Technology.......from a By-Gone Era.

in #esteem5 years ago

Technology.......from a By-Gone Era.

Let me take you back a few decades to show you the machinery and technology which enabled people to communicate in various ways with one another and receive the latest information. Families and individuals tuned in daily to receive, news bulletins, a series of stories, weather reports etc via radios of all shapes and sizes.

au4zx7zgug.jpg

I entered into the Wireless Shack which is situated at The Caboolture Historical Village, on 280 Beerburrum Road, in Queensland. This fascinating village consists of 4 hectares (about 12 acres) of land not far from the Caboolture town centre and has many historical displays available for the public to view. The popularity of this village makes it one of the top tourist destinations in the region.

373pwsit0i.jpg

Not only did they have an impressive collection of old radios, their grammar phones and record players were very interesting also.

eedr9cmfbf.jpg

This particular Grammar phone is a Tasma Wave Master, Circa 1955. It was designed and manufactured by "Tasma" (Thom and Smith Ltd) Mascot, New South Wales, Australia 1929-1951. The original sale price was $38.00 which was more than a weeks wage back then as the average weekly wage was around $31.00.

uqq3x6qqda.jpg

85mpfphtfb.jpg

Check out this 'stylish' cabinet with the built in radio and stereo unit. Very retro!

f08209zl3q.jpg

This HiFidelity model grammar phone has seen better days but I'm sure it gave hour upon hour of musical pleasure to its listeners inn its prime.

5u1slkx1np.jpg

vycfblb47n.jpg

The next few images reveal some classic old typewriters.

72ojrmfszf.jpg

This is an Imperial Round Keyboard.

z6tobxq19a.jpg

And here is a Mignon 'Indicator' Typewriter.

q2lbo74ggd.jpg

A Remington 'Noiseless' Typewriter.

tilwp3aelv.jpg

fhgmdm50c0.jpg

A colourful poster advertising the Olivetti brand of Typewriter.

dcf7oenyk8.jpg

And what do we have here? The equipment used to deliver Morse Code messages. Morse code is essentially a sound language so the only way to learn it, is by sound.

Further information supplied reads:

It follows, therefore, that the "opposites" method and others of a similar type ate not the best. By their use, the student learns to "see" Morse symbols as they are heard and pictures so many dots and dashes on paper, instead of relying on rhythmical sound of each symbol.

He is then faced with the necessity of converting his usual picture into a sound picture, before he can achieve any real speed. The logical thing therefore, is to concentrate on the sound right from the start.

uve6pwa4m3.jpg

tqe906tkcu.jpg

If you'd like to check out my other two posts "From a By-Gone Era," Click Here:The Butcher Shop
The Police Force

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

Posted using eSteem Surfer

09nl4xkzj2.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wow! Beautiful antiques! These are in real wood!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They are wonderful antiques aren't they @kaminchan? Some of those timber pieces would come up really beautiful after a polish or two. They don't make them like that anymore.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks very much @esteemapp 💐

I have such a love for these audio antiques, and really antiques in general. I frequent the thrift stores on hunts for treasures. I know some special little places to go for my hunts. You've given me an idea, and I might see if I can take some photographs of things in the shops. I always make sure to get permission, so we'll see what happens.

Thank you for sharing these beautiful pieces which spark a feeling of nostalgia with so many of us. I hope you're having a wonderful and relaxing weekend 💐😊

Hello @futuremind Thank you very much for visiting and browsing this blog. I love coming across places like this especially of they have historic value. We never know what we are going to find when we take the time to seek out hidden treasure. I'm sure most store owners will not mind you taking photos if you get their permission. That is my experience anyway.

I'm getting over bronchitis so I'm house bound at the moment but once my health returns I'll be out and about again with my camera. 😊

Oh no, bronchitis is never fun :( I'm happy you say you are getting over it though, you are very health conscious so I'm sure there is nothing you cannot handle. Rest well and I will talk with you again soon @trudeehunter!

Awwww, thank you my friend. I'm not used to being inactive so I've been doing all I can to recover. Lots of homemade soups, herbal remedies and colloidal silver steam inhalations. I'll be dancing barefoot on the beach again real soon. 💃

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Please enjoy some cake this weekend. We love your beautiful contributions to the Steem Blockchain. Great job Trudeehunter!
Manually curated by @futuremind.

Ooooh yum! This is a lovely surprise @helpicake and @futuremind. Thank you very much for this wonderful treat. You're awesome!

Wow..look like once upon a time..never seen them before except in movie maybe

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for dropping by @vangie I really appreciate your support.

Wow...it's just amazing to look back at these antiques it only seems like yesterday and i still feel them around me i remember that Stylish cabinet with the built in radio and stereo unit that my mum had we really got some enjoyment from that unit. We wish sometimes we had kept some of these items they just look some much nicer then today's technology. Thanks for bringing some great memories back to me :)

Yes, some of these antiques do bring back a lot of memories and if you think about it, it wasn't too many decades ago that we were being entertained by these things.The world is certainly moving at a faster pace now.

You are certainly right it doesn't seem so long ago so that makes me feel better i don't feel so old now it makes us feel younger...lol :)

Nice photos!

Seeing those typewriters brings back memories...

Thanks for your comments, when you see those old type writers and compare them to the technology we use now days, what will fifty years from now look like.

Howdy Trudee! wow, I had no idea that the Morse Code was so complex! dang. And that Mignon 'Indicator' Typewriter, I've never seen anything like that! It looks like it has an electronic keyboard. I remember when the electric typewriters came out we were so amazed! lol.
I love those old classic looking radios in the nice cabinets though. This is a great post!

Thanks John, glad you like it.

Many thanks for dropping by my friend. Sorry for the late reply......have been trying to get over bronchitis. I'm on the mend now though PTL! Must have affected my brain too........as see I have already replied. Oh well, that may make up for the times I have missed. I know you will forgive me. 😁

lol! of course I forgive you Trudee! I'm just glad you are feeling better. Having something like that definitely affects your mental functions too, or at least it does mine!

Thanks for sharing the antiques, Trudee. Morse code looks difficult to learn.

My pleasure Jo. Yes, morse code does look difficult. It was an ingenious invention wasn't it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46