Bechdel Test Contest - BRIMSTONE

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Bechdel Test Contest - BRIMSTONE


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

I haven’t seen this movie but I love thrillers and I watch a lot of independent and foreign films so I am EXCITED to add this one to the list. It’s funny how you say this one passes The Bechdel Test (I agree) even though there is an omnipresent male figure--because if I had written for this contest I would have written about Thelma & Louise (who also have a lot of dialogue about men, but the film is really about female friendship and how far these women will go to have their freedom). I think these two movies are kind of similar in that the dialogue about men is trumped by the powerful women on screen?

I’m so honored that this contest got you to write for a contest. :) And, I’m really, really happy I stumbled upon your blog in my early steemit days so I get to watch it grow and flourish, too. Thank you for posting this and being a part of the challenge. <3

Yes, in a way they share that similarity indeed @lilyraabe! :-) Glad I was able to put this one on your list, and I am super curious what you think after you've seen it! :-) I also will have to see Thelma & Louise, for some reason I haven't yet! :-)

And I'm very happy too you stumbled upon my blog back then! Yay for connecting on Steemit! <3

Nice blog. I like movies and series with strong characters. This one is definitly is on my list. Thanx for sharing your view.

Thanks for commenting! If you did watch the movie let me know! :-) Would be nice to hear what you think :-)

I can't imagine any other film you could enter!

It is the movie that impressed me the most after "nocturnal animals" among the movies I watched lately. I gave 8 in imdb. I did not give 10 points for absurd reasons. If it were not for the bullshit, I could give 10 out of 10. What are these bullshit?

...spolier... (If you like, do not read this section)

Guy Pearce's character portrayed as something they connect. Is it the gin or the devil?
The same man's throat cut and he did not die?
How did Liz get out of there, even though her hands were tied up in the air on the reckoning scene? he can act contrary to the laws of physics.
Samuel, how did he die so easily?
samuel, as the man in the toilet, why did not he kill before.

Um ... maybe I did not understand very well ...
a movie I still love. your contest attendance and your papers went well

Hey @artizm, thanks for commenting! Oh MY! I loved Nocturnal Animals a LOT too! What an amazing movie!

As for the 'bullshit': I am certainly going to watch the movie a second time and I will focus on your observations :D I hope I can figure it all out!

This sounds like a fun and really interesting contest. I haven't joined any before now but I may have to think about this one or actually start looking for interesting contests. Your movie, Brimstone, looks really good. I haven't seen it yet but I watch lots of movies and will some day, I'm sure!

I truly hope you will! Let me know if you did (and still remember my post ;-)) - It's worth a watch!

Well said!

Just caught this movie the other night. I think sometimes "speech" means more than vocalizing. The women speak volumes in this movie. They aren't the only heroes, but they are the strongest characters. I think Guy Pierce goes over the top (but that's the way it's written). I once was told that a character shouldn't be completely evil. There should be some positive element, because most people are complex. I'm trying to remember if Pierce did one thing that wasn't wicked.
Anyway, great film. Holds attention from beginning to end, and it was nice to see Dakota Fanning maturing into a fine actress. Quite a challenge, conveying meaning with saying a word.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38