The Fasting Lifestyle - 7 Day Fast Blog | Day 1 | 24 Hour Update

in #fasting7 years ago (edited)

day 1 steemit fast.jpg

Full on 24 hr+ fasts are taking root outside of biohacking communities, though still much skepticism and misinformation casts those breaking away from the common modus operandi of incessant grazing as a cult fad.

While I'm not an early adopter of this emerging lifehack, I can attest that it isn't a fad - this is the real deal. My last 4 day fast 2 months ago was absolutely life changing, and I'm excited to experience the amazing benefits again.

If you're looking for the best lifestyle change you can make to maximize your performance, bar none fasting is it. Insulin sensitivity improvements and a healthier relationship with food doesn't even scratch the surface when it comes to how important this neglected natural process is to our existence.

I'll be doing a 1 week fast this time, only water and black coffee.

My last meal was 24 hrs ago, it was keto friendly Chipotle take out featuring chicken/steak/avacado/cheese/sour cream. This puts still puts me in the OMAD (one meal a day) context and isn't too unfamiliar for many who practice intermittent fasting. It won't really be until tomorrow and onward that I'm in unfamiliar territory for many living well off in first world countries.

I feel great and I'm ready to have an incredibly productive work day tomorrow.

What's My Motivation?

mice-neurons.jpg

I'm not fasting for fat loss, though it is the best way to lose fat while minimizing lean mass loss and I used it for that successfully before, the big attraction for me is the productivity and health benefits. It is for this reason I don't look at the scale, snap photos, or worry about the changes its having in my body composition... that isn't my focus. I find it distracting and tangential to real reward of this exercise.

I won't be getting too far ahead with the strength training and exercise post fast, I'll leave this post short and sweet. I'm excited about it, but focusing on the now is more important than over planning and underachieving.

I'll be doing daily updates with as much detail as possible about how I'm feeling and how much I'm getting done. Frankly you have so much more time to do whatever you want while fasting it can be taxing for that reason alone, so blogging will be a fun way to maximize the extra hours and provide insight into what you can expect while fasting.

Lastly, I will be entirely honest if I cheat or quit. It doesn't do anyone any good to lie about this type of thing. I was planning on going longer than 4 days last time, but lack of sleep on the 4th night dissuaded me from continuing. If I have serious sleep loss I can't justify continuing so that will be a big thing I'm monitoring and trying to improve at this time.

That's all I have to say for today.

I look forward raising awareness about fasting on steemit and helping others find motivation to really consider it - even if you think you have no will power, anyone can do it with the right preparation and mindset, and you'll feel incredible for having done it.


Sources

Images - 1


Extended Reading

Jason Fung and Valter Longo are your main windows in this world. I'll compile a lot of the pertinent information at the conclusion of this fast as I'll be encouraging others to join me, for now I'll leave you with some food for thought -

https://intensivedietarymanagement.com/fasting-and-muscle-mass-fasting-part-14/

https://www.amazon.com/Complete-Guide-Fasting-Intermittent-Alternate-Day/dp/1628600012

Sort:  

I've been intermittent fasting for about a year and steadily reducing my calories and increasing the time in between eating that my body is capable of. I feel the best when I eat the least or eat the most clean (fruit vs junk/processed/cooked food)

Nice article. I have been IF'ing for over 7 straight years. Couldn't live any other way. My eating window is 12n-8pm.

I look forward to seeing updates. I will follow you.

_Rob

That's basically the IF window I have as well. I eat around 2PM - 10PM, 2 meals a day for the last year. I'm trying to shorten it from 10PM to earlier to help keep my circadian cycle better managed. Occasionally I'll deviate but overwhelmingly that's where I'm at. Appreciate the follow!

as i understand it; Any deviation in intermittent Fasting is acceptable so long as you return to your goal..
This is my 1st Fast in 10 years !!.. i'm looking forward to Intermittent fasting after i return to Food again..
Not sure which method of intermittent fasting i will adhere to.. Have you folks heard of the 5:2 ?

Day #2 of my Hopefully 7 day fast (although i will be happy just to surpass my previous record of 5 days) ... Thanks for keeping it honest.... Same here.... i'll admit any lapse...

Watching the videos Now !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78