Petoskey Stone

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

This post came about in a roundabout way because of a conversation that I had yesterday with @janton on his post about Wild Bill Hickok going prospecting for gold in the Black Hills. I mentioned a more recent gold find in the Black Hills that I had heard about and that led to prospecting and that led to rocks and my love of rocks.

And as @janton is so good at doing, I found myself telling him about my search for Petoskey stones on the beach in Michigan.

image

image

Petoskey stones are fossilized coral that are 350 million years old. They are found throughout the Midwest where glaciers have carried them, but one of the easiest spots to find Petoskey stones is on the Lake Michigan beach in downtown Petoskey, especially early in the year just after the snow melts or after a big storm.

image

Petoskey stones are readily available for sale in many of the rock shops around the area but it was quite a thrill for me to be able to find my own on the beach. I used a grinding wheel to polish up one of them and even though they are not the finest specimens, they are some of my treasures!

image

image

All three of my stones are roughly fist sized or larger, but I have seen boulders on the lawns of rock shops that must weigh 300 pounds. It is Michigan's official state stone



Posted with eSteem

Watch for the next theme announcement tomorrow! ( be on the lookout for clothing shadows!)

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

</center

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

haha! howdy there melinda010100! thanks for the mention and these things are still fascinating to me. I did a quick search online for them and they come in such an amazing variety of patterns and colors! So this is a great post, I bet few people have heard of these.

The best part about Steem for me is learning new things! I love seeing photos and interesting posts about things that I've never seen or heard of before!

howdy there this fine Thursday melinda010100! how are you today and what's going on in your life? Anything besides steemit? lol.

I spent some time in the kitchen this morning and made a big pan of vegetarian Shepherds Pie to use up some of the veggies I had on hand. I belong to a CSA farm that is just down the road and every two weeks I get a big box of organic locally grown vegetables. They are simply delicious and I hate not being able to use something and have it go to waste, so I try to make an effort to either get it put in the freezer or use it while it's still fresh.

And I just realized that I violunteered to host our family cousins luncheon on Monday and there's a few things I probably should do to get the house in order to have company!

How about you? What's up in TX today?

howdy there melinda010100! oh wow... a vegetarian Shepard's Pie..I didn't know there was such a thing. Does it have any protein?

Nothing much going on here today. Mrs. J just found out that her background check went through. No surprise there, most Realtors are not criminals or they'd never get through the process! lol.

And I'm just hammering away at comments with steemit, got my post out a little bit ago and getting ready to take Jack out to play frisbee! lol.

Even though I often wish I was, I'm not vegetarian. I just happen to like this recipe. And there's plenty of cheese in it, after all I am in Wisconsin!

Congrats to your wife in getting one step closer!

Are you finding that you have had to cut back at all on making comments? Or do you have enough RC to do what you want to do. I've been kind of worried about you.

Have fun playing frisbee! I hope it has cooled off a little. It was only in the upper 50s here today. Kind of refreshing.

upper 50s...that would feel way cold to me now but I'd take it because I like to bundle up. Don't know why but I do. So the winters up there are long and darn cold aren't they?
Are you a Packers fan by any chance?

Oh my rc, yeah I think 2 nights ago when we were talking alot I was about to run out so we had a little bit of bitcoin in a wallet so I took a little and bought steem then leased some sp to get my rc up or else I'd be dead in the water. but thanks for asking. this new system sure requires a lot.

so you WANT to be a vegetarian or just sometimes?

I am so glad that you've got the RC situation a little more settled for now. I had been worrying about you. I do have way more than I need and would be happy to send you some as soon as they allow that, if they ever do.

Yeah. Winters are cold. And if this precipitation pattern continues we are going to be up to our eyeballs in snow.

You can't live in Wisconsin and not be a Packer fan! When you go to the grocery store every single clerk has on a packer jersey on Sundays and the streets literally roll up during a Packer game. no one moves!

I order my groceries online through an app that the grocery store has. And then my daughter swings through and picks them up. They load them in her car and all she has to do is drive them out here so it makes it easy. But that store has really crappy meat. So sometimes I think it would be better to just do without it! I won't though. I love a good steak when I csn get one!

Wow, very unique stones. I have not seen it before.

Oh my goodness @melinda010100 those are some
really cool stones!! Love your awesome fossils!! ❤

I thought of you when I decided to take these photos and do a post. I need someone who can tell me how to take better rock photos!

Love your coral fossil rocks.

I never heard of them. What wonderful treasures !

I've always loved rocks of different kinds. I love to look at them closely and feel them in my hands. My Mom said when I was in school I was pretty unimpressed with most of the happenings there, but just let a teacher tell us to bring in as many kinds of rocks, dirt, leaves or the such and I was off on an adventure, hunting and cleaning and..... well... you know, all that stuff.

I don't know why. It seems I was born that way.

There is lots of quartz in our area and at any given time, I could come home with a few small pieces for my garden or kitchen window sill. It's not so special as a fossil rock, but when I see a pretty one in my path, I am compelled to pick it up.

Quartz.jpg

I think we may be twins.
My grandmother's windowsills were full of rocks that I brought her that I picked up on my way walking home from school! I would arrive at her house and show her all my treasures that I had found along the way and give them to her as a gift! She always accepted them so graciously and acted as if she loved them as much as I did.

All we have around here is limestone and when we used to travel Jim would always tease me that he was going to have to get a bigger vehicle to haul home my rocks.

Maybe we are !

It gave me a big grin to read that your grandmother's windowsills were full of rocks that you brought her. Grandmother's are good like that, aren't they ? I sure miss mine.

I bet not many people have rocks as souvenirs for their travels. 😄

That's very interesting @melinda010100, I'd never heard of them before.
Upvoted and resteemed

Really interesting @melinda010100 The polished one looks amazing

Those are some nice finds! Thank you for sharing them. I love to hunt for rocks too. On our way back home from the Upper Peninsula a couple of weeks ago we stopped in Petoskey. I talked my husband into going to the beach for a little while to look for some Petoskey stones. I found a few and hope to post some pictures soon.

Be sure and tag me or stop by and tell me when you post them because I would love to see them!

I will do that.
I posted a picture of Yooperlite a few days ago. I went hunting for it with my son when we were up in Marquette. Have you ever seen any of those? That one was new for me. Lots of fun!

That is a new one to me, too! Great name for it.

I like the name too! :)

I love stones too. Those are lovely and to be the state rock way cool.

Thanks! You have been quiet. Hope all is well!

Lots going on..getting better now. Thanks for asking or hoping.
I took a break and now i think I will post less have so many accounts. lol

Yeah.... I couldn't begin to do more than one! I've always wondered how you managed. I have enough trouble keeping up with just this one!

You are so active and interactive with contests, etc. It is not easy since I slowed down a bit. Now I plan to use some of my same content in Weku.. I just need to get it done.

They are really beautiful stones love to have a couple of them !!

If I ever go back to that side of the lake I will look for one just for you!

Awwwww....that is so sweet of you thank you :))))

Interesting shadow contest this week i will be running into people's backyards for this one :)))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46