The Fasting Lifestyle - 7 Day Fast Blog | Day 6 | 144 Hour Update

in #fasting7 years ago

day 6 steemit fast.jpg

One day left to go!

I talked in the last post of the series how I was considering extending it with high likelihood, but I'm going to say I'm satisfied with going for 7 days. It's a major accomplishment for me and I think I'll wait for next time to push for over a week. I didn't enter with the mindset of going for over a week and don't feel prepared to brave another 5 days or so.

I will say this won't be a true water + coffee fast . It was for 5 days, but I must concede I did have a little to eat last night.

I had about 120 calories worth (~ 4 table spoons) of a chia + flax seed mix last night because I wasn't feeling 100% and was trying to get a few things done before calling it. It helped immensely and for my intents and purposes of the fast I allowed it. I'm not a purist. If having that allows me to push for another 2 days without issue, I don't see why not, I'm happier at the end of the week.

I'm weighing in right now at 194 lbs, starting around 201 lbs. I expect right before I eat tomorrow I'll be around 193, and then with adding water weight and putting some food in my stomach I'll stabilize around 195-196 over the next week. All considered I'll have shaved off 5-6 lbs, and worth mentioning those 5-6 lbs are a much better ratio of fat to lean mass than a caloric deficit would of yielded....talk about efficiency.

Starting on Monday I'm going to get back on the keto gains program. I was doing it for a few weeks prior but fell of the wagon, so I look forward to picking it up. It's basically SL 5x5 with a few more exercises. The only change I make to it is I throw in Insanity max 30 cardio workouts on the off days. I'm going to commit to the program for at least 6 months before considering anything else.

I'm not entirely sure I want to blog about working out. It is definitely a pillar of a lifestyle emphasizing optimal performance, so I'll advocate for it, but I'm not going to champion something until I have a demonstrated track record of doing it. As I build confidence in my understanding of fitness and build that track record, I'll feel qualified enough to really bring it more to the forefront of the blog.

All in all great week for me, the few who have stopped by - you guys really were a big reason I was able to get this far. Fingers crossed, but it's looking good for a successful week.

Perhaps we can discuss incentives and programs for fasting in the steemit community tomorrow? Let me know what ideas you have and what you think. Not competitions, but honor based small rewards for fasting for at least 24 hrs is my current line of reasoning.

All the best ~


Extended Reading

Dr. Jason Fung

Dr. Valter Longo

Dr. Rhonda Patrick


Communities & Resources

Zero -Fasting App
Subreddit for Fasting


Fasting Archive

7 Day Fast Blog - Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5

Sort:  

Don't ever beat yourself up about breaking your fast when you feel you need to eat...

After all, stress increases cortisol... Cortisol= water retention. And if you are weighing yourself, and not seeing the weight drop off, this could be the reason.

The worst thing to do is to get stressed that the weight isn't falling fast enough... Because that repeats the cycle.

Nice update!

_Rob

I'm not stressed about weight falling off or tracking it that religiously as that was the tertiary motive, it was because I just wasn't feeling as well as I would of liked and struggling a bit toward the end of that night.

I'm not beating myself up too hard about it, I would of liked to say it was more minimalist, but I realize that I don't really find the distinction that significant that I'm going to lose sleep over have a few tablespoons of fibrous seeds.

excellent

Remember, each 100mg of sodium you intake, body needs 1 cup of water to balance it and eliminate it out of the body
My post on dehydration

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64