You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Upcoming Airdrop for EOS: IQ Token, Everipedia and Lunyr and The best way to evaluate a General Purpose Smart Contract Platform

in #eos6 years ago

I was at one of Stan Larimar's speeches in Austin and he showed us a text that was sent from Ned when he asked about why EOS is better than Ethereum. He said "EOS can run Ethereum on a single node..."

Sort:  

I was there in Austin also! I thought @stan did a wonderful job. He answered my question about the possibility of bringing decentralized fiat - crypto banks into the game. Thank you for the post @vimukthi I am so excited to see what the brain of @dan can produce in his 3rd and best blockchain tech! Go blockone!

And from the looks of it @dan has really gotten a hang of things this time. The more I learn about EOS, more of my complaints gets answered. I'm a person who evaluate projects based on flaws. I see so much BS regarding BTS and STEEM. EOS just solves practically all of them. @dan really learnt his stuff through BTS and STEEM. The projects built on EOS may even end up killing both BTS and STEEM.

Yeah he did. I'm definitely curious to see where this all goes. The fact that Steemit is a living, breathing, working thing is still a major advantage for now.

I'm not a huge techy by any means but @vimukthi you might be able to answer this. Would it be possible to fork Steemit onto EOS? Or is that theoretically impossible?

I'm not a huge techy either. I'm more of a jack of all trades. My knowledge is that the tech behind STEEM is like a prototype EOS. If a person wants to run STEEM on EOS it shouldn't be that hard. GOLOS is a Russian fork of STEEM and YOYOW is build using the same tech with a focus on China.

Getting people to use the EOS DAPP instead of STEEM will be the most difficult part. With SMTs coming and witnesses already being a big deal on STEEM and whales owning a lots of valuable tokens will make migration little tougher. Somebody could build a better version of STEEM on EOS. That's s better route to take instead of migrating.

On the other hand Bitshares may end up moving to EOS. I've heard several people discussing the idea very favorably.

Interesting! On the topic of alternative Steemit's or forks of Steemit - what do you think of sites like busy.org? I don't really understand the purpose. Is it just a more user friendly version of Steemit using it's blockchain?

People just like different flavors. There is https://dmania.lol and https://beta.chainbb.com/ which are using the exact same STEEM blockchain.

There is no one size fits all solution and I personally consider them to be welcome additions. SMTs would further increase this diversity IMO.

Very cool man! I agree, he really helped me to conceptualize crypto on another level. Cheers man!

That is 100% true. Check http://www.blocktivity.info/ STEEM is handling more Tx volume than ETH while using 0.12% of the current capacity and EOS will make STEEM look meh.

Yup Stan referenced blocktivity too! Proof is in the pudding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88