Get More Nutrition – Fiber

in #esteem6 years ago

zfwyyw5g4a.jpg

Yes, fiber makes you poop, and that’s why you need some.

Most of us do not get enough fiber in our diets.

Based on a NHANES 2009-2010 survey of dietary intake, U.S. adults averaged only 16 grams of fiber intake per day.

That number is probably high since it is old.

How much fiber do you need?

The recommended level is 25 grams each day. This fiber level should be considered as a minimal versus optimal level.

Here is a graphic of the essential nutrients from a site I love called World’s Healthiest Foods.

essential nutrients.PNG

Fiber is one of the nutrients listed, and here is what World’s Healthiest Foods says about it.

Our Healthiest Way of Eating Plan averages 52 grams of daily fiber, and we feel confident in the potential health benefits associated with that amount, even though it is double the Daily Value

Here is their page filled with all the fiber info you have ever wanted!
http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=nutrient&dbid=59

But honestly? I just want you to start eating some.

Why do you need all this fiber?

Fiber helps the food you eat move through your body at a timely rate and keeps your systems in better shape. If you food is sitting in your stomach and intestines for longer than it should, all kinds of issues can come up.

If you are a man with a big hard gut sticking out - it will reduce for sure by eating more fiber. This has happened to every male weight loss client I have worked with when they start getting a higher intake of fiber. The result can be very dramatic.

The easiest thing to do is start including high fiber foods in your daily diet. You cannot take the leap from little fiber to high fiber. Just start adding some of these food daily and work on it over time.

I do not recommend getting a bunch of "fiber added" foods. These are processed and chemical filled for the most part. Let's just eat some healthy food instead.

Here are a few posters to look at from various sources listing high fiber foods you can try.

newhealthadvisor.com gives a simple group of ideas.

4t76zv9zst.png

newfitsaurus.com has some of the same as above and others.

44y9rb5la9.png

fitbodybuzz.com gives you a nice list to take to the store.

bld9r28z54.png

And here are some of my thoughts on just a few of these foods to get you thinking

Apples

I already blogged about apples and how they are one of the most pesticide laden foods we have now. You can review this list of the most to least sprayed foods.
https://www.ewg.org/foodnews/full-list.php

Get the organic for the foods high on the list, and skip them if you cannot find a good source. Farmer’s markets and health food stores are a good bet for “cleaner” foods.

Bananas

Bananas, like apples, are very easy to add to your diet. They are everywhere and cheap in SE Asia.

When I was in the states I did not eat organic until I cleaned up my diet. Then the regular bananas started to smell like chemicals and I made the switch.

Brown Rice

Brown rice is better than white in many ways. Wash it first. Rinse it a few times. This is a food high in arsenic if you do not take this step (sigh).

Buckwheat Groats

This is the kind of thing I do not recommend unless you already know all about them. Let’s keep this simple and not try to learning a bunch of new skills right now.

Brazil Nuts

Brazil nuts are a great source of sleinuim, another essential nutrient that is hard to find. 4-6 of these a day is enough.

Bonus Foods!

These last three were also on the list I recently gave you about foods to reduce cholesterol. So these are great choices to help with two issues at the same time.

Chia Seeds

As I said in the last post – add some Chia Seeds to a water bottle you keep in the fridge and drink from a few times a day. Don’t go overboard!

Avocados

These are so easy to eat in many preparations and are not expensive in season.

Beans (many)

These are so easy to eat out of the can and so cheap in bulk. Go organic for little difference in price.

= =
So there you have it. A lot of healthy ways to get more fiber in your diet. Do you think you can try some of these and do you feel like they will help you on your journey to better health?

Thank you so much for reading my post today. Please leave me your comments about this series on nutrition. I want to hear from you!

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

It is that time of year when the fitness equipment is out and the diet books are being read. I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods, and you can too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

This post has been found valuable and upvoted by El surtidor


This post got an extra 5 power for following us

Follow @elsurtidor to get biggest votes in your next posts

All I will say is aI must be getting a good ratio of Fibre with my new diet :)

HaHaHa!

I have seen this many times! I guess you must understand my warnings then :) My first few weight loss clients that I lived with and a cooked for paid the price of my eagerness to help them. This how I learned to go slow. Hang in there - this too shall pass (lol) and you will be so much better for it.

OHh I am not complaining i think I have just the right balance almost could say I am a regular as clockwork inthat regard

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 174 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @fitinfunfood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42