Upcoming Airdrop for EOS: IQ Token, Everipedia and Lunyr and The best way to evaluate a General Purpose Smart Contract Platform

in #eos6 years ago

I bought a bunch of EOS while it was $9-$10 range because it seemed like more good developments were coming in and after analyzing every smart contract platform to various degrees, EOS became my favorite (Even though it doesn't really exist yet. But hey, Cardarno has worse tech, doesn't exist and has over twice the current marketcap of EOS)
This post I resteemed today also had many things I was looking for in a smart contract platform: https://steemit.com/eosio/@dan/eos-io-development-update

How Do I Judge A General Purpose Smart Contract Platform?


I do a simple test. I ask a simple question that would cover pretty much everything. So what's it? Can I run a Massively Multiplayer Online First Person Shooter on it after that game hit 30 million daily active players on this particular smart contract platform without ruining everything for the rest of the DAPPS on the platform?
So far everything except EOS gets an "F" grade. Komodo and Enigma have privacy features and NEM works as a currency with encrypted messaging and smart contracts as an extra purple cow. Other than that I don't see good enough competition. NXT and ADA are good. But they are not as good as EOS.

The Fork of Wikipedia


Yes there is a for-profit for called Everipedia and they are getting on board with EOS. Everipedia is the biggest English-language encyclopedia (YES I'm being 100% factually correct) and ranks 19,761on Alexa ranking compared to rank 5 of Wikipedia. Everipedia does have a low bar for quality. So the sophistication does come at a cost. So they are making the IQ token and once Everipedia is decentralized and hosted on the EOS platform nobody will be able to block the site and people will be incentivized to keep the quality high using the IQ tokens.

You get IQ tokens airdropped for holding EOS. EOS can run Ethereum as a single smart contract in the EOS platform and EOS is 15 times smaller in marketcap. The lesser versions of EOS tech like Bitshares and STEEM(and YOYOW and GOLOS) are battle tested OK who am I kidding. we are not even using 1% of the Tx capacity. So what battle testing. The point is you can't loose on the long term with EOS and https://lunyr.com/ is doing damn fine on Ethereum and that's starting from scratch. Everipedia is already big and they plan to attempt the same thing Lunyr does. I think Lunyr will have success too. I love the project. But even if I could time travel to get it at 12 times cheaper prices, it won't be an airdrop. EOS could be $100 and still be a fraction of ETH and you get IQ for your HODL.

So I know where to put my money.
Happy investing!

Sort:  

I'm inclined to agree, though I'm heavily invested in EOS so I may be a little biased :)

I actually think, in the long run, the bigger part of that announcement was the 1 billion block.io have promised to use to support startups building on EOS, that is huge. I was hoping EOS could hit a 100billion market cap in 3-5 years (or ~100USD per coin, minus the 5% inflation) but if that 1 billion is used well, on top of that tech, a far bigger number is not inconceivable. Screw the moon, these guys are chasing voyager.

What $100 in 3-5 years???
It's already at $16. Expect $100 at the end of summer.

You could very well be right. I said I "was hoping" not predicting. 90-100 dollars was my original goal when I bought the bulk of what I hold a few months back. You won't hear any complaints from me if it goes higher or faster :)

Me neither. :)
Hope or prediction. It doesn't matter, I just wanted to point out that you are underestimating the rising power of a good crypto. Good luck to you and many more EOS :)

Your expectations are unrealistic.

More like $1000 EOS by the end of the year. EOS will in my opinion mimic Ethereum's price movement.

If block.one distributed those tokens to the EOS holders as airdrops they'll be getting 10% of the tokens they are investing in as block.one holds 10% of EOS. Incentives are perfectly aligned for them to make very good investments and EOS holders will be well compensated.
$100 EOS is at worst the end of 2019. We may see $100 even as soon as Q3 2018

I agree, see my comment to devrim. I prefer to keep my expectations on the conservative side, everything above is gravy :) It's not beyond the bounds of possibility that the market could cool off for a while at some point, it wouldn't be the first time after all.

It never hurts to be safe. Hope for the best and prepare for the worst.

V hello.
I would like to draw your attention to
https://credits.com
It seems to be a very well ICO.
Could you comment on it please.

Thanks a massive lot for bringing this to my attention. I haven't finished reading the whitepaper. I don't think it's a scam. Either they will chew more than they can swallow or become what PIVX is to Dash and compete with EOS. I really have to look deep into this. They'll either screw it up or become 100+ billion USD company in 5 years.

V what's your verdict for credits.com?

Credits>>>XLM>>>XRP
Basically credits are focused on the financial markets. XLM focus on the front end with better tech and XRP is just the banker's thingy. Credits has the Potential to combine best of both worlds and put it on steroids.

The team has no huge history or huge partnerships. I also had a conversation about it here

Personally It's something I'd keep an eye on and slowly ladder in. If they deliver, it can totally outdo XRP and XLM.

OK. Great comment.
Just what I expect from your caliber.
Let me know more when you have more to say.

Seems like I missed the airdrop.
:(
Why did you not holler?

https://kryptocal.com/event/6483/eos-(eos)-everipedia-airdrop
There are 86 more days remaining. You can get an E-mail Alert on the above site.

Resteemed 40% upvoted

Is EOS cheaper if you buy from the long running ICO, or is on exchange the same?

You can check the ICO price history in ETH here (under "effective price"): https://eos.io/distribution/

(Edit: just use https://eosscan.io/)

I followed today's token sale, and the final price per token seemed on par with what you would pay on an exchange at the ICO's period closing moment. Then there are the transaction fees, so I would probably get my tokens off an exchange, especially if it were a small amount.

I'm not too sure how you could be better off buying from the ICO. If the daily price is below the exchange price, more ETH is guaranteed to pour in as closing time approaches. If the exchange price was to suddenly dip, however, there is no way for the ICO-participants to lower the effective price, as the submitted Ether can not be retracted, forcing them to buy above the market price.

I'd keep an eye on the ICO price nonetheless towards the closing time of each period in which I'd want to buy EOS.

Very good advise. Couldn't have said it better.

That's a good description of the "problem" or dilemma. Although I think that the market is so big, that you won't be able to find cheap EOS at the final minutes of the day.

I mean, if you go there and there isn't much on the table, you would buy a lot. Buying a lot makes the price go up. And believe me, the market is sooo big, that there will be a couple hundres (if not thousands) of people waiting to the end of the 23 hours. You just need 100people there, and they go all in and the price stabilizes right up to the market price.

Hello Everyone!
Let me just say that I've always been a supporter of Steemit, and love the platform. Yet, Like I have expressed in my very first Steemit post, Everipedia is my one and only love.

My name is Angel, and I am the Executive editor and founding team member of Everipedia. I handle a lot of the content, and I work very closely with the team everyday in making Everipedia not just one of the best blockchain projects emerging, but also one of the sites on the internet. I am essentially the sixth member to have joined the founders: Ted, Travis, Sam, and Mahbod - I love them all to death. Now, that being said, we have been sleeping, eating, working, given our heart and soul in developing the finest wiki platform the internet has yet to experience. We have been at this for more than two years now - there's no way we are attempting the same thing as Lunyr... the last icing on the cake for us is developing one of the dopest blockchain projects ever! And it will be intended for Knowledge! If you want to see the vision, please take a look at the recent activity on the home page, and just imagine that being turned into a blockchain...

I only got to know Everipedia when I came across the airdrop. It's seriously better than Wikipedia. Getting it on blockchain would seriously improve the quality and amount of content even more. I mean people would work harder when there is money behind it and I hope there will be good enough measures to keep bad actors away.

You guys have already done lots of hard work. It'll seriously pay off. Lunyr also has the disadvantage of being on Ethereum. But the biggest difference would come from the content. I wish you best of luck!

(It'd also be nice if you post more often on steemit)

Do you know when the airdrop will happen? I was thinking we wouldn't have register our EOS tokens (if we bought on an exchange) until June, but now I'm thinking we need to do this right away. Thoughts?

They haven't announced a snapshot date AFAIK. I was also thinking keeping my EOS on an exchange ready for trading. Personally I'd wait a little more to register my EOS. Keep an eye on announcements. I check the Twitter and reddit at least twice a day. If EOS had a massive bull run with a sudden crash like Tron did, you could sell high and buy more later. If you register the tokens you have safety and you are bound to get your IQ tokens. It's a pros and cons situation. Personally I won't register yet. You are welcome to your decisions. Maybe you could do 50/50.

I heard the end of this month will be the snapshot, so maybe start thinking about getting your ether address registered!

with Dan Larimar inventing the platform and then consider that Brock Pierce is involved this too .. EOS will chase ETH and surpass its market cap by June of 2019

Bitcoin is a relic and it's still No.1 and moving the market. So I'm not too sure about the dates. But I'm 100% sure about the final outcome. Happy to see you on a 2 months old post :-)

hello, @vimukthi
Upvote & Re-steem

re-steem.jpg

Could be a lot of air drops for EOS holders coming up. I will be buying all the way until launch.

Currently I've put a lot into STEEM. I even put my EOS into STEEM. I will sell some SBD and add some fiat to buy EOS a little close to the end of ICO.

I was at one of Stan Larimar's speeches in Austin and he showed us a text that was sent from Ned when he asked about why EOS is better than Ethereum. He said "EOS can run Ethereum on a single node..."

I was there in Austin also! I thought @stan did a wonderful job. He answered my question about the possibility of bringing decentralized fiat - crypto banks into the game. Thank you for the post @vimukthi I am so excited to see what the brain of @dan can produce in his 3rd and best blockchain tech! Go blockone!

And from the looks of it @dan has really gotten a hang of things this time. The more I learn about EOS, more of my complaints gets answered. I'm a person who evaluate projects based on flaws. I see so much BS regarding BTS and STEEM. EOS just solves practically all of them. @dan really learnt his stuff through BTS and STEEM. The projects built on EOS may even end up killing both BTS and STEEM.

Yeah he did. I'm definitely curious to see where this all goes. The fact that Steemit is a living, breathing, working thing is still a major advantage for now.

I'm not a huge techy by any means but @vimukthi you might be able to answer this. Would it be possible to fork Steemit onto EOS? Or is that theoretically impossible?

I'm not a huge techy either. I'm more of a jack of all trades. My knowledge is that the tech behind STEEM is like a prototype EOS. If a person wants to run STEEM on EOS it shouldn't be that hard. GOLOS is a Russian fork of STEEM and YOYOW is build using the same tech with a focus on China.

Getting people to use the EOS DAPP instead of STEEM will be the most difficult part. With SMTs coming and witnesses already being a big deal on STEEM and whales owning a lots of valuable tokens will make migration little tougher. Somebody could build a better version of STEEM on EOS. That's s better route to take instead of migrating.

On the other hand Bitshares may end up moving to EOS. I've heard several people discussing the idea very favorably.

Interesting! On the topic of alternative Steemit's or forks of Steemit - what do you think of sites like busy.org? I don't really understand the purpose. Is it just a more user friendly version of Steemit using it's blockchain?

People just like different flavors. There is https://dmania.lol and https://beta.chainbb.com/ which are using the exact same STEEM blockchain.

There is no one size fits all solution and I personally consider them to be welcome additions. SMTs would further increase this diversity IMO.

Very cool man! I agree, he really helped me to conceptualize crypto on another level. Cheers man!

That is 100% true. Check http://www.blocktivity.info/ STEEM is handling more Tx volume than ETH while using 0.12% of the current capacity and EOS will make STEEM look meh.

Yup Stan referenced blocktivity too! Proof is in the pudding.

upvoted for World of Warcraft Blockchain edition

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76