Bechdel Contest: Hidden Figures

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

hidden_figures_0.jpg

(Image from http://icem.ma/889/toward-a-gendered-moroccan-diasporic-cinema-transgressing-the-fetish-in-yasmine-kassaris-erraged/)

Hidden Figures is one of the movies that have lots of my favorite features, history, science, and women in lead roles. The story follows three women who work at NASA. I’ve always loved movies about how we got to reach for the stars like this one and Apollo 13. I think it’s amazing all the work that was put into getting us there. I also don’t think many people realize that women worked at NASA in more capacity than just as secretaries. This movie is well written and the actresses did an amazing job in their portrayal of these amazing women.

It totally passes the Bechdel Test for the first part of having at least two women…there are lots of different women in this movie. They also talk to each other and defiantly about other things than men. There is a conversation about who would be able to work in a certain department just as an example.

Hidden Figures.jpg

(Image from http://emais.estadao.com.br/noticias/comportamento,o-poder-dos-filmes-para-mudar-nossos-coracoes,70001673814)

Hidden Figures2.jpg

(Image from http://www.zimbio.com/The+Best+Quotes+From+the+2017+Best+Picture+Oscar+Nominees/articles/v4fG0p2p6lo/Hidden+Figures)

This was a brilliant movie that portrayed strong female characters. I have watched this more times than I can count as I just feel drawn to it every time I see it on. I hope that if you haven’t seen this movie you take the time to. The best part is that it is a true story.

Sort:  

I love this post @amrauthor and must admit I haven’t watched Hidden Figures yet (I know!). This is the best excuse ever to watch it, I can’t wait. I also love that it’s a true story about lady scientists, when I was little I always had a dream of working at NASA, but it wasn’t in the stars for me. Heh. Excited to discover this story, thank you for sharing it and for participating in the #bechdelcontest. :) Awesome submission. <3 @lilyraabe

@lilyraabe thanks for having the contest #bechdelcontest.

Awesome movie! I have watched it for sure and it is so inspirational for sure! When my daughter will get older, I will definitely make her watch this movie! :)

I am doing the same for my own daughter. She loves science since watching Big Hero 6. She says she wants to be a Ballet Dancer, Chemist, Chef, and Singer.

Oh that's awesome you are doing a great job :) ! Your daughter has many interests and that is very good! I think that is a great mentality to have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72