, it’s important (plus it gets you into the habit of checking before posting).

While this is not a formal competition, there are a few judges that will decide which entry/entries take the prizes.

Here’s the picture… Have fun!

If you would like to help sponsor and/or promote fiction-trail and other trails, call in and chat with us here:

https://discord.gg/k3zHukq

Update! Tweeted and Posted to Facebook.

Sort:  

Sorry, I missed that info, but what is a Trail Coin and an Open Ledger Account?

Trail is a UIA tradable on Open Ledger, a bitshares exchange. If you want to sit on a possible valuable asset to trade, then it is incentive. If you want to trade, incentive. If you dont care about trading, then competition rewards in steem. Fiction Trail still continues to give incentive and reward active curation, helping creators and audience reach potential value. Hats off to Fiction Trail and Steem Trail curation.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@fiction-trail/fiction-trail-magazine-27th-of-january-2017

It's explained a little in the chatroom here: https://discord.gg/k3zHukq

Feel free to call in and chat with us :) We don't bite... well... most of us don't ;)

Hmmmmmmmm, must get my thinking cap on - but, no poetry? Dangit! LOL. Resteemed! :)

Yes, sorry... we already have a Poetry-trail and we don't want to step on toes :)

Gentlemen (and ladies!), start your engines!

Re-steemed and Facebooked! 😄😇😄

@creatr

No, thank you for throwing down the gauntlet! ;)

Aww it's no gauntlet, more a velvet glove... wrapped around an iron fist ;)

LOL!!! :)

I really meant that, as in "Inspiring Challenge." ;)

That works too ;)

Have fun with it :)

P.S. Could you please specify how to credit the image when we post it? Thanks!

T.Y.!

I've "temporarily" credited it to Steemit Fiction-Trail... ;)

I think that will work. I'll let you know if it's any different to that :)

The credit should be to pixabay co0 and/or Fiction-trail logo please :)

Will do, Thank You! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 01 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hi,

The quality of the picture is not super duper. I just like to make sure I understand what's on it. First of it's a table with a mug, a book, and a pen on it. The book is fairly old. The book content is apparently implying a little girl walking on the path made by a vehicle, cart or a carriage in red shoes. On the left side of the lawn is a dog that stands in front of a puddle. Seven seagulls fly toward setting or rising sun while one seagull sits on a street lantern. Oh and we see an airbaloon on the right pane. Correct?

Pretty much... it's not so much what you see as where the picture takes your imagination.

I couldn't have put it better, @shadowspub :) Thank you

Hi Michelle,

Thank you! I figured this out and I think I hit all the requirements.
Here is my entry .... https://steemit.com/fiction-trail/@mgaft1/a-drone-operator-an-original-short-story

Thank you. Imagination has to be supported by proper details. If instead of seagulls I see dragons, then imagination will take me the wrong direction.

how can it be wrong?... whose to say they are not dragons off in the distance?

Reminds me of an exchange between my then young niece and my mother one day. My niece was drawing a tree using a blue crayon and my mother was chiding her because the colours were wrong.

My niece quietly looked at her grandmother and responded, "Nana, in my world, trees are blue today". My sister and I cracked up laughing at the simple honesty. It was her imagination and her choice how she used it.

It could be wrong very easily. If instead of one picture you see a different one, for example, this one

then your story is not going to correspond to the assignment.

It isn’t hard to come up with something. The hard part to make sure that your created reality accommodates all the details and it totally makes sense – has no internal contradictions. I see so many stories that are falling apart because authors don’t follow through with their imagination, the design of their story lacks continuity and a reader falls out of the “suspension of disbelief” state.
In other words, the starting leap of imagination has to be equal to all participants. Every story should operate within the same boundary conditions. That is the part of the assignment.
Personally, I also don’t like what’s called “portable stories,” where the author will take something previously written and hangs the assignment picture on the wall.

you really try to think this to death don't you? You start with the picture provided and see it as you want. If you don't want to do it or don't like the approach, then move on.

Not sure @shadowspub why are you getting emotional? I didn't say I didn't like the picture. I only wanted to clarify its content and then explained my point of view, why the content of the picture is important. 😉

why are you being so obtuse? .... oh right .. i should not feed the troll... bye bye

@shadowspub
We'll see who's obtuse when the stories are going to come up. Until then, Good Bye little girl.

Hi, @mgaft1,

If you "right-click" and "open in new window" you may be able to get a slightly larger rendering of the image...

You're very welcome.

Even better, try this high-resolution version of the image! ;)

If I ever find its original source, I'll let you know.

Hi @creatr,

I am finalizing a story now. Here it is, I placed it on a different site for now just to explain you my difficulty.
http://zapme2it.com/trader/a_drone_operator.html

As you can see, the story is structured in such a way that the contest picture is presented at the end of it. Thus, I'd like to ask you how I should I let the contest jury know that this story is sent as a contest entry?

Thank you for your help!

I'm really sorry I didn't get back online to sort out the questions arising from this competition.

With this, and future competitions, the picture is there to inspire your imagination to take a journey.

There are no right or wrong ways to go about this piece, it's not an exam or test, it is purely a way of getting people to write and receive rewards for their writing.

If you saw dragons rather than seagulls, then that's amazing! Write about that! If the picture reminded you of an adventure you went on once, as a child, write about that. If the picture took you somewhere beyond the path, streetlamp and seagulls and didn't mention them, write about it.

The only criteria was to use the picture as the FIRST one so all entries were tied together for ease of judging, and that the tags #fiction-trail and #fiction were used.

The rest was down to your imagination.

Hi, friend,

I'm sorry, but I don't know how to help you with this; you should contact @michelle.gent because (as I understand matters) I believe the picture needs to show up as the thumbnail for the post. The only way I know of (on Steemit) to do that is to have it be the first photo in the piece.

Perhaps @michelle.gent can advise if there is a way? Good luck!

Thanks to your enlarged picture I was able to see exactly what's on it. I am working on a story right now and will consult with you once it's written.

Thank you for your concern!

Glad I was able to help. ;)

Perfect! Thank you.

👍

Hi @mgaft1, I left another main-line "Reply" with full details of the artist and etc...


Hi @michelle-gent, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thank you! I do enjoy your Ramble when I catch it .

I'll go and check it out now :)

My pleasure. I have the picture downloaded and seeking inspiration for my imagination. :)

I'm in ...thanks for the incentive and opportunity, michelle :)

You're welcome and thank you for participating :)

After a reverse image search, I have now found a very high resolution copy of this image. I still don't know about its origin, but this high-resolution version of it should be helpful to @mgaft1 and anyone else who may care to "dive into the details."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43