You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Petoskey Stone

in #esteem6 years ago

Love your coral fossil rocks.

I never heard of them. What wonderful treasures !

I've always loved rocks of different kinds. I love to look at them closely and feel them in my hands. My Mom said when I was in school I was pretty unimpressed with most of the happenings there, but just let a teacher tell us to bring in as many kinds of rocks, dirt, leaves or the such and I was off on an adventure, hunting and cleaning and..... well... you know, all that stuff.

I don't know why. It seems I was born that way.

There is lots of quartz in our area and at any given time, I could come home with a few small pieces for my garden or kitchen window sill. It's not so special as a fossil rock, but when I see a pretty one in my path, I am compelled to pick it up.

Quartz.jpg

Sort:  

I think we may be twins.
My grandmother's windowsills were full of rocks that I brought her that I picked up on my way walking home from school! I would arrive at her house and show her all my treasures that I had found along the way and give them to her as a gift! She always accepted them so graciously and acted as if she loved them as much as I did.

All we have around here is limestone and when we used to travel Jim would always tease me that he was going to have to get a bigger vehicle to haul home my rocks.

Maybe we are !

It gave me a big grin to read that your grandmother's windowsills were full of rocks that you brought her. Grandmother's are good like that, aren't they ? I sure miss mine.

I bet not many people have rocks as souvenirs for their travels. 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45