Feb 1 -- Steemit Ramble #63 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago

Well, The first day of February. It’s time for me to review the last month and decide on my objectives for the next month. I have some projects I’m working on and intend to step up the effort. If I’m successful in channelling enough time and effort I’ll be making more posts other than the Rambles.

In the course of reading posts on the site I come across a lot of discussion about quality posts. I know most writers, myself included, would like to think they put out the best quality posts, but, the fact is, it isn’t quality until others see it as being quality.

It doesn’t matter how many hours you took writing the post, or how much research you put into it. If the reader is not drawn to read through the post, then the quality for that reader isn’t there.

If you’re interested in the concepts behind how to prepare and present a better post, I suggest you visit Copyblogger.com. The site is about content marketing but the material is applicable to writing anything, especially for the web.

Onward to today’s rambling

Steemtrail Spotlight - An Idea to Feature Recent Steemtrail Picks

Steemtrail is a different approach than a guild in that while finding and upvoting quality posts on a wide range of topics, it is working on forming communities around the topics. Trail curators become the topic leaders as they develop. It’s still in a development stage and anyone can take part.

This is a great initiative by @virtualgrowth to highlight some of the posts which have been curated by Steemtrail. Well done @virtualgrowth.

Self-confidence and self-esteem #1: What Are They?

@lonewalker has written a short but concise comparison of the subjects of self-confidence and self-esteem.

Announcing The First Fiction-Trail Writing Competition

OH, now this post is like a blast from my past. I remember my teacher showing us a picture and instructing us to write a story based on the picture. It was sometimes great fun and other times, a struggle to get an idea. Give this a try and you could win some STEEM.

Always be grateful

@jlufer illustrates the need to be grateful and kind when people do things for us. English is not his first language but he gets the message across rather well.

Devil's Island : Colonies of the Condemned

It’s not often I spend anytime watching a video but this one is worthwhile. It’s about 50 minutes long, so is about like watching a TV show but instead you’ll learn about the infamous Devil’s Island.

A friendly white cat.

Okay, I’ll admit it, I’m a sucker for cats. Especially when it is a beautiful white cat being cute. The only thing that might beat that is a calico cat. I love calicos.

Time vs. Money

@exyle writes about his contemplation of the need for balance between time and money. Do you spend your life working hard to make a lot of money and have minimal time to enjoy it? Or do you have less but can find time to enjoy life and look after the non-monetary things that matter? Interesting read.

And the winner is... Steemit Brand Awards transferred 100 Steem to the first awardee!

@surfermarly awarded the first of the Steemit Brand Awards of 2017. The award went to @sebastianjago for his good work, branding and posting on Steemit. Great work on both parts of you.

Steem Trail Daily and call for Authors.

Steem Trail is starting to produce a daily news post and is calling for contributions. There are multiple ways to take part and the post includes an excellent description of what the Steem Trail project is and how you can become involved.

Busy Official Public BETA Release: Release note, Known issues, What's next ?

Last but not least today, Busy.org has gone into public beta. You can log in using your Steemit credentials. The site is a new front end for Steemit with some additional features like being able to bookmark posts, upload photos directly and private chat.

As I understand it, the project is the beginning of what is expected to be a growing number of ways Steemit can be expanded. It’s going to be an interesting year.

Wrap-up on Day #63

Well, another interesting and some what fun day on finding interesting posts on Steemit. I allowed myself to engage with a troll who has opposing views to me, when my energy for it waned, I stopped feeding the troll.

Came across another post where someone was upset over one of the guilds having never upvoted his work. He makes a lot more on most of his posts than a large number of people I come across but he feels entitled to more.

I apparently have been upvoted by that guild. I wasn’t aware it had occurred but it was obviously one of my posts that did better than usual. I appreciate the recognition. I have also seen one of the guilds upvote my sister, who is just starting on Steemit. It was a great boost for her.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Thank you very much for the mention and appreciation! Will work on another Spotlight soon!

my pleasure @virtualgrowth. I like to try to help share the word when others are helping others.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $36.76 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Excellent post dear friend @ shadowspub, Thank you very much for the mention.
Congratulations to all the people of the day.
You are doing a good job, I have no doubt that you will have the necessary support to your work congratulations

thank you for your kind words @jlufer and the good work you do.

Thank you for the mentions - not only the competition, but also, the fiction-trail initiative!

Resteemed!

I think it is a great initiative and needs lots of exposure and support.

You are too kind, @shadowspub! Thank you very much for the nomination and your great support. It´s been much appreciated (and resteemed :)).
Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56790.06
ETH 2345.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42