The Accidental Fruit Dryer!

in #family6 years ago (edited)


A couple of days ago, this little surprise arrived in the mail. Well, more that it arrived by delivery rather than the post box. I had read a post in the past weeks (I’m sorry, I can’t exactly remember whose blog it was) about a food dehydrator, and I was really curious about doing something similar as we eat a good deal of dried fruit in our house and it tends to be quite expensive to buy them from the fruit and nut shops. Also, it seemed like a good thing to do with fruit that was starting to get past prime eating stages, and would otherwise be thrown out.

Anyway, after chatting with the blog owner (again, apologies, I don’t remember who it was!) I had picked out a fruit dryer that wasn’t too expensive on Amazon, and then saved it to my wish list for later. This last week, we had to do an Amazon order for a few things (mostly replacement batteries and some sheet music, nothing exciting…), but it turns out that I hadn’t saved the fruit dryer to the “Wish List”, but instead, I had put it in the shopping basket! Ooops… or was it on purpose?


Anyway, seeing as it had arrived, I thought it would be a good idea to give it a spin! It’s actually a pretty simple device, with a heater and fan, and some racks to dry the fruit (or vegetables) on. There is only an ON/OFF switch (as it is only a cheapish model) and no timer, but that is something that can be easily fixed with some home automation smart plugs that I have lying around the house. Or even perhaps one of the old analog timer switches for when you are travelling and want your lights to turn on and off at pre-set times. It boils down to whether or not I want to be able to control the dryer from my bed…

The first thing that we were going to try and dry were the good old favourites, apple and grapes! Nothing too adventurous for the first attempt, just a quick run to see how it all worked. So, a few red apples that were going to need to be eaten very soon, and some green grapes that were hanging around in the fridge. Definitely loving the fact that we had thought to buy an apple corer a few years back, these things are great!


After coring, there was the touch experimentation with the skin on or off, and also with how to slice the apples.


After I did all the hard work, the kids were helping with laying out the slices onto the tray…. Although, I have to say that some of the apples and grapes were lost to corruption, and factory line inefficiencies.


However, enough of the apples and the halved grapes did make it onto the racks, and we had enough for 3 full racks for the first test run!


This time, I didn’t bother with the smart switch or even with timing the drying at all. We just turned it on, and went to bed.


As a result, the apples were a little bit on the crispy side of things! However, they were still pretty tasty! The grapes on the other hand were just perfect! So, now we have to look around for new things to stick in there, and I will set up the smart switch so that there will be an automatic timer to stop the dryer when the time comes.

All in all, this was quite a pleasant accidental purchase! My wife is a bit cranky about the fact that we don’t really have anywhere to store it easily, but I’m sure we can find a place. Now, I only have to “pretend” to accidentally order a homemade ice-cream maker….



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/09/27/the-accidental-fruit-dryer/

Sort:  

hhaha! howdy sir bengy! this is a great idea, I think you made a wonderful investment and I love this line " and factory line inefficiencies" lol. very good.

Ha ha, Yes.... I wasn't sure how else to put it! We are going to have fun trying out different things to dry. Someone already suggested making beef jerky!

sir bengy! hey I vote for beef jerky, I love that stuff and you could come up with so many flavors I bet.

I love it too... But no one else in the family does. Plus, I should stick to fruit before I try to make something that might poison me!

I used to have a dehydrator. I bought it mostly to make jerky and I used to use it all the time. I got rid of it a long time ago in a rummage sale though I think. Very cool that you are doing this sort of thing at home. It's so much cheaper to do it yourself!

It is much cheaper. Dried fruit is really expensive, and the bought stuff seems to taste different as well... I will try jerky in the future, although I'm a bit more wary of poisoning myself...

Jerky is easy, but you need to make sure you get the right seasoning that has the curing salt and stuff in it. If you don't get that right then yeah you can pick up some nasty stuff!

Ha ha, there you go! I need to read up on it! I would have just put raw meat in there and hoped for the best!

This is the company I used to buy seasonings from. www.himtnjerky.com. I didn't hyper link it so you can Google them yourself. Depending on where you live, you may not be able to get them shipped to you though.

Thanks, it will at least give me a hint as to what I will need!

Lucky you. But it's an idea - if I want something, I put it in my shopping basket by accident, lol

Ha ha... But it really was an accident! My wife doesn't believe me... So I guess it will be some time before I can use this excuse again!

A dehydrator has been on my "low priority" things to buy list for years! I used to eat a lot of raw food, and a friend of mine who has been 100 percent raw for years, invited me and some others round to his home for dinner. The menu included dehydrated cauliflower florets, which sounds awful, but with a dipping sauce made from something like tahini and paprika, they were delicious! So... you could try experimenting with raw veggies.

Raw veggies sound good, I've started experimenting with carrots, but I need to do the cutting better... They really shrink alot after losing their water!

Now, I only have to “pretend” to accidentally order a homemade ice-cream maker….

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA too funny

and great post!!! I always wanted one of those too but with your kids and the age they are this is a perfect time to get one!!

Get one? An ice cream machine you mean? That's definitely the way I'm going to understand it!

That kce cream maker part 😅
Thia is a cool thing.
Thanks for sharing!

Cheers & more power!

Ha ha... I'm only half joking!

Yay! I'm so glad you (accidentally) bought a dehydrator! I was the one you spoke to about it. I love mine...so cute you had helpers cutting the fruit, I bet they loved being involved. I promise the sky is the limit with these things. Raisins take the longest...apples not nearly as long. You can also make fruit rollups...then you'll really be a super hero!

Big thanks again for the inspiration!

Fruit roll ups, that is a nice idea as well! I will have to find a recipe for that, someone already suggested jerky... But I might want to get fruit sorted before I start on things that might poison me if I do it badly!

Nuts!~ Too late to upvote but I have to comment anyway!
First of all, I LOVE your upgoats!!! ♥

I am now an accidental dehydrator too! I have been wanting one for years and yesterday while shopping, I found one on clearance, usually $40, and on sale for $19! I got it and dried some apples yesterday. Im super excited!

No problem! The upgoats are courtesy of @ryivhnn!

I had no idea that these things existed until recently, and then I was all interested in getting one! Try grapes, they worked pretty nicely as well (halved!). Veggies I haven't figured out yet... I would love to try apricots or mangos soon....

Im super excited, haha! So far I have tried bananas, apples, and grapes, with success!~
I may try some veggies today. Very curious to see how those come out.

Bananas!i hasn't thought of that! I was going to try mangos, but I can think of how to slice them..

Haha! I bet my kids would love that, but I dont really like mangoes.
What I really want to try is dehydrating meat for treats for the dog and the cats. Havent made it that far though. :)

I want to try that in the future as well... although no one else in the house is particularly keen on it. One of the other commenters left a website about where to find the curing salts.

Ah cool, thanks, Ill check it out~!

I've got the same little dehydrator, its brilliant. Dried apples and banana are always a family favourite. Be sure to treat yourself to some homemade jerky!

Thanks for the idea, I had no idea that you could also do jerky in this! I love jerky, not sure if the kids do though, I guess you spice it somehow...

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.800 which ranks you at #4412 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 726 contributions, your post is ranked at #391.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50