Visiting The Bison At The Gunpowder Bison & Trading Company

in #esteem5 years ago

I'm sharing photos today of my second trip to the Gunpowder Bison & Trading Company. The Gunpowder Bison & Trading Company is located at 1270 Monkton Road in Monkton, Maryland.

7pbggd36ee.jpg

In my last post I shared photos of some of the bison and of the store that is on the premises but today we are just going to see the bison.

j1sm7uqcn6.jpg

An adult bison bull (male) weighs approxinately 2000 pounds and an adult bison cow (female) weighs approximately 1000 pounds and they get that big by eating mostly grasses. They can also run up to 40 miles per hour so you have an approximate 0 chance of outrunning a bison.😉

ny50037850.jpg

pynfrt9vth.jpg

t16nx3y9gy.jpg

Both the bull and cow have horns. I had to laugh when I saw how this photo came out. It looks like this cow is sticking her tongue out at me and my camera...lol!

pg9q1ib2c3.jpg

Don't worry! The cow in this next photo is alive and well! She was just laying down!

e2cbzf8zbu.jpg

On my first trip there were seven expectant cows and on this trip I found out that there were five calves born. It takes a bison calf up to 9 1/2 months to be born and weighs between 40 to 50 pounds at birth. When we first arrived I spotted three little calves but they ran down into a back pasture. I was hoping to get a photo to share and I did manage to get two photos. The first one is in the previous photo. In case you didn't see the baby, I made a little purple arrow to show where it is.

1ywq77gar4.gif

I know! What a sad excuse for a baby bison photo but, luckily, I did get one more and it's a little better...I think you would agree! It made me so happy that this little calf came up far enough and long enough for me to get this photo to share!😊

bcf4b4qk5s.jpg

Most of the bison were laying/sitting down in their pasture. They have several pastures here that they switch the herd out in.

qmxp0jzutx.jpg

81hpiafwln.jpg

It is hard to believe that in the mid 1880's there were only around 325 wild bison left in the USA. It is sad to think how close they were to extinction. Luckily bison (in the USA) now number around 500,000.

xq5cwnx42d.jpg

7iq9dpa2u2.jpg

I was glad to get back here and see the bison again and what a thrill it was to see the little calves! . On my first visit the bison were a lot farther away and the weather was not the best. On this visit there were a couple that were within 15 feet of me. They are fenced in by both a wooden and electrical fence so I was careful not to get too close.

s5q5upcime.jpg

Hopefully, I'll get back again soon to see how the babies are growing! Yep...gotta show that baby one more time! Pretty dang cute!😀

bcf4b4qk5s.jpg

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!! 💞

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

This was absolutely fabulous! I loved those little baby bison! They were so stinking cute!!!

I need to go out there now and check them out myself!

Thanks for being a great member of #SteemUSA!

!tip

Thank you so much Denise!! Seeing those little babies just made my day!! :)

I have been looking forward for this post great shots of the bison even one of the babies

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Thank you so much Jay!! I was so happy to capture a shot of the baby!! 🙂

Most welcome and I am happy you did as well was so cool to see ;)

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Today'S Forecast: Sunshine And Happiness Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deerjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=visiting-the-bison-at-the-gunpowder-bison-and-trading-company


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks like they are losing their winter coats to cool down...

I am not a bot but I always upvote bison....

Thank you so much @snowyknight!! Yep, last time I was there they were rolling in the dirt to help shed those coats but they haven't managed to shed them completely yet. 😉

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #571.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

When I first saw your title, I had a moment of wicked deja vu! Love that you went back for a second visit, and that baby bison it totally adorable! Can't wait to see how big she/he gets by your next visit.

And I knew bison had been close to extinction, but didn't realize they were that close to being completely gone. So glad they wee able to repopulate.

Thanks for taking us along on another fun bison visit!

Thank you so much @traciyork!! I was happy to get back and even happier to see the little ones. I'm glad they are no longer considered endangered too! 🙂

You're very welcome, @deerjay! Hope you have a great weekend! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59