Freewrite Day 441 List

in #esteem5 years ago

I'm using @fitinfunfood for this freewrite for the prompt "list" today since it ties in with what I am already doing.

This post is inspired by my friend Ren at @xcountytravelers. She has had a health scare that relates to having high cholesterol levels. But this post is only inspired by Ren and not directed at her. This is for anyone and everyone who is working toward a healthier life.

Here is a poster I found with foods that are supposed to help reduce cholesterol.

7dtxerc9wp.png

I found this nice poster at Deviant Art. It was produced by Shanaya Khanna over there.

These 8 suggested foods are also found on many other lists of healthy food for various conditions.

  • Vegetables Especially Greens
  • Chia Seeds
  • Flax Seeds
  • Beans
  • Avocados
  • Salmon
  • Turmeric
  • Green Tea

Here are my thoughts and ideas about each one.

Vegetables Especially Greens

The normal salad greens are here. This also includes herbs such as cilantro and dill. I buy them, chop or cut them, and then freeze. Then I can throw a handful onto or into anything. A few flakes of greens in your food never killed anyone.

Chia Seeds

I love chia seeds and they are very high in fiber, so watch out.

5ouro13ac4.jpg

The best way I know to use chia seeds is to add some to a water bottle and keep that in the fridge. Then shake the bottle and drink a swig of it once or twice a day. One bottle goes for 3-4 days for me. Then I wash out the bottle and start again.

This way you are getting a few chia seeds and some water at the same time. This is a nice painless way to get them and do your body some good.

Flax Seeds

Flax seeds are not my favorite thing. They are not shelf stable and tend to mold. If you use them - soak them first so they are not little pieces of grit in where ever you put them.

Beans

The easiest way to get beans is in cans. The cheapest way is dried in bulk. I don't eat many beans and end up freezing them in small portions to add to soup.

Avocados

If avocados are cheap and in season, I will eat them until I am sick. I can't find them at all in SE Asia unless they are small and expensive so I do not eat them now. I can give you hundreds of recipes, but the best way to eat them is out of the rind like a wild animal.

Salmon

Salmon is a fatty fish. So is trout. So are sardines. Try to eat fish once a week at least and I'm not talking about popcorn shrimp from the fast food place.

Turmeric

Turmeric is one of the miracle foods for many conditions. When I tell people in SE Asia that Americans barely use turmeric, they cannot believe it. This is a staple in most of the cultures here.

One of my flatmates is an Indian guy who is very passionate about food and cooks up a delicious storm a few times a week. I'm always watching him grind spices and create fragrant meals. If I stand around long enough, he takes pity on me and I get to sample something yummy, or sometimes get a huge bowl of it.

He was shocked to know that most Americans rarely eat Indian food in a normal course of events. When I told him American food does not have turmeric in it, he was dumbfounded. "How do they get their turmeric?" When I told him they do not get it at all, he said, "That's so sad."

I use turmeric daily in powdered form or root. It helps my inflammation from Rheumatoid Arthritis. If I do not eat turmeric for a few days, I notice it as my pain increases. I add turmeric to at least two hot drinks a day and eat it on most of my food now.

Green Tea

Blech! I do not know how people can enjoy green tea. It tastes awful to me. I choke a cup of green tea down a few times a week and consider it to be medicine.

= =
This is just a quick overview of highlights for this freewrite, but really, what more do you need to know? Do you need to know the exact nutritional breakdown of each food in order to start using it?

If you are trying to eat a healthier diet, any of these foods has a place in it. You do not need to wait until everything is perfect, and the stars align, and you have done your research, and seen a doctor, and checked online, and asked your friends. You can just start now - today - from where you are, with what you have, and create your healthier life.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

It is that time of year when the fitness equipment is out and the diet books are being read. I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods, and you can too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I don't drink green tea - but have used it to make Kombucha. I do eat pretty much all the other foods - even though fish is up and down. With the pollution of the oceans, the fish is polluted as well. and the farmed Salmon is not that great...

Eventually, I will do Aquaponics.

I'm with you on the fish issues. I eat small ones for the most part. Supposedly the bigger ones are more poisonous. What to do, what to do!

Thank you for stopping by. I'm getting my feet wet with this account and not sure of my path.

Seems like sharing health foods or even keeping a food diary is a great plan.

Keep steeming!

I have some info about food diaries. I will post that for sure. Thanks for giving me that thought.

I'm mostly going to post specific foods by the "essential nutrients" and give lists. I find mentioning one food will lead people to think that the one food is what they have to eat. In truth, there are many alternatives :)

Great to see you branching your expertise in another account! Keep it up and we are following now 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for the good wishes and the follow. I hope your new setting is treating you right. I have been so busy (and sick) that I have not been visiting like I normally do around here.

Am going to talk more about the name, many people are having multiple accounts these day, I also do. But do you think it's very healthy to do such?. Even though you're making good use of it? Well.

Voila 🤗 it's your weekend prompt delivery software here. Thanks for joining us here and you're highly welcomed.

For Single Prompt.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-5-2019-single-prompt-option

...
...
...
If you want to go pro, you start here.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-5-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
...
...
Do have a nice weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Honestly, I am not sure. But I do know people want to know about food and I cannot do it on my own blog. The topic is too big and one or two posts a week is not enough. I have only been at it a week and I am exhausted now!

Thanks you helping @freewrite, @botefarm. You are awesome :)

Nice list!

Thank you! Eat most of this a few times and week and life will improve :)

This is a good one.
Will look into getting these super seeds.
And incorporate these into my diet :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30