Market Friday ~ The Gunpowder Bison & Trading Company

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Today, I'll be going someplace a little different. I went to the Gunpowder Bison & Trading Company back in April. I've had a lot going on the last few months so it got away from me on posting about it till now. If you are concerned that looking at Bison as food may be upsetting then you may want to skip over my post but I mainly just wanted to check this place out to see the bison. There used to be three places near me that raised bison and this is the only one left out of those three. Gunpowder Bison & Trading Co. is located at 1270 Monkton Road in Monkton, Maryland.

rxe4ff6rhj.jpg

This was the same day that a tornado touched down about a mile from where we were. I think the bison must've known that bad weather was coming as they stayed off in the distance.

u7h9h1046a.jpg

qqwce9y9y8.jpg

I had been wanting to stop here but, actually, stopping this day wasn't planned so I only had my phone camera. I'll tell you now though that I did go back to get some nicer photos of the bison. I'll show those in another post as today we will be checking out the bison and the store that is on the property. The company was founded in 2006 and the property in Monkton, Maryland is 75 acres.

7x0ib1ffwz.jpg

04dqr7ejc4.jpg

k3c9gg639p.jpg

The store was like a small country store. It was very clean and items were displayed nicely.

0lamlgmdtz.jpg

uf9a9j5x9r.jpg

8z27zceyag.jpg

They had some goat milk items for sale and other products from local farms including sauces, pickles, honey and more. They also had some bison pet food and treats as well.

irmfurpvpv.jpg

u2796x2uyq.jpg

ryfx2qberf.jpg

The back wall was lined with upright freezers and they had one large chest freezer which they kept the ground bison and bison burgers. They raise the bison without hormones and antibiotics and the meat is processed under USDA inspection. They also have some prepared dishes by a chef in house.

3eqq9s8jsl.jpg

zc4ed1p6uv.jpg

9oo6zyydsk.jpg

rqvw52325v.jpg

There was also another upright refrigerated unit that had different kinds of drinks and bison charcuterie products.

mjnnjqjre2.jpg

I talked with the person there quite a bit about the bison that they raise and about the bison on the property. The main herd is in Pennsylvania and the small herd here included seven pregnant cows.

8qspzuv1wn.jpg

c20dtvjj03.jpg

They have several pastures that they switch the herd out in as they eat mostly grasses.

y2fgjsix28.jpg

o2jflic3fz.jpg

q5eoix0mfu.jpg

The bison are surrounded by fencing both wooden and electrical. That is for the safety of both the bison and the people. Bison are not domestic animals and they can run up to 40 miles per hour.

u44gnw5am7.jpg

As much as I would love to pet one...well...I will have to settle for petting the one on the wall. I don't say that to sound like I'm being funny because I'm not. The animal is no longer living and I did want to feel the coat and learn more about them. The person working the store spent a lot of time talking with my husband and I and we learned a lot of interesting things about bison. She was fine with letting me touch the one taxidermied in the store and I carefully and lightly felt his coat. He was a breeder that had passed away and his coat was dense and coarse to the touch.

b2hoz3s8q4.jpg

I'll be covering more about bison in my next post which will be just about the bison. I was also looking forward to possibly seeing some babies on my next trip.

l8p3a6vplj.jpg

q1jk1wrnid.jpg

While we were outside after checking out the store, we had a second alert about that tornado. The sky was looking very ominous and the wind picked up even more than it already had so we thought it best to part ways and be on our way out.

s0c8pwbx36.jpg

We found out later that an EF1 did touch down about a mile away from where we were. We've been back for a return visit since then and I was able to get a few better photos. Did I see any babies? Well...you'll just have to come back to find out!😉

s5q5upcime.jpg
A photo from my second visit.

Thank you @dswigle aka Denise for #marketfriday!!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!! 🙂

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Bison are so big and so fast I dont think I would want to risk trying to pet one

What a cool store thanks for sharing and looking forward to your shots of the bison

Thank you so much Jay!! They sure are and, like you, I would not risk getting too close to the live ones. I enjoyed visiting the store as well as the bison and I did buy some bison sausage. It was very good but not something I would buy often. 🙂

Most welcome, I have had Bison a couple of times and quite liked it but like you it is not something I would have too often

!tip

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: The Memorial Bridge Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Pretty cool Bison i have never seen so many in one place and that store looks like a one stop shop nothing they don't have in there :)

Thank you so much @hangin!! I loved how they displayed the items and that they offer other local products also. The bison were pretty cool to see even though they were so far away. I really think they knew that bad weather was brewing and they were staying where they felt safe by the bamboo. 🙂

Definitely look like a place you can enjoy the shopping and the scenery :)

What a great post! Buffalo are fascinating critters and the store there looks delightful! I'm glad you avoided the worst of the weather. Huge congrats on upvotes. They are well deserved, my friend!

Thank you so much @melinda010100!! The storm was a bit scary, I was glad to get home. I really loved how they did the decor in the store but the bison were the biggest joy to see. 🙂

They are amazing creatures!

Great photos! Love seeing you have bison near you, Dee. The store is fascinating. I like the bison doll. 💕

Thank you so much Jo!! They are such magnificent creatures! That was a cute one for sure! 😉

I have to admit that that is a pretty interesting name for a company that sells meat products. We do have quite a few The Sound by some around here and I have to admit that they did when I lived in Texas also. I'm pretty sure when I saw that there was a tornado touching down about a mile from where you were oh, I might have changed my mind and go on a different day. But that's water over the bridge because it had already passed. When you show them in the field, don't they look like cool and calm creatures? I happen to know that that does not have to be the case.

I like the little bison doll with the jean shorts and boots on. I whisper cool little piece there. So much to look at here!!

My father used to collect buffalo nickels! I forgot about that little fact until I saw that giant buffalo nickel in the office. I sort of did want a pet that bison that was hanging on the wall and I hope you don't mind me saying this but it reminded me of going into one of the dance halls in Walt Disney World. LOL except this one sang. Very badly I might add. How nice did they offer up a country store goat smell in all sorts of homemade products. It tickled me just a little bit to see that they had bison pet food and treats. Seriously well if you didn't want to cook, I would say that you were in business as long as you came here. It looks like they would feed you for the rest of your life with what they had.

All in all, I would say that it was a truly awesome trip to the farm and I can hardly wait for you to go back so I can see some of those babies! Thank you so much for being a part of Market Friday and I appreciate all the time and effort spent making these posts.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and steemed

!tip

Thank you so much Denise!! I loved that little bison doll too but I'm more in the process of downsizing but is was awful cute and tempted me so.
My mom collected buffalo nickels also. I have a couple that she gave me years ago. Maybe I will work them into my next post about my return trip. 🐃 😀

How cool! We had a nickel machine (a one-armed bandit that my father was given as payment one time) We were only allowed to play with it on rainy days! :)

It held hundreds of buffalo nickels that came with the machine!

I am not downsizing in particular, but, I have cleaned out so many of the useless things I owned and made some charity rich. Simplify! It is so freeing! LOL

I look forward to the next installment!

Lol..I think that would make me wish for rainy days! How cool to find it contained buffalo nickels..almost a jackpot find in itself. 😉

@deerjay I just noticed that yours wasn't upvoted, so I took care of that tonight. I was working on my phone and sometimes my fingers don't hit the right thing! :)

Sorry about that and congrats on the upvotes!!!

Oh Denise, that is perfectly okay but thank you so much again!! 💞

Are you kidding!?? That was too cool to not share!!! As an aside, how are you doing? xoxo Thinking of you and hoping your heart is in a better place, although, as I write that, I think to myself.... Seriously?

Thanks Denise! I'm doing okay. The judge requested more info and postponed till fall. More to it, I'll message you on discord.

Just when you thought it was going to be over...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deerjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-the-gunpowder-bison-and-trading-company


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great post @deerjay ...on the Buffalo... Hear they can be very dangerous...

Thank you so much @manorvillemike!! They can be. Some people think they are like farm cows but nope..not the same..lol. 🐃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87