Ducking Around: Help Me Name my New Pecking Duck

in #farming6 years ago (edited)

My bird vendor definately knew what he was up to when he had this guy waddle up to me. He told me he had a pecking duck and I honestly wasn't interested because I just didn't have the space. While I was buying bird food at the stand next door this guy came waddling down the sidewalk towards me quacking.

Usually the birds are kept in cages to keep them around but he wasn't and he didn't seem like he needed to be. Being pursued by the vendor to sort of push him my way, he waddled right up to me, where I picked him up and hugged him.

With his blue eyes and pearly white body I couldn't resist. He's a sweet bird that is nothing like the muscovy ducks I've had until this point. Peckings are an asian variety and are honestly what most people think of when they think of duck meat. It's fattier and they generally grow bigger.

I've heard all sorts of funny things about peckings from the fact that the males quack instead of hissing like a muscovy male to the fact that they're cleaner. These pictures are the dirtiest I've seen him and it was after he spent a few days with some messy chickens. Now that he's had his own spot with a small pond to clean himself he's been pearly white.

In fact his need to remain white is almost comical. He's loudest not when he's hungry but when he's running low on clean water, or when his water is just not clean enough for him. Not only that but he actually seems to be a cleaner duck in general.

For 170 pesos hes basically a pet, a mascot of sorts. He needs a name still though however as he's too epic a duck to just name something simple and silly.

If you've got any ideas, put them below in the comments.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Farm Update: Still Ducking Around, With Eggs!
Duckin Around, Part 1: Basic Duckling Care
Jungle Shots: Voluntaryist Butterfly Comes to Visit

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

5000 Followers on Steemit! Thank You!
Acapulco Sunsets: Early Starts Make For Good Nights
Kitchen Hack: Food Processor Ground Meat

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Name him Chicken! Why not?! After all, he is a bird!!!

He's too nice and friendly for that.

you are so sweet :)

He looks like a Pete.

Archy (anarchy)?

So far my favorites are this one that you've suggested and a private message suggestion of Moby Duck.

Hmm, tough choice.

I'll ask him his thoughts again today when I return his pond to him.

Excellent your white duck photography really awesome .The duck is the petty birds

Looking forward to seeing you post some more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67280.14
ETH 3764.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57