Thursday Thoughts and Searching for Jerky

in #esteem6 years ago

It is a pretty lonely day today, most everyone is not at work because it is a holiday here. "What holiday is on November 15th?" you may ask, wasn't Veteran's Day just this past weekend? Yes, that is correct. Veteran's Day was on Sunday and observed on Monday, but today is all-together different.

Today is the day that we celebrate the opening day of firearm deer season. Starting on October 1st in Michigan you can bow hunt as much as you want. That is until November 15th. On this day hunters trade in their camouflage for blaze orange and their bows for rifles(or shotguns if you live below a certain latitude) in Michigan and head out into the woods to bag a big buck.

Personally, I don't hunt, I have done it in the past, but I would much rather go fishing. This past weekend though, @mrsbozz, our friends and I went out hunting for a different kind of meat.

About four months ago, I read a post by @ericwilson about a place called the Dublin General Store. The Dublin General Store is pretty famous for their jerky. They have all different kinds making up an entire wall of the store. If I hadn't seen the pictures taken by @ericwilson, I probably wouldn't have believed it.

Part of what I think is really cool about our trip is the fact that many times you see people talking about things on Steemit and you make a comment and say "oh, I would love to go there someday, that place looks really awesome, thanks for sharing this." Knowing full well, you will probably never make it to the country, island, or basic geographic location they are talking about. In this case though, I actually did it! I am lucky enough that this place is just a two hour drive from where I live and we actually went!

We were staying in Manistee, MI, so it was closer to a half hour drive to Dublin, MI to visit the Dublin General Store.

The roads were a little dicey on our way, so that slowed our progress a bit. Dublin, MI is near Wellston, MI, but that probably doesn't help you much either because if you blink you will miss Wellston. The same is true of Dublin which is comprised of just the general store, a gas station, and maybe a small restaurant from what we could see. Google Maps paints a similar picture of the composition of Dublin.

In fact it is so out of the way that @mrsbozz joked about feeling like we were driving them out into the woods to dispose of the bodies as we were heading there. We made it though and were pretty surprised to see the parking lot packed full for a Saturday morning.

Besides being a jerky destination for tourists, hunters, and all other sorts of folks, this store is also the local grocery store and hardware store. We entered in and started to take a look around. My wife soon found some of the souvenir t-shirts and sweatshirts they had and showed one to us. I don't mean to keep talking about how small this town is, but the shirt she showed us actually said "where the hell is Dublin, MI". That tells me if they can joke about it, I should be fine joking about it in this post as well.

We soon found our way back to the area where they keep all the jerky and like I said you wouldn't believe it unless you saw the pictures. They just have jerky lying about the place, not enough room on the wall so they store it in shopping carts for people to grab.

We quickly started going through all of the flavors. @mrsbozz was immediately drawn to the turkey and chicken jerky they had because she doesn't eat beef. As we worked our way down the wall, we found some exotic kinds of jerky as well (alligator, rabbit, wild boar, elk, Kobe beef.

In the end, we settled for a honey mustard turkey jerky and the garlic and onion beef jerky. It wasn't until we got home on Sunday that we tried it, but I must say, it is some of the best jerky I have had in a while. You can tell they use some really good quality meat for the product. I am very impressed and if I am ever back in the area, I will probably make the side trip to get some more. If you took the time to visit the stores webpage that I linked at the beginning of this article you will notice that you can order online and have it shipped to you. That might be another option for me if I get a craving in the future!

The prices were pretty reasonable for jerky. I think both packages we purchased were around $15 a piece. Probably not something I would spend money on every week, but well worth it for the quality and for a special treat.

Side note

You may or may not remember, but in the past I have written about a company called NuScale Energy LLC. They have a design that is being implemented for Small Modular Nuclear Reactors(SMNR's) that take up less space than a traditional power plant and are immuned to melt downs. Additionally these SMNR's can be daisy chained together to equal the power outupt of a much larger facility.

After I posted about NuScale some of my followers brought up the fact that even if the proccess is safer there is still the waste that needs to be dealt with. I thought that was a really great point that I had not considered so I reached out to NuScale via their Facebook page and I actually got a response from them. I wanted to share that with everyone in case you were interested.

Here was my original question to them:

I saw an article about NuScale a while ago and have been a fan ever since. I am really excited about the idea of reactors that are immune to meltdowns. The tragedies in Japan and Russia are something that can't happen again. I have a question though, what kind of waste is created from SMR's? Is it less than a normal reactor? Being super safe isn't going to matter much if there is still no viable way to deal with the waste materials. Thanks for reading this!

And this was their response:

xxxx, thank you for your question. What's interesting is that used nuclear fuel still has considerable energy available, and could be recovered.There are existing and new technologies on the drawing boards today that can utilize this fuel. We have demonstrated that used fuel can be safely transported and stored, as needed. The NuScale design will also be able to take advantage of advanced fuel designs in development, when they are ready, which hold real promise to reduce the inventory of used fuel. In addition, the NuScale plant design incorporates proven safe, secure, and effective used fuel management systems. Used fuel is stored underwater in a stainless steel lined concrete pool for at least 5 years. The concrete pool is well below grade as is part of the reactor building; a highly robust structure designed to Seismic Category 1 and aircraft impact resistant requirements, capable of withstanding a variety of severe natural and man-made phenomena. The facility design includes on-site dry cask storage of the used fuel for the life of the facility, or until such time that the used fuel can be ultimately stored at a permanent long-term used fuel repository.

So there you have it. Take it for what you will, I was just impressed that little old me actually garnered a response from them.

Thanks for following along! Only one more day until the weekend! Try to think positive even if the markets are not!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

Looks like my kind of place! I looked on Maps, but I don't think I've been through Dublin. It's a blue highway sort of place that I just love.

We have a franchise around here that supports roadside stands. The jerky is pretty darn tasty, and they do have some exotic types. I've cooked rabbit to the point of eating like jerky but never had real rabbit jerky. Sounds good.

Interesting answer from NewScale, thanks for sharing it with us. I know that the technology to handle and store waste is much improved. My brother lives near Hanford Nuclear Reservation, the nastiest of the superfund sites. They are slowly getting a handle on it. The really hot stuff that can't be reduced is going to be vitrified-cast in glass so it can be transported.

Thanks Bozz. A really good post.

Yeah it is definitely some place you need to know what you are looking for. You would probably miss it otherwise. I have only had rabbit once I twice. It was fantastic though. My buddy used to raise them for food.

It's crazy what they can do these days. It's almost like they are making the science up as they go.

Posted using Partiko Android

Holy crap! You were right! Without pictures I would have NEVER been able to imagine the amount of jerky!

Mmmm... jerky...

I'm pretty jealous. I always get excited at fairs and farmers markets when there's a jerky stand... but it's never been as glorious as this.

Also, around here it's time to trade camouflage for orange. Though we live on a nature reserve so mostly we just see the hunters driving around following the elk herds...as they can't shoot 'em here. Gotta wait till they cross the imaginary line... which I'm pretty sure the wildlife passes down through generations. It's like the KNOW it's safer here. 😎

Enjoy your quiet day. 😍

I know right! It was a pretty awesome place. I wish I had bought more flavors, but I don't think my credit card could have handled it. That is pretty funny about the hunters following the elk around and them knowing where the line is. We get that too. Deer everywhere you go before Nov 15th, the as soon as it hits, they all run and hide I think.

Snow already? Nice exotic meats you have there. Alligator probably tastes like chicken, I know crocodile does.

I have heard that too so I am guessing you are right! We had a good five to six inches of snow on our car when we went to leave on Sunday. It was a bit slow going getting home. They recently changed that two lane to 65 MPH but we were going closer to 45. Even less in the bad spots.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Very nice post ---> but Yikes!!! ... image sizes!!!

Also ... I'm glad you got the picture of you and the dog turned around. Did you see it post-promo?

I also go for drives to find food. You have jerky and we have biltong. I must start taking some photos as well to show what is on offer here.

That would be awesome to see!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 0.48% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.488 which ranks you at #6410 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 6415).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 313 (11/15/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33