Native European Gods Returning to Native Europeans

in #europe6 years ago (edited)

Picturesque German harbors, with medieval churches, ancient cobblestone streets, surrounded by luscious farmlands and mature forests, this is what you will find here in the great North nestled between the Baltic Sea and the North Sea.

42EA007C-001B-4384-A7DB-A65B00123F3D.jpeg

But just underneath the surface of mainstream tourist attractions and an overbearing presence of the state-supported Christian church, you will find something far older.

This area of Germany was actually a part of Denmark up until the 1860s and evidence of Scandinavian culture is still very present here today. There are danish speaking schools, radio stations, and signs written in Danish. But, there are also many signs of the old gods of Europe.

The pagan gods have managed to survive in the shadows for the past 1,000 years, but with the advent of technology, Europeans are now, once again, uncovering their true roots. They are beginning to remember who they were. A great people, strong, proud, and not subordinate to middle eastern laws of Abrahamic religions.

In the ancient Viking city of Schleswig, Germany, new monuments to old gods are being constructed, maybe as a natural European response to yet another invading religion, complacent after centuries of the Christian influence.

The introduction of another outside religion, Islam, seems to be awakening the true gods of the Europeans. Perhaps seeing the middle eastern religion of Islam in the raw, straight from the source, has many questioning their own religion's roots and what it has to do with them.

For me, after spending a year in the Middle East, I knew that the religions of the Abrahamic gods had no place in my life. I knew it was time to return to my ancestors' traditions.

Here is a beautiful example of a new totem built near the state capital building.

1A0E15E3-F0E3-4CE5-A6D2-F183B1EFA5F2.jpeg

text10.png

EA0D7724-77D8-46BD-9D87-6715BC3C09B7.jpeg

text10.png

8B424ADF-F5A6-4C2D-96DA-BC8C02D684E3.jpeg

text10.png

63CA6F00-B625-4C01-BE83-A1F3F51290AC.jpeg

SB_new.png

Sort:  

That is a fantastic totem! What beautiful carvings! Love it!
Thanks for sharing with #steemitbloggers 💚

I really think so too. Thank you!

Very insightful @balticbadger. As a devoted Christian in South Africa, I have heard Europe described as post-Christian. We live in interesting times and I enjoy that Steemit and #steemitbloggers give me the opportunity to see through your eyes. Thank you.

I think the post-Christian you are referring to is communism lol. I just hope people can get along. From what I have seen about South Africa is that it's getting controversial down there
I hope you remain safe and healthy! Thanks for stopping by :) @steemitbloggers is an amazing source of wonderful bloggers so happy to be a part of it.

very nice post, glad i stopped by it needed some love !!

all these comments but only 39 cents, deserves way more.

Thanks for the love! Much appreciated. It is so awesome getting so much feedback, steemit is alive and well :) have a great day!

@balticbadger yes very much alive and being in a supportive group helps a lot.

Best group ever!!!

@balticbadger well, i'm not there anymore soooo ahahahahah
i left of my own free will. too many other obligations and they wanted too much from me as far as upvoting everyone in the group, plus adding more people in. not enough of an upvote for all that jazz imo. but thats just me, have a great time!

It's fascinating to me to see how much of the old religions survive to this day without the conscious knowledge of the masses. The symbolism is everywhere - it's in all our holidays, our rituals, and celebrations, our money, our names. I'd love to be able immerse myself in knowledge of the old lore for a couple years. I'm sure I'd see even more of it after that experience.

I'd like to hear you elaborate on the reawakening of the "true gods of the Europeans." That's an interesting thought and reminds me a great deal of the book "American Gods" by Neil Gaimon. If you haven't read it, I definitely recommend it.

So appreciate your comment as always 🤘😃 I have a lot to say about it but I'm so tired I can't type anymore. I'm going to bed then I promise I will get back to you tomorrow. Thanks again for your comment. Good night!

Oh yeah, it's already late in your part of the world. :-) Sleep well!

Thats pretty cool. I never visited there during my time in Germany . Looks different.

Thanks, @blanchy, yup it different in the north that's for sure

Lovely insight @balticbadger 👍 and i appreciate your decision of getting back to old ancestors tradition ....much apreciable this means you still belongs to your root.
Lovely totem....Eagle on top of engraved tomb...lovely share dear 👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much, I think it's important to honor your ancestors. That is a really cool eagle

More importantly sticking out to root. Where we have our cultutre and tradition belongs.

Posted using Partiko Android

I enjoyed reading this post from the very first word. I hope you elaborate on the following in future posts too:

The introduction of another outside religion, Islam, seems to be awakening the true gods of the Europeans. Perhaps seeing the middle eastern religion of Islam in the raw, straight from the source, has many questioning their own religion's roots and what it has to do with them.

Loved the detail on the totem. :)

Thanks again, @linnyplant! I will definitely do another post about this in the future!

Sorry if this offended you in any way, it's not against Islam or Christianity only about Europeans returning to their roots of paganism. We have a saying that it's best to drink from your own well. Each individual culture can relate to their own native traditions as well as embrace new ones. I want people to choose this for themselves not because the state sponsers a church or the media tells you to follow one thing or another. Thanks again for your nice comments.

Oh, not offended at all. I thought your post very thoughtful and interesting. :)

Thank you! Glad to hear it :)

Interesting how modern Christians adopted old pagan tradition. Even the christmas as holiday.

Keept what they liked and what they didn't is a one way ticket to hell

I agree with you. I think the same situations happens in US. I think people here started to question their own religious roots. And I am happy that this is happening. BTW, the totem is amazing!

That's so cool to hear and I agree as well. I think most people don't even realize they have the option to return to their native religion. But once thgey do the flood gates open. Thanks for stopping by!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63774.40
ETH 3406.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59