Protecting our Families Starts at the Beginning - Having the Type of Birth you Desire - Protocols to Help Protect your Newborns while at the Hospital

in #familyprotection7 years ago (edited)

B3C05A24-16F2-44FA-AA93-B0D0A1BFFD6A.jpeg

In these days we are living in there are so many things we need to protect our children from. Lately I have been reading many posts about protecting our families and our rights as parents. If we don’t stand up for our rights who will? If we don’t protect our families who will? Those of you that are familiar with my blog know that we are a non-vaccinated family. That day in the hospital when we first meet our children we refuse any type of unnecessary treatments for them along with vaccines.

Although we are blessed to have midwives we still have to work with other nurses and sometimes even doctors that may not be on the same page as them. During one of my deliveries I had a few complications which thankfully were smoothed out in the end. In the midst of those complications we had a visit from another doctor due to the hospital’s policy. You still have to have a residing doctor on call in case of emergencies.

Birthing Plan

CDBF5E63-D09F-4578-8C5E-A2B0CF6BD85B.jpeg

First contact, skin to chest

For every delivery, we have present with us our typed up birthing plan. Our midwives also get a copy of this beforehand. I strive for a natural vaginal non-medicated delivery. I have achieved this four times. This is one of the main reasons we chose midwives to deliver our babies because they promote these types of births and allow you to birth in whatever position or in any way that will make this possible. I couldn’t imagine being bound to a bed on my back giving birth. It would make it so much harder giving that gravity works with you and your baby when you are right side up...you don’t have to work as hard. On the plan we list everything we opt out of and also those things we would prefer. For example I prefer skin to chest immediately after my babies are born. The nurses wrap them up and hand them directly to me. The first contact they have is on my chest snuggled with me. I also prefer first feeding before any other procedures. So while the babies are in my arms I nurse them right there in that moment. Another important thing we opt out of is for my water to be broken unnaturally. I believe in baby’s health and safety first. So if there is a situation that threatens my baby’s life and we have to speed up the process to get him/her out sooner than by all means that’s what we’ll do. On a normal basis I prefer my water to break on it’s own. This has also happened for me every time. It is valuable having a plan that everyone has seen so everyone knows what your wishes are and what to expect.

A Support System

898AB11F-9EE3-490F-B90D-5775FCC08122.jpeg

It really helps having my husband with me the entire stay at the hospital. I really need him during those times where I want to give in and take medications or tell myself just get the epidural. Thankfully I have never given in and our plan has always went the way we wanted...no medications, interventions or “help” as I call it. I like to be alert and feel everything that is going on with my body and my baby. Some women just can’t understand why I would allow myself to go through all of that pain when I can just numb it all. Our bodies were created with the ability to give birth to a child. If I use medication, I can’t feel what my body is naturally telling me to do. When it’s time to push the baby, I don’t need anyone to tell me to push. My body automatically starts pushing because it was designed that way. Epidurals may help shake the pain during delivery but some mothers experience pain after it wears off. My sister-in-law feels tingles in her spine every time it thunder storms. I know that may sound strange but this started happening right after she gave birth with an epidural. Also when you allow everything to be numb you can’t feel when you are pushing your body past it’s limits thus a lot of women experience painful tears in the end. The one thing I do like to have in my room for help is a diffuser with essential oils that helps with energy and motivation.

Before arriving at the hospital we always remind ourselves what we have written in our plan. We talk about the benefits of having a natural vaginal birth. For every delivery I’ve had there has been at least one nurse that shows in her demeanor she doesn’t agree with our decision to not vaccinate or not to do certain procedures. She usually asks us more than once and then we finally have to say “we have made our decisions and are sticking by them.” It’s always best to have someone that is strong and respectfully stern with you during those vulnerable times of delivery where you might just say “yes, do what you need to do” because you are in pain and so focused on working.

Go Wherever Your Newborn Goes

77332901-753F-4CA8-82A4-C7C30BC299DD.jpeg

In this picture our son was about to get his hearing checked. If you look closely in the background you can see my husband standing right behind him.

Knowing that there are professionals that are with us during and after delivery that do not agree with our decisions we have come up with a plan that we have stuck by. While in the hospital wherever our babies go my husband goes with them. For any testing, procedures that we have consented to whatever it may be, when our babies are strolled away in that rolling crib he strolls right behind them. I mean we all have seen those movies like ‘Switched At Birth’ or ‘Baby Disappears from Nursery’. You just can’t take any chances these days. One of our main concerns is that someone might decide to give our baby shots or medication that we did not consent to. When we refuse certain things for our children there is always someone that thinks we are neglecting them or hurting them by not allowing it. When in reality we are doing just the opposite. We don’t want to risk this ever happening to our children.

It could be 3:00 am and my husband is on the hospital couch bed asleep. If someone comes in to take our baby he will jump up ready to go or I will wake him. One time a nurse came in quietly and didn’t say a word. She started to stroll the baby out and then my husband wakes up and says “where are you taking him now?” She apologizes and says she didn’t want to disturb our peaceful sleep. My husband then replies “oh please do, I need to be with him.” This is serious business folks, we don’t mess around when it comes to the safety and well-being of our kids.

Another great thing about my husband being there with our babies is the comfort they have with him by their side. We all know that newborns love warmth and they hate to be disturbed with thermometers and cold things against their skin. When our babies are crying after testing he is right there to pick them up and soothe them.

Procedure Without Consent

Have you heard about the mom from Baltimore City that was outraged because a school Dental program removed her son’s teeth without her knowing? She signed a paper at the beginning of the year giving her consent for routine cleanings only. She was NOT called or notified in any kind of way before they performed this major procedure on him at school. They pulled three of his teeth and didn’t give him anything for pain afterwards. On top of that because of the procedure he missed his bus ride home and had to walk almost a full mile home in pain...alone. How could they operate on this boy without getting his mother’s consent? They call home when a child has a stomach ache or a fever but they didn’t think to call his mom for something like this? It’s just insane. Here’s an article about this story.

I can’t imagine how terrifying and upsetting this was for that mother. We don’t want to take any chances for unwanted procedures to be done or medications given to our children. I even go back with my children at the dental office for cleanings...I never leave them alone or let them be seen by a professional without me present. If or when you have children, don’t hesitate to speak up and tell the hospital staff you want to go wherever your newborn goes. It’s your God given right as a parent to protect your children. At the end of the day you can’t worry about who’s feelings you might hurt or who you will offend. The safety of your family comes first. A newborn can’t tell you what’s been done, you would possibly never know if something was done without your consent.

Parents have been imprisoned, had their kids snatched from them at the hospital for refusing certain meds, brought before a judge for medical neglect, and some have watched their children briefly become wards of the state then taken to hospitals to get vaccinated against their will. Our rights as parents are being threatened and they are trying to take away important decisions that only a parent should make. If you homeschool, are an unvaccinated family, single parent, teenage mom you could be a target for the CPS (Child Protective Services), Social Services or any other service that label themselves as help. The goal of these services are to split up homes and take children out of the comfort and protection of their parents. They are disguised as support but they only “support” their own motives. Please take the time to check out @familyprotection and read the posts on their blog that are written to inform you of these matters. They are here to support you and you will find tips and advice if you should end up in a situation where your family is being threatened. I fully support this cause and will continue writing for awareness on these subjects. Let’s work together in our efforts in protecting our loved ones.

Conclusion

73D084B4-4795-4C65-A077-A91A3AAD6F2E.jpeg

I wrote this post for a few reasons. I wanted to encourage mothers to plan for the type of labor and delivery they want. If you want a natural spontaneous delivery, seek out midwives in your area that will help you achieve this. Write up a birthing plan of your do’s and don’ts. Our Doula once told us once you are given pitocin to induce labor you are headed down a path that leads to a cesarean. Every medication you take while in labor your newborn takes it as well. You are strong and well capable of delivering your baby without interventions, you were made for this. Have a strong support system with you while giving birth.

I wanted to encourage parents to go with their instinct. It’s okay to go wherever your newborns go, it’s okay to ask questions, it’s okay to be cautious and protective over your little ones. I don’t believe in the term “overly protective”. Do whatever it takes to make sure nothing is done to your newborn without your consent.

I wanted to inform families of a support system they can turn to. It’s scary standing up for parental rights. When you refuse procedures and medications you become a target. That doesn’t always mean someone will try to come after you, it just means you are now labeled as a family that does not go along with “normal” procedures. You are not alone, there are other families standing up for their rights and their freedom of choice.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I hope I have given you more to think about and other ways you could consider protecting your newborns while at the hospital. Protecting our families starts at the beginning.

You can never be too cautious as a parent.

All photos are my own and were taken the day our youngest son was born.

Be Blessed~ ❤️

Sort:  

Thank-you @crosheille for writing about your experiences and warning others how caring parents such as yourself have to be diligent about protecting their families from all unwanted interventions, including government kidnappers.

We must unite together @familyprotection
Governments around the world,
are using "Child Protection Agencies"
to take children away from loving families
and place them in foster care or group homes.
THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.

It is my desire and pleasure! I am so glad to have a voice and to be able to warn others and give them encouragement to stand up and speak up. Thank you @familyprotection for all you are doing to bring awareness and support to these families and for giving us all a unit to be apart of where we can all work together for the greater good! ❤️

This is great information to be sharing @crosheille encouraging parents to go with their instincts is the best advice you can get.

Do what feels right!

Do what feels natural!

Thank you for sharing this with us, your support for the @familyprotection foundation goes a long way. :)

Bless.

Thank you so much for your support and feedback Mark! I am so grateful to have an opportunity to share my experiences with others that it might help them should they be in the same position. I am a proud supporter of the @familyprotection foundation and will continue to help bring awareness.

Fantastic post @crosheille, happy to see more free minded people on Steemit every day. I respect how you find your freedom into the existing system, we just escaped all the way to India to be free. Much love.

Thank you @bubke! That’s one of the reasons why I love this plattform! I’m so glad to hear your family is free. I appreciate you stopping by.

Great post. When my daughter was born, we had very similar things in place, and happily managed to navigate our way through without unnecessary meds, vaccinations or other things we decided weren't in her best interest, and managed to get through it without too much hassle, mainly because I as dad would come out fighting to protect my family when we were under pressure to conform with the medical professionals.

Thank you so much for reading @anarcotech! It makes me happy to know your family had a positive experience with delivery. My heart goes out to those that don’t have the support they need during those pressuring times. Since you boldly protected your family and stuck to your plans your daughter was able to come into this world chemical free. Kudos to you for protecting your family and staying strong during the pressure. 😊

This post was really very well thought out and informative, I have learnt a lot from a few minutes read. Natural birthing is very great, I remember the women in my village always have to go through a skilled midwife back in days and there were little to no complications at all. My mother in the early 1990's gave birth to me via this method and even my older brother and it went great!!. Now people follow the new trend, and quickly end up giving birth via complications. God gave the Woman a body that can handle natural birth. When I get married, my Wife would implement natural birthing cause the child feels most comfortable in this. Your husband is truly a great support and protection line for your child, I think that has thought us to always be present when our wives are in labor so we can monitor and implement our decisions in person. @crosheille, your son is so handsome, and Thanks a lot for this beautiful post, indeed I have learnt more today from you!. Peace to your family.

Thank you so much @kryptocoin! I am so glad you took a lot with you from my post. It makes me sad that woman are not supported in Natural birthing. The doctors are ready to get home and they don’t want to wait around for a 15 hour natural delivery. Time is money and they want to promote the quick ways to deliver a baby.

I don’t know what we would do without our midwives. If it wasn’t for them I wouldn’t have had the confidence I had to deliver my babies...they really help women believe in their strengths.

That’s so awesome that you are already planning to have a Natural birth and support your wife in that one day. I hope all goes well when that day comes and your children are born chemical free in a safe environment. It was meant for our spouses to be that strong support system we need. Many blessings to you~

I LOVE this!
Thanks for sharing all of this important information,
along with your experiences. I hope that it helps a lot of people make informed decisions.
And thanks for referring people to @familyprotection

Full upvote and resteem!

That means a lot to me coming from you Linda! I really hope too that it helps others make important informed decisions. I just want to bring awareness on these matters to those that may not know the choices they can make in certain situations. We have more control than they tell us. If you go into a situation not knowing how much say you really have...they’ll make the decisions for you.

Thank you so much for your continued support and encouragement...you are truly one of a kind~ ❤️

I really agree with your comments, this is very useful, important information @crosheille

Thank you very much @marconah. My hope was that it was useful and informative. 😊

Lovely post @crosheille, this is exactly what @familyprotection needs. And exactly what parents need to feel empowered.

In fact I am impressed with the material that is being put in that tag and excited to see it progressing this way. So many people will be blessed by having this library at their disposal :)

Thank you so very much @dreemit! I really appreciate your feedback and encouraging words. I really do want parents to feel empowered and I feel it’s a responsibility of mine to share important useful information. I am excited to see the progress of @familyprotection’s initiative as well. Many blessings to you~ 😊

I really resonated with this as a health care professional. So often patients do not even ask what pill they are being given (even though the nurse is supposed to tell them, we all know that doesnt always happen shakes head)
I Have very bad anxiety. I Do not have kids. I Don't think i would want a natural birth, but after reading your post about the pain you're covering up I'm rethinking that. Resteeming thhis

I guess that comes from some people really trusting those in the medical field. Either way I don’t understand how someone can just pop a pill without asking what they are taking? I have a whole new outlook on meds and antibiotics ever since I recovered from really bad health. I don’t take anything over the counter when it’s unnecessary. We are living in a need to feel good quick, heal me quick type of time so everyone is looking for a quick fix.

I know to some woman giving birth naturally sounds unreal and unbearable but believe me it is bearable. I have spoke with several women that had the epidural and maybe 1 out of 3 of them have said if they could do it all over again they would have opted out of the meds and epidural. When you numb your body from waist down to give birth you have no idea what your body is telling you to do. Some women may push to early and too hard causing way more stress on their bodies. I can literally feel when the next stage of birth is taking place...I follow along and let my body do the talking. It’s a much better experience for baby and I because we are working together. I have had four children with no tears ever. I do a perennial massage with olive oil in my third trimester to prepare for delivery. Not only do I not tear but I can take the “burn” when the head is crowning because I have conditioned by body for it. There are ways that will allow you to handle this much better. I encourage if at all possible when you have children to not go with the epidural. You WILL feel the pains afterwards for sure and will have a much longer recovery than you would of had without it.

Thank you so much for reading, commenting and resteeming! I am glad I might have helped you make a different choice when delivering. I plan on doing another post all about preparation and techniques to help you get through a Natural delivery. 😊

Thx for all this great information. A lot to think about and take into deep consideration.

I work in physical therapy. Yes, i see patients all the time just take whatever pill their nurse gives them, no questions. It is pertinent to me at times to know medications a patient is on. I will literally get responses like "it a yellow pill".... these people literally don't even know what they are being prescribed! They just take it bc "the doc said so" like really? No wonder my 'docs' always seem annoyed wwhen i ask a lot of questions. They probablt aren't used to it! Which is sad. In my profession I am literally talkimg and educating all day. There's no annoyance with any questions!

From a physical therapy standpoint, I'm sure the massage you mentioned helps a lot. Do you do any sort of asvanced keagals post/prior to birth?

You are so welcome! I’m glad you ask questions and take the time to educate your patients too. I wish more doctors would take the time to educate so that people can learn to care for themselves at home.

Yes, I do kegels before, during and after birth. I learned the benefits of doing them for giving birth and I learned they can help a woman keep her inside parts up and in place in there lol. I don’t ever want to have to get a hysterectomy so I’ve kind of been making them a habit to do. I’m not sure if they are considered advanced but I just do as many as I can for as long as I can when I think about it. Do you have any insight on them and how many to do?

Yes, Just doing it on a regular basis for general conditioning and to decrease risk of experiencing any age or trauma related vaginal or anal prolapse, as part of a general wellness/ "preventable conditions maintenance routine"

Awesome thank you! Prolapse was the word I was looking for. I will definitely continue to do them. It was really nice chatting with you.

You as well. Have a great day

😊 Thanks you have a great day as well~

This is a very beautifully written article and congratulations on your new baby.
This is so good for new mothers or mothers to be to read, it can really, really be very helpful.
I agree with you on the epidural shots and I swear that I would not have one while giving birth and I never did. I believe they are very harmful to the mother and for even for the baby. I hear lots of stories about complications women have after the pregnancy.
Thank you very much for writing this article, even though my boys are in their teens, it's still good to keep on learning how to keep them safe no matter what age they are.
I absolutely love what @familyprotection is doing and will always support them.

Thank you so much @joalvarez. I appreciate you taking the time to read. I am very grateful to hear from the feedback I am getting that this information has helped bring awareness. I’m so glad to hear you didn’t get the epidural, that’s wonderful. There really are a lot of complications afterwards as well as longer recoveries. I hope to keep spreading awareness by sharing my experiences and helping others to see there are other alternatives and that they have choices.

I too will always support @familyprotection! 😊

You sure are doing a good job at spreading awareness and helping others with other alternatives and really making a difference, so thank you so much for that.

Thank you so much. That really means a lot. 😊

What a gorgeous baby boy you have! :D Well done on experiencing the birth you hoped for. Unfortunately, my son's birth was quite traumatic and I had to have an emergency C-section because he was stuck in my pelvis (I am very petite, only 149cm tall!) My pelvis was too small. It has scared me so much that I have never had any more children after my son, which is a shame as I think he would have been a great older brother. I think too many people rush into having a c section, when they don't really need it. They may think it is easier than all the pain, but believe me, A c section can take months and in my case years to recover from if it goes wrong. (They also tore through my bladder when the operated). I wish I had experienced a natural birth, I went through 30 hours of labor and pain for nothing really, when I couldn't finish the job. That in itself is emotionally upsetting, feeling like you have failed at the most natural thing in the world, giving birth to your child. :( It is hard being a mum right from the beginning

Thank you so much for your compliments! I am so sorry to hear that you experienced this when giving birth to your son. I can’t imagine the pain you felt. Please don’t say you failed, you delivered your son and that is the most important goal of all. Everything else is a goal a desire but it’s not going to always work out the same for everyone.

It is very hard being a parent right from the beginning. When I couldn’t breastfeed my second born for a year (as I desired) I felt like a failure. I was so ashamed and upset with myself. But then I had people remind me I did the best I could, I went for as long as I could but the most important thing is that he ate.

Thank you for sharing your experience with me and commenting. I am so sorry about what you went through. At this point are you done having children? I ask that because I know of success stories with VBAC (vaginal birth after cesarean).

We decided that the age gap was too great now as my son is almost 13 and has additional needs (ADHD, Autism, Tourettes, OCD) so really takes all of our attention. It would be very disruptive to bring a baby into the mix at the moment. But we are happy and love our little family as it is :) and I have 5 fur-babies now too lol my surrogate children haha

I am so glad you are a happy family unit. That’s all that matters. I bet those fur-babies are sooo cute! 😄❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45