Business or Pleasure? My Entry for Blocktrades Road to STEEMFest Contest 6

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Road to STEEMfest Blocktrades Contest Entry 6 Business or Pleasure_ fitinfun.jpg

This week @anomadsoul wants to know why we are going to STEEMFest in Bangkok Thailand. Is our trip for business or pleasure?

First I will answer the questions @anomadsoul posed in his post:

Are you going to Bangkok because, like me, you expect to find a crypto babe wealthy as hell and win her heart?

No. I’m 60 years old, female, and not gay. I’m open to the idea of finding a “crypto man wealthy as hell” and winning his heart, but certainly not expecting it. My past performance in dating and relationships makes me not put this idea as a goal on any of my lists.

Do you want to attend STEEMFest 4 because you need funding for one of your projects?

My project is blogging on STEEM. The more rewards I get, the better. I support other projects, but do not create my own. Everything I do on STEEM is to help little people succeed.

Minnow Tips I post and promote can always use more financial and promotion help. Any new support I get for my work by attending STEEMFest will be a wonderful bonus.

10 Road to STEEMfest 1 grat Bangkok MRT Sutthisan Market in the Driving Rain dtubesnap+.jpg

Below are the projects I know about, care about, and think deserve (much) more support. If I get a chance to talk them up anywhere at STEEMFest, I will.

I will double down on this effort since a lot of people are trying to learn how to curate now who did not have to do it pre-fork. Hopefully some of those people will attend STEEMFest and I can tell them good places I know where they can cast their votes.

Undervalued posts:

  • @pifc Holds the weekly Pay it Forward Contests <<< Finds undervalued posts by nominations. Needs sponsors and votes.
  • @trufflepig <<< Finds 25 undervalued posts daily by an AI algorithm. Has a trail that is now growing. Good place to find people who are undervalued in general. Very easy to click through and look.
  • @qurator daily posts, weekly contests, and author spotlights <<< A large group of daily bloggers. Easy to find great posts.
  • @c-cubed daily posts <<< Manually curated and double checked top undervalued posts of the day. Huge effort by the admins on many fronts.
    @miti.blog <<< Daily Curation Project for Undervalued Deserving Content

Helping newcomers

  • @steevc and his @tenkminnows project <<< Helps get redfish to obtain over 500 SP and become minnows.
  • @heyhaveyamet posts <<< Finds and supports promising noobs who publish good intro posts. Hardest job ever in this nuthouse.
  • @steemterminal <<< Same people as @heyhaveyamet above. Helping redfish if they make it past the intro.
  • @abh12345 - Curation and Engagement League Participants <<< People who know how to curate

Niche Groups

  • @freewritehouse and @mariannewest <<< helping new authors learn to blog, and anyone find a way to post daily.
  • @steemitmamas <<< Moms on STEEM #womenincrypto is a “thing." Most crypto projects have 10% women. STEEM has 30%+ women blogging here. Manual curation and lots of support given to newcomers. All the other women’s groups I know of have failed.
  • @tasteem contests <<< International restaurant reviews of excellent quality – tough guidelines and a lot of support to help people when they start.

Photography

Travel and locations

  • @travelfeed <<< Awesome dApp and team for travel related posts. Great execution, HUGE Potential.
  • @socalsteemit <<< Southern California posts on the STEEM blockchain. Excellent curation and good to promote on other social media for star quality. Everyone wants to go to California.
  • @teammalaysia <<< Biggest country group on the STEEM blockchain. Has a trail and many using the tag.

My list is my list, and not complete. I add to it as I find things, and delete them if they die out.

I do not have anything on topics such as crypto, video, or games, since those are not my interests. But all have groups and trails as well.

I'm also pushing the @marlians tribe initiated by "Our Boy Terry" @surpassinggoogle. I myself am a Whale over there on one of my blogs, and a dolphin with the other two. This is new and developing and has a huge user base.

Do you want to go to Thailand so you can meet a whale who can get you out of anonymity?

I do not feel anonymous now. My STEEM friends are many, and a lot of the reason I love it here. I want to meet everyone who comes to STEEMFest regardless of their sp.

I already wrote about my goal to meet all Festival goers on @blocktrades Contest 2, linked at the end of this post.

50 Road to STEEMfest Blocktrades Contest Entry 6 Business or Pleasure Purple Sunday truck bangkok thailand fitinfun.jpg

I’m interested to know how whales get you out of anonymity though. I do not hang out in that elevated world and do not know who is a whale or not.

Are any of them coming to STEEMFest? I do look at the posts for the @blocktrades contests. As far as I can tell, no whales are posting here, so I do not know if any of them will be at the Fest.

I hope an attendees list will be published. That would help so we could connect and know who is coming before we get there.

Is this trip your opportunity to go to a new country and explore its touristic spots and get to know the local culture?

Thailand is not a new country for me. I lived there recently for two and a half years. I love the place and cannot wait to return. I lived in local neighborhoods and never went to any tourist spots. I feel like I know the local culture pretty well.

1 roadtosteemfest 1 grat 1 rts Recycling Bangkok thailand fitinfun.jpg

The STEEMFest venues will provide the my first glimpse into the tourist areas of the city.

  • Day One finds us at Scala Theatre in Siam / Pathum Wan. The Siam Mall area is about as top dollar as it gets in Bangkok. I have only seen it from the train. It looks lovely from afar and coffee will be 4X more than a local neighborhood price :)

  • Day Two is at Warehouse 30 near River City Mall. This is a former area of warehouses turned into a commercial real estate with boutique shops and art galleries. The word “boutique” tells me I will not be spending money there, and as a nomad, I do not buy art, but I will look. Once again, I will buy my coffee before I get there.

Going to places like malls and restored warehouses will be a first for me in any country, and I will be documenting the differences I see. I know I will need to watch my possessions closely and expect prices for everything to be high.

There is no crime in poor neighborhoods where I tend to live. Those who are "on the make" to go to the rich places to rip off the tourists. They need to stay honest on their home turf.

20 Road to STEEMfest Blocktrades Contest Entry 61 grat Bangkok Thailand 166 Bus Chaeng Wattana Immigration to Victory Monument snap.jpg

The only time I have done any visiting of wealthy areas was when I was a contractor for the US Navy. We would go to high-end places after meetings. But then I was surrounded by a bunch of big Navy guys, so I did not have to look out for myself.

Side Trip!

I will also be traveling to Chiang Mai Thailand the week after STEEMFest to help the @travelfeed group in their efforts to lure digital nomad travel bloggers to STEEM.

30 Road to STEEMfest Blocktrades Contest Entry 6 Business or Pleasure Bangkok Orange Taxi fitinfun.jpg

I am excited to go to that city I have not yet seen and hope our efforts give good results. Wherever we go to do this marketing feat in the city, holds what I will see while there.

Is jumping on a plane to this Steem massive meet up your chance to meet all those people you spend countless hours a week conversating and fooling around with in the different chat rooms?

You got me with this one, @anomadsoul!

I am never in chat rooms aside from dropping links, finding links, getting news and updates from various programs, or getting help when I need it for a dApp, post or contest.

I recently entered a contest by @whatsup that was “dreamed up in a chat room.” I had no idea until now that STEEMers fooling around in chat rooms is a thing.

This is a new one on me after two years STEEMing. One of my minnow tips is:

For every 10 words you type in a chat, type and publish 100 on STEEM.

I developed this tip after so many minnows/redfish told me they knew they were spending too much time chatting.

This has been the excuse for why new STEEMers could not post and comment more on STEEM. I guess I should have investigated more about this endeavor, but until now, it did not hit my radar.

I have never chatted, I do not think I have time to chat, and I do not know which rooms you would go in to chat effectively. Maybe I am missing out on something, and now I am on the lookout to see if people have any "Chat Strategies to do Better on STEEM."

40 Road to STEEMfest Blocktrades Contest Entry 6 Business or Pleasure fitinfun Bangkok Yellow self storage MRT Sutthisan (2).jpg

And finally, here is the main question for this challenge:

What are you going to STEEMFest for? Business or Pleasure?

My entire life is business and pleasure combined. So I think STEEMFest will be both for me.

My name has been fitinfun for many years before STEEM. My tag line is:

“Be sure to fitinfun no matter what.”

I’m always working and have been all my life. Every day I get to open my eyes and try again is fun for me. Opening my eyes to a new Bangkok (later Chiang Mai) day and getting to see other STEEMers will make those all days even more fun.

STEEM is my business now, and it will be a pleasure to attend STEEMFest. I hope I will see you there!

My photos are random shots I took while living in Bangkok. All are taken with the Canon ELPH160 point and shoot cameraI used to have when I lived there.

55 Road to STEEMfest Blocktrades Contest Entry 6 Bu95 grat Close up sunset bangkok thailand tuesday orange color challenge fitinfun.jpg

STEEMFEST Information

If you want all the details about STEEMFest

Read @roelandp's announcement.

The official STEEMFest web page is here:

https://steemfest.com/

Conference tickets are on sale now:

https://steempeak.com/steemfest/@roelandp/steemfest-updates-first-names-announced-ticketshop-open-let-s-go-bangkok

The conference ticket price will increase monthly, so get yours now if you can.

STEEMFest Contests:

@actifit:

Step your way to STEEMFest

Enter this @blocktrades contest too.:

@blocktrades is holding 16 contests in advance of STEEMFest, and this is the sixth one. I'm in on the first day, so you have time. This contest will close on Sunday September 29, and here are the details:

htthttps://steempeak.com/busy/@anomadsoul/the-road-to-steem-fest-or-business-or-pleasure

My RoadToSTEEMfest posts:

Information

Contests I have entered:

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

steemitmamas.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @fitinfun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 32000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 33000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Really rooting for you to get to Steem Fest Sharon, you have always shared tips on how to get going in life and in blogging using various platforms to achieve.

Good luck @fitinfun

Thank you very much, @joanstewart. I am so excited to return to Bangkok. Fingers crossed for the conference fee, but I will be in the city for my Visa needs no matter what. I'm glad to see you, and hope all is good down in SA :)

Hi @fitinfun!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.055 which ranks you at #1092 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 90 contributions, your post is ranked at #7.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60