Feathered Friday ~ The Eagle Has Landed

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

It's Spring, and the Bald Eagles have returned to the park!

Oh boy, did I get some cool shots today in Beacon Hill Park. I had a lot of fun photographing ducks, geese, crows, and peacocks... but best of all, there is now a Bald Eagle pair in the nest in the middle of the park!

If you love photographing birds as much as I do, I just know you have some great photos of your own to share. To participate in #FeatheredFriday and receive an upvote & resteem, please follow these simple steps:

  • Make your own post and use the tag #featheredfriday
  • Comment below with a link to your post - This will get you a lot of extra exposure from the other participants. If you don't do this, I may accidentally miss your post because Feathered Friday is starting to get busy.
  • Consider using the #birding tag in order to connect to a wider community of bird fans.

Let me show you what I saw today!

All photos taken by me with a Nikon D750 and a Tamron 150-600mm lens.

8rahqxzaco.jpg

There has been a large Bald Eagle's (Haliaeetus leucocephalus) nest in the park for years. Last week it was empty. Now look who's back in town! A long-standing local legend claims that the Park staff cleans dozens of dog and cat collars out of the nest every year. I don't know if it's true.

38d3ouwq3h.jpg

Below: a slide show of one of the eagle pair approaching and landing in the nest. This is 18 sequential shots.

li04dvrkhi.gif

Now let me show you some of the other birds I photographed today...

Female American Wigeon (Anas americana)
fyzqi3skdy.jpg

Peacock - a male Peafowl
sufqlzrtuq.jpg

The Peacock was really shaking his stuff... Above and below we see the Peacock strutting around in a circle.

cnst2cp0mp.jpg

Below: the Peahen seems unimpressed...

Peahen - a female Peafowl
jb1qdgiwpj.jpg

Female Mallard Duck (Anas platyrhynchos)
lqenr26mw4.jpg

Male Mallard Duck (Anas platyrhynchos)
jl8cz40qay.jpg

Canadian Geese (Branta canadensis)
3tmfxydgcw.jpg

Northwestern Crow (Corvus caurinus)
0kijpwmgr9.jpg


That's what I have to show you today. Now let's see you birds! Don't forget to leave your link in the comments for other people to find.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you, @pixresteemer!

Posted an Eider shot already
and will post more later today!

Wow, cool looking bird. I'm going to check your post out now...

Man, those are amazing shots!! And great to see the scientifics too, a lot easier to know the species now, thank you!

Thanks so much, glad you liked them :-)

You got a 5.57% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @keithboone! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Yes, it's the best place for birds in the city. Love your woodpecker!

Thanks! Funny that parks and conservation areas in a city are better to capture birds then more wilderness areas... people feeding them I assume...?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lot's of people feed the ducks so that accounts for the huge number of them. The Bald Eagles are there because of the Heron Colony which moves into the park every spring. They haven't shown up in large numbers yet, but soon there will be 100 or so Great Blue Heron nests in trees all around the tree with the Eagle's nest. Bald Eagles just love baby herons... yum!

Thanks so much, I need help with ravens and crows. I'm not really sure what mine is, but I picked the name for a type which is common from Oregon to Alaska, so I think there's a good chance I got it right. I'm heading to your post now to learn the real facts :-)

Welcome Keith. I would say your crow is a crow because of the smaller beak.

These are the creme de la creme of bird shots @keithboone No wonder you had so much fun. I'm guessing you'd normally get quite offended if a female turned her back on you when showing an interest in her but I imagine you were very pleased see the rear end of that gorgeous pea hen when she displayed her feathers for you so beautifully.

A wonderful post my friend. Will submit mine Feathered Friday images shortly. (U & R )

Thanks so much, Trudee! Those are two shots of the boy, the peacock. The hen is the third one. The peacock shakes his feathers and stomps around in little circles hoping the female will allow herself to be trapped within his outstretched feathers. I appreciate your support!

Well, unless they are wearing blue hats or pink hats I can never sort out the boys from the girls within the bird species. 😄 It was great timing for all of your shots and I really did enjoy viewing them. Have a wonderful weekend my friend.

Thank you! I didn't explain in well - I think I've improved it a little now. Wishing you a great weekend as well.

Oh my goodness what extremely awesome
photographs @keithboone! Amazing capture
of that inflight sequence! That is so cool!
I see them crows and ravens are gathering
steem on steemit!

Here is some raven snacks we seen :-)

Thank you! You're right, the crows and ravens are taking over. Loved your post!

Those shots are all stunning to say the least, how special to be able to see the Eagles again this year.

Thanks so much! I love watching the eagles. I saw that one landing, then one bird flew away, then the other. I didn't get a shot of both together. I figure there are no eggs yet.

You are probably right, they are just beginning to stake their territory. Soon you will have photos of them. Awesome shots and I look so forward to more.

Holy moly sir Keith! wow, these are amazing. That's also very interesting about the Eagles and the rumor about the pet collars! I hope that's not true.

Thank you, @janton. I'm pretty sure it's not a true story. That nest is way too high up in a tree, the parks guys aren't going up there :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22