Sort:  

Every way of gamification will be beneficial - some people will ignor it, but for someone it'l become a major motivator. Great idea

As of me, I'm thinking about user-made-games on Steem. Something like Mafia or AD&D but with the steem and upvotes )

Mafia, where the winners get money, and the losers lose?

Maybe. Maybe something more complicated... we will see

You can always privately give Steem and just note that it is for "satisfaction and acknowledgment on a post"....But I like the thinking.

Good information! Thank you~

The whole idea is great, but the list of achievements should be chosen wisely, for example I would not put reblogs and comments in the achievement list, because they can be easily abused, and should these achievement be reached by eSteem ? and if yes, how are you going to manage some of them like followers section?

Yes, I have few thoughts and list of achievements, but you are right they should be properly planned out to prevent abuse. Also some achievements won't be limited only to eSteem usage, because for some features there is no way to know which client user have used.

I think this is a great idea... and like you said it has sort of already naturally developed. I myself am guilty of multiple #milestone posts celebrating followers, number of posts, etc. If we built this into the platform, I think it would be a great incentive and also a goal for new people to set their eyes on.

HOWEVER: Lately, I have seen a lot of people just go crazy about getting followers. There is one person I follow that got to 1000 followers in less than a month. Yet, his posts still hardly get any feedback and his content is not necessarily worthy of the crazy number of followers he has. I think for some people, the incentive to get 1000's of followers is greater than the incentive to really build a meaningful Steemian community. I have been on Steemit for 4 months and only have 220 followers even though I am very active... yet by the standards of some people today I would seem like a super small minnow because it took me so long to get those 200 followers. IMHO there is a disconnect between number of meaningful followers and number of total followers, so gamifying this aspect of the platform may be detrimental to some.

Just my opinion though. Cheers and keep up the good work man!

You are right, everyone has their niche and trying to find it. It takes a lot more research and work until these gamifications are bulletproof but we will get there... ;)

Hey @good-karma!

Gamification is one of those things that when done right, is an amazing value-add to any business/initiative. When done wrong, gamification can fall flat and be a complete miss.

The attention should really be focused on what creates the most FOMO (Fear of Missing Out) to the user. For example, in the airline industry with frequent flier miles, when you hit the next level,4 you gain additional incentives that that others in lower status do not. They make the rewards good enough that you want to hit the next level, but not exclusive enough that individuals that are not at that status are completely exclusive. It's one of those, it's awesome to be a part of the club, but your life isn't over if you aren't. Starbucks has a similar gamification structure as well.

The model of making it more of a club than it is a specific reward has always been more enticing to me, personally. Usually when you earn that reward, it's satisfying for the moment, then there's nothing else to do after...the goal is to keep the user engaged for the long term.

Anyway, I hope this helps...good luck in the process!!!

-Kevin

Thank you Kevin! I completely agree, haven't looked at it as a club, but it does help user to feel special...

Hi Feruz great idea! I think rewards would be a good incentive and could increase usage of the app! I'm a Stack Overflow user as well, and getting those badges definitely motivated me to use the site more and explore its functions.

Indeed, me too... I remember early days when I used to strive towards unlocking badges one after another even though they wouldn't have any monetary incentive. It works even without delegation, but delegation can be viewed as a bonus with deadline... Thanks for comment! ;)

Nice! You're welcome! Please see my other comments as well :)

Ok now I think I have good idea to contribute. Steemit blog ad promoting doesn't work. You should start eSteem Promote that will benefit all and should into gamification rewards. Here is brief post I made which short and clear. I don't need upvote, I truly believe on this idea.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@deserttree/steemit-must-fix-blog-promoting-feature

Gamification is surely a great idea!

I am a fan of your post exploring about how Gamification, Achievements, Trophies, Badges in eSteem. I judge the solution of grafimasi is very important, before I want to say thanks. Because the only application that really helps the user is esteem.
Overall the esteem application has worked very well. But there are still some obstacles that I found in the esteem app, first; In my smartphone the app still feels heavy, slow loading and sometimes sometimes I have to turn off my smartphone.
I would expect a little improvement or addition of features or facilities on the esteem application. I expect the esteem application to work like steemit.com. At steemit.com we can make a post using "markdown".

And in the esteem application it does not exist yet. And sometimes I find images uploaded via invalid esteem. This is what makes me sometimes forced to post by using steemit.com.
If I find an application design that can support and improve the work of esteem, I will let you know, dear @ good-karma. If there is a problem about the apps esteem, i will also let you know.
For the moment I judge that steem is very good and very helpful to us. I tunnggu the next version. Thanks very much, dear @ good-kama and @feruz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69