Better Than Expected: An Update

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

My husband Jared and I were separated for 9 months or so a couple of years ago. During that time I dated a man named Eugene. It actually got pretty serious. In our first conversation he asked me if I would be okay dating someone who has female friends. He went on to tell me that his best friend was a social worker and her name was Laura. He joked that he tells her he doesn't like social workers, they have too much power, but her excuse was, "We have supervisors." Yeah, best friends. Laura was the one who told him to tell me to call a social worker when I found out that Jared was doing meth. It's a long story. You can read my previous story about his recovery, and the recovery of our family here You can also read about my previous experience with social services here
download.jpg

Anyway, he talked about Laura often. She would come and visit him at work, and they would have lunch together every now and then. I didn't really mind, there were no sexual relations going on or anything like that. At that time she lived with her parents because she was so riddled with student debt and she couldn't afford a place of her own. She liked dating frat boys and was dating a man who had a serious alcohol problem. Funny how social worker's lives aren't perfect either. I remember him showing me her Facebook page and remember what she looked like. Well it didn't occur to me until after the first visit that this is the same woman handling my case now!!

I don't know if this is good, bad or neither. Eugene and my relationship ended with him angry, telling me to lose his number because I had contact with Jared. I asked her point blank if she was Eugene's friend yesterday just to make sure, and she said, "yes." My husband said I made things really awkward by asking her, oops! Is this a conflict of interest? I think so...is there anything I can do about it? Unsure. What I do know is that this is the same women who arbitrarily gave Eugene's druggie cousin "another chance because I liked her." There is also no confidentiality when it comes to CPS investigations, so I know Eugene knows what's happening. He may even know more than I do about what their plans are...This whole situation has me very uncomfortable.

Anyway, yesterday the police officer/detective/school liaison officer/truancy officer/whoever the hell she is couldn't make it. Laura called me and told me this and wanted to come earlier than 3:00, she wanted to come at 1:30, I said okay. She came and wanted to talk to the rest of the children. I had the recorder on in the room she was to talk to them, but I couldn't really make much of the conversation out unfortunately. She talked to each one for about 15-20 minutes each. After she was done she came back out into the living room and was very friendly, but they're trained to be that way. She said she was going to order a urine analysis. The UA person would show up unannounced for a urine sample. Laura said that she didn't suspect we would need to do it more than once or twice...a month. Why did she add that last part in, we will have to do this every month??? For how long? We are clean!

She asked if I'm homescooling now (after I took them out of school, I was letting them take a break to be deschooled for a while, but that was highly frowned upon) and I said yes. She asked if I was using the lock box they gave me for my medication and I am. She asked Jared if he was taking my pills and he's not, and she mentioned pill counts in the future. I gave her my log of all my activities concerning the care and education of my kids and she thanked me and said it was very helpful. Then she left.

It would be a very cruel trick to take my children away now, as she gave the impression that we're keeping them. When we were discussing the details of the urinalysis, she even said she gave us choice of either going down to the lab, or having them come to us, and agreed it would be better for them to come to us, "because you have kids, and it might be more convenient."
1084443_oS1Tf20b.jpg

After she left, I asked the kids what she asked them. It seems that she made a lot of small talk. She asked Naomi these questions: If we smoke (yes), and what kind of cigarettes do we smoke (the normal kind). If we drink, what do we drink (beer), when do we drink (she said it's random), do we spank (yes), how often do I spank them (only when we're really naughty, like when we write on the walls), Naomi told us that she mentioned a scary night but didn't want to talk about it. I can just imagine how that could be construed.

For Chloe she asked pretty much the same questions, Chloe said that she told the social worker that I spank her on the back because she was too embarrassed to say the word "butt." I just want to say that spanking with the hand on the butt is legal in Wisconsin, and I don't want to get into a debate over whether or not I should. I do it very rarely.

Priscilla wouldn't talk about her conversation. She just wanted to be silly lol.

After she was gone we went outside and enjoyed the gorgeous weather! Finally! Spring!!

30831195_604399569925265_461143400_n.jpg
30831521_604399563258599_732925512_n.jpg
30776506_604399576591931_986543939_n.jpg
30875000_604399593258596_1330713666_n.jpg

So is this a sigh of relief? Yes and no. I wish my husband and I would agree on our tactics here. What to expect from here on out, and what will happen as a result of the conversation she had with my kids? Unsure. There are many unknowns right now. All I know is I still have my kids, and am very grateful for it. Thanks to everyone for the love and support. If you're just reading about my situation now, and would like to catch up, here are my other articles:

It's happening
Still Together
My Actions Concerning CPS
Police and Social Worker Coming Today

Love, snowpea ❤

Images from Pinterest

Family Protection.png
thealliance_ladies_3.png

Sort:  
Loading...
Thank-you @snowpea for submitting this post with the #familyprotection tag. It has been UPVOTED by @familyprotection and RESTEEMED TO OUR Community Supporters.

"Child Protection Agencies" are taking children away from their loving families.
THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.

@snowpea hi ive just begun to read some of your post and i can relate to some of the stuff you've mentioned then again a lot of us parents probably can. Anyhow if i had more time currently id give you a wider background but heres the deal I'm a single father of 3 children and I've been doing the single parent thing for some time.. with that said i had a run in with d.f.s/c.p.s (division of family services/child protection services) they did a number on me back in 2010, i then had another run in around 2012 but i learned how they operated and stood my ground and won. Someone mentioned on the comments get a lawyer, do it there are several law school students and family law attorneys out there hungry for cases they will take on your case dependig on your location you could honestly probably google one with out having to even go to your local support center. Next off the conflict of interest if they are friends on Facebook your ex and the case workerthen copy it have some form of proof and dont give her time to hide anything. Call and request to speak with her supervisor and if you can try ro get up to a director typically they dont care about much or they are so busy with other b.s that when they recieve calls they either choose to get involved or stand down I'm not trying to sound kike an expert and im not by any means but when it comes to my kids i do my homework and then some... so yes try to get a phone conference with someone above her supervisor inform them.. cps organization's all over have been being attacked my law suits due to their bullshit so typically they try to avoid screwing themselves with that said inform them this is your ex boyfriends best friend present or mention the proof and tell them it doesnt feel right with that said if you approach them firmly but with respect, you should get her off the case depending on just how much was reported to them will determine if they would consider closing the case but ultimately I'd push her off the case. Cps can be scarey but your demeanor and how you carry yourself will make or break you when it comes to those people. Good luck with everything

Your daughter being too afraid to say 'butt' and saying that she is spanked on the back is what concerns me the most. Maybe you should record her explaining what she really meant.

That's a great idea! I will definitely record her explanation.

I definitely think the social worker has a conflict of interest. More than likely, your ex told her what all was going on with you at the time, so she knows both of your pasts as well as what is going on now...or what she wants to believe is going on now. I think lturner's comment is spot on and hopefully you can get some type of legal help. There are homeschool alliance groups out there that you can join that have legal help for situations like this - I know the Tutt family had a similar situation (I found them on facebook) where their kids were taken because of some crazy stuff that happened and they were homeschooled. The homeschool defense group was able to help them legally. It is usually a small yearly fee to join and that gives you access to the lawyers, from what I understand. Here is one: https://hslda.org/content/. @crosheille, are you in a group or @lturner?

I just checked and it's: Monthly Auto-pay -$11 per month (first month includes setup fee: $26). That gives you: Specific legal advice, 24/7 emergency legal hotline, Experienced litigation team
How long does it take to process my application?

The processing of applications generally takes 3 weeks—longer during HSLDA's busy season. You will receive your membership information via email once your membership is processed.

You are welcome to expedite your application with a nonrefundable rush fee of $40 if you would like to have your application reviewed within 2 business days. Approval is not guaranteed.
What should I do if I have a legal emergency?

If your family needs immediate assistance, we suggest that you expedite your application with the $40 rush fee. Rushed applications will be reviewed within 2 business days. Because processing a rush application requires the immediate diversion of resources, the $40 fee is nonrefundable. Approval is not guaranteed. Be sure to include details about your situation on your application, and be prepared to submit copies of relevant documentation (letters, court documents, etc.).

All from their site: https://membership.hslda.org/#

I just found this:

Does HSLDA represent members in child protective services contacts?
In every contact with a child abuse investigator or police officer regarding allegations of abuse or neglect, HSLDA provides assistance and advice to our member families. If the investigation focuses on homeschooling, we may provide you representation until the matter is resolved. Should court action result in nonhomeschooling matters, we likely won’t remain involved beyond consulting with your retained lawyer.

HSLDA has in the past, and may choose in the future, to take cases that are not materially related to homeschooling but in which there has been a clear violation of the Fourth Amendment protection against unreasonable searches and seizures. We reserve the right to accept such cases at our sole discretion.

The thing they might be able to provide is good advice on how to find another lawyer...and they at least recognize the precariousness of the situation.

We do belong to HSLDA and they can help with homeschooling allegations, though I'm not sure they can get into other potential charges. They might be able to make good suggestions however - good call, @apanamamama !

Thank you so much for looking into this for me!! I didn't think I could join HSLDA because several year ago when I homeschooled, you couldn't join if you were already going through legal trouble, it was more of an insurance policy. I see they have changed that now! I'd be more than inclined to join if the fact that I homeschooled was the only issue... cps is scrutinizing all aspects of our lives, not just the homeschooling part, but I will look into it!

Yesterday, I called about a dozen lawyers and none of them would take my case pro bono. I'm not surprised. Lawyers like to get paid lol. I also called judicare, but they don't provide help for my kind of case. Looked online for free legal clinics, and no luck. Then I got a free trial membership for JustAnswer.com with lawyers online and the lawyer actually said that cps can be very hard to deal with and cooperation is the best way to proceed. He said he doesn't see me losing my kids if there are no marks on my daughter.

Then I called a lawyer who does a free 1 hour consultation. I'm looking forward to that at 2pm...his secretary said there's a retainer fee, but he'll discuss that with me during the consultation. His hourly rate is $300/hour. They don't know I can't pay LOL but hopefully I can get some good legal advice at the very least.

Never trust, never give information or consent to any supervision - in my experience.
Never sing a contract agreeing to supervision by CPS or associated agencies.

Jane's Case tells us why.

Injustice after injustice.
Corruption.
Evil.
Criminal Intent.

They, too, will be held accountable one day. Until then, do not cooperate or volunteer information - but do use best judgement.

Jane's Case: https://steemit.com/familyprotection/@globocop/4egqeum5

I hope the case will be closed asap.

@snowpea, i am so sorry you're going through such complicated issues. Your kids look so young and innocent. And, your momma bear needs to protect them fiercely. There seems to be very wise and experienced advice offered. I hope you are brave to trust your personal power to do the things to keep your children out if cps care. All of my love & prayers to make it through this is a good and peaceful way.

I think there is a way that you can report a conflict of interest, but this varies from place to place. Check it out for your area. It is imperative that you and your husband are on the same page when it comes to dealing with these people. Remember that is what they do best, divide and conquer. United you stand a much better chance of defeating this.

Oh my goodness, what a nightmare!
Thanks for sharing this! Ill be praying for you and your family!

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post free to my 35,000+ followers if you reply with the word, "free". Blog posts over 7 days old can not be upvoted or resteemed. a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71