The Fasting Lifestyle - 7 Day Fast Blog | Day 3 | 72 Hour Update

in #fasting7 years ago (edited)

day 3 steemit fast.jpg

I'm seriously deliberating going longer this is too easy!

My sleep is a lot better this time than it was last time, no issues so far. I'm learning an especially important element of doing these longer fasts is you really have to be on the ball 100% with sleep. That means before going to bed at least 20-30 minutes no serious stimulation, lights off or at least super dimmed, all that jazz.

It takes enough focus and concentration as is to be constantly thinking about work and tuning out the occasional hunger, the last thing you want to do is lose sleep and really fatigue yourself to the point where you just can't go on anymore.

Day 4 awaits me tomorrow, and given that 4 days is the longest I've gone before breaking in the past (mostly because of lack of sleep), It is quite exciting opportunity. I'm much more calm and relaxed going into tomorrow than I had been in the past.

The first time you fast all you think about is how completely ridiculous it is that you've gone several days without food, as cool as all of the exciting benefits are, for me I was really unsettled. I was paranoid about talk of "refeeding syndrome", how to perfectly break the fast, confused by all of the contracting information, etc. For most of the time all I thought about was fasting perfectly right by the book, rather than being in the moment and making the most of it as I am now.

I'm going to leave this one a little shorter today as I mentally prepare myself for tomorrow. After a successful Day 4, I'll talk about supplementation options and in what context they may make sense. If you are pushing out to day 5+ there is certainly merit to considering them. I'll be doing more research and make sure I have all the facts right before I go into detail about it.


Extended Reading

(I will fill this out with a ton of stuff tmrw FOR REAL and update all the pages, for now same old same old)

Jason Fung and Valter Longo are your main windows in this world. I'll compile a lot of the pertinent information at the conclusion of this fast as I'll be encouraging others to join me, for now I'll leave you with some food for thought -

https://intensivedietarymanagement.com/fasting-and-muscle-mass-fasting-part-14/

https://www.amazon.com/Complete-Guide-Fasting-Intermittent-Alternate-Day/dp/1628600012

Sort:  

My longest water fast was barely 5 days. If you go 7 you're my steemit hero until someone breaks the record :)

maybe we need a health/fasting contest?!

I'd prefer not to make a contest out of it. It makes people feel smaller for "only" fasting for a few days, when in actuality any amount of time 24 hours and over is a big accomplishment and they should feel exceptionally good about it. Even getting started with intermittent fasting is hard enough for most until you get some experience with it.

My focus is on expanding the mindset about extended fasting as an exceptionally important natural health lifestyle we should all on occasion practice for its wide ranging benefits. Whether you are trying to lose weight, cleanse your body, improve your productivity, and so forth there is always a powerfully motivating reason for giving it a try.

well every contest there's fear of failure or being a loser :) But right, baby steps perform the best, some people could benefit from a little push to get them to their goals even faster though.

There was a man who went over 300 Days !!!! He was extremely obese and lost hundreds of pounds !!

Yup, right here - back in 1965 - today would be all over news, if media weren't so biased!
https://thoughtcatalog.com/dr-chet-williams/2014/06/this-450-pound-man-fasted-for-over-a-year-and-he-lost-more-than-half-his-weight/

This 450 Pound Man Fasted For Over A Year And He Lost More Than Half His Weight

The first few days, are the hardest... After your hunger subsides, its cake! Except... Don't think too much about cake :)

Congrats, so far!

_Rob

thanks for stopping by again, stay tuned I'll be ramping up the content and resources! appreciate the support as always

when you break the fast, you should be on juices for a few days, read into that since I haven't, then you start with soft foods, fruits, vegetables, that's what I know at lest.

Resteeming and all that, Iwill be posting on such topics and this is interesting, I normally watch out what @lifeworship posts for the longer videos :) Since I'm not really into science.

I may look into it again, I worried about the post fast meals so much in the past and I didn't think it really ended up mattering too much in the end. It might be different going for longer this time though.

For every Day without food; it's recommended to take the same amount of days to return to your new Eating Routine... so Day 1 after Fast should be juice mixed with water - day 2 juice/water and a piece of fruit - etc. etc.

For every Day without food; it's recommended to take the same amount of days to return to your new Eating Routine

Interesting I hadn't heard that before, I'll use that for perspective when I get back to eating again. You wouldn't happen to have any links for where you heard about that on hand would you?

it was from a book... the Fasting Cure... i think that was the title.. it's a very old book on fasting ... i still have it somewhere...

interesting, there are some clear gaps in knowledge given the time period, but quite insightful

yup I still haven't tried it because well, I'm experimenting with a lot of things and fasting is hard mostly because of social reasons, but it could be mismanaged and could be harmful too. So I'd rather read up on it and learn a little before trying it out. Thanks again for the reminder :) I'm off to watch the second video since I didn't pay much attention to it and the first s basically for the "unbelievers" that just claim you will die :D basically the people addicted to sugars and cheap food that they basically need to sit in one place and not do much else. Like me :D sitting on a PC :D

Congratulations @teslalifestyle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65791.75
ETH 3465.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68