Hey DeXvid! @introduceyourself! don't be rude!

in #english6 years ago (edited)


Haz click aquí para la versión en español.

          Who is DeXvid? It’s guy who’s about to bring amazing content to your Steemit feed. Sometimes what we really need are stories from regular people like me, who were not brought to the internet either by programmers or by somebody trying to pump a specific company or entity. I am your regular guy, a learned professional, who was brought in a middle class family, born in Puerto Rico, with many many dreams. Most of them, I’ve been able to accomplish as of today. The problem is that when you accomplish dreams that you had when you were a teenager by the time you set them to do, new dreams tend to arise, which is not a bad thing, but its like a thirst that has to be quenched. It’s kind of addictive to a point. You become what I call a ‘healthy crazy person’, always always thinking about new ways you can come up with, in order to be the best version of yourself. So that you can impact each and every person you encounter in your life in a positive and inspiring way, even if you only spent a small amount of time with x person. 

          One thing you have to understand from me is that I did not end up on Steemit because of the greed for money. Although money is necessary, I believe that in every profession out there, evidence has showed that when you go after what you love to do and what you believe in, things always end up going the right way because you find out you have this innate persistence in you towards the things you truly love to do. 

          In my case, well, that’s a bit different because I love to do many things. I was raised in a musician family, started to study music very early in my life. At nine years old I started playing guitar. Got into skateboarding as well at about the same age. All I wanted to do was to study my master’s degree abroad and then end up being the guitarist and music director of a famous artist. Both of those dreams came true, only to make me realize that it was just the beginning of a never ending quest for knowledge in so many different areas I would not have imagined ten years ago.  

The following pictures I'm about to share with you are not meant to be analyzed that much, just enjoyed. As I will be explaining some of them later on with more detail.


Strange picture of me playing guitar at my high school graduation with my band


Undergrad graduation recital promo


Undergrad Graduation in San Juan, Puerto Rico


Picture with my parents at my first master's degree graduation in Valencia, Spain


Thats me stressed out about a concert I had to give that day, right on that same stage.


Me & some of my friends at my second master's degree graduation in Valencia, Spain


Part of my Puerto Rican friends from school at graduation day in Valencia, Spain


Video demonstration as a part of my Internship in Austin, Texas


Worked as the sound engineer and video editor for the Austin Independent School District


Knowledge is the only thing nobody can steal from you


My actual job


Lots of concerts


Lots of fans


fire guitar solos? lol ok why not?


Huge crowds. This guy is pretty blown up down here, you should check us out.


Then I met Mr. Bitcoin



          I’ve learned many things in my life, but one of the most powerful ones has been to never turn the other cheek to the unknown, because it will possibly find its way to you anyways.

  • Rock, punk and caribbean music were the reason I wanted to study guitar in the first place. Instead what was available in my secondary school was classical guitar.
  • I wanted to specialize in jazz for my undergrad but after taking the advice of all my former classical guitar teachers at the time, I followed what I had already started and went for classical guitar. Just to find out I would learn both classical and jazz guitar, because it would all depend on what I wanted to make out from it.
  • When studying my master’s in Contemporary Guitar Performance, I chose to take a minor in music production, just to be able to produce some small things on my own. Little did I know that after graduation and after going back to my country, I was being hired almost for more gigs as an audio engineer & video producer than as a guitarist, which had actually been my primary skill forever. I always said yes.
  • After deciding to go back to school to formerly structure my knowledge on sound engineering and music/video production, I was asked to select three of the four areas which my master’s degree would let you specify in. lol, check this one out.. they were;
  1. Sound Engineering
  2. Music Production
  3. Video Production & Editing
  4. Programming

I chose these three:

  1. Sound Engineering
  2. Music Production
  3. Video Production & Editing

          I let programming out, because hey, I had to leave one out. My background was more on music performance so I thought it was ok. Little did I know that on the process of getting an internship right after graduation, from all of the applications I filled, the only opportunity that arose was an internship at a music tech company called LIVID Instruments, which specialized in the programming of MIDI Controllers for music production in general. Everything from hardware & software testing & development for those controllers were an area I had to face, almost unexpectedly.   

          The beautiful thing is that all of those situations helped me grow in so many different areas, because I really let them sink in. I’ve learned to keep an open mind for new information and areas of expertise. You never know where life’s gonna end up taking you. I understand that basically all careers require you to specialize in one or just a few areas, which you then develop to expertise. On the other hand though I feel that given the times that we’re living, people who like to create things from scratch, can greatly benefit from dominating and being in charge of different areas of the production and administration of their product by themselves. The reason why most of them tend to fail is because they don’t seem to be able to successfully confront one of the most important decisions they have to take. Leaving the ego behind, you got to measure yourself and say, ‘given my most brilliant capabilities in any skill, and the money I have to invest on my project/career/company, I NEED to know where to draw the line before needing to hire people I can delegate my work to’.   

“Delegation is an art, most talented people really suck at.” – DeXvid   


          All and all, its all about becoming the best version of ourselves, or isn’t it? At least for me it is. I’ve found happiness in the idea of an always-evolving, always-learning/growing type of state of mind.  

          Hunger for knowledge it’s what really got me here with you guys. I was indeed part of the crypto mass pump up which happened this past nov/dec 2017. Did not leave the crypto space when the strong bear market reversal hit right after new years, instead took the opportunity to learn more about the crypto and investment spaces in general. Already invested in a few coins, following cool podcasts like Bad Crypto Podcast and Thriller Podcast. Reading a lot every day. Feels like time is never enough. Loving every minute of it.    


Optional breathing interlude for the readers.. Breathe in, breathe out.. 🧘🏻‍♂️


          I’m really looking forward to build an awesome group of loyal followers that would be truly interested in learning more from any of the many areas I can share with you. An interactive group of followers that would incentivize my growth on Steemit by letting me share real knowledge bombs just for you guys. It could even be getting into real classes about different things if you’d like. I’ve been a music teacher for almost 10 years now, everything from music theory to guitar, bass & piano performance. I can teach about sound engineering, music production and video production as well. Also, in my present main job as the guitarist and music director of a famous singer called Bonny Lovy, I put into practice all of the skills I’ve learned up to this point, combined. Everyday feels like a new chapter of life. Things are happening so fast that there is a huge amount of useful information coming from what I’m faced on a daily basis. I can’t wait do start organizing it all for you. I feel like people have to know. You could be one of the first ones to grasp everything I have to give out for you. Just let me know below. 

Some of my main softwares are: 

  • Ableton Live
  • Pro Tools
  • Finale
  • Adobe Premiere Pro
  • Adobe After Effects


If you click here, I’ll share my useless C.V. with you. Just for those of you curious out there, I see you!  


All and all, I think this post should come to an end pretty soon.

          Please tag the people you think this article would resonate with. Let me know what you think in the comments! Suggestions are more than welcome. Hit that like / up-vote / follow my channel / all that Steem hype which I’m soo new to, as of now. Do all of that, yes. Share the love, repost my article if you’ve really dig it. Spread the word, so that when this new Steemian comes back, I might have a lead as to where to take it from here with my next article. I got too many ideas in my head right now. 

cheers! 

        p.d.       have you ever witnessed the birth of a whale? ;)   


-@DeXvid  

Sort:  

You've done a fantastic introductory post here. Great story, photos and even some video. I'm looking forward to seeing more of your posts. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @bashadow. Congratulations and best wishes. I will be upvoting another one of your posts a courtesy to @bashadow's entry. Unfortunately this one is over 7 days old.

Thank you so much @energyaddict22!
It’s my pleasure to have pleased you through my writing with my content. It’s really an honor for me to have been nominated by @bashadow for the #payitforward contest of this week. I am indeed working on my next article which I will publish tonight. It’ll be the one we will use for the contest. I promise it’ll be fire content, as I don’t like to spare my time for Steemit only to post shallow content, nah. The only reason I’m here is because I know that my content will be very useful for the community. That’s why I’m so excited for this @bashadow and @thedarkhorse’s opportunity.
Hope you’re having a great day!
Talk to you later,
Cheers!

@DeXvid


Welcome to Steemit @dexvid!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Yes, I love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome @dexvid! I completely agree. The world is a much better place when we do what we LOVE! The rewards come as your gift for being brave enough to follow your bliss! 💓 Wow... that sounds super Dorky! 😋 but it’s true!

Thank you so much @pretty.dorky !! Thanks for the love! i'll be on the lookout for your content as well.
Its true though! we all gotta follow our heart. :)
hope you have a great day today!!

@DeXvid

Welcome to steemit! I love your introduction!!! @bengy @newbieresteemday @asapers @davemccoy @beeyou @plushzilla and I'm sure many more who would love to meet you! Enjoy your steemit journey!!!

Wau @charisma777 THANKS for your message! It's such an honor for me to have pleased your reading with my first article. Thanks for tagging people to your comment. Sometimes it's a bit overwhelming for us new Steemians to get our precious article out there to the masses. If you need anything from me, let me know.
hope you have a good day!
cheers!

@dexvid

Check out the names I have tagged and you will surely get noticed! Personally, from what I've read here today you will have no issue gaining a faithful group of followers!! Hope to learn more from you! Also, I loved how you said knowledge is the one thing no one can steal from you! So true!

You're so kind @charisma777 thanks so much! I will definitely check those names out right now.
I'm so glad you're on board with everything I'm about to start sharing. I hope you help me spread the word and grow because given my regular job as a producer and all of that, I see myself being busy a lot of times, although that doesn't necessarily means that my content will be compromised, all the contrary. Thats why great content creators need help, because they're mostly out there harvesting it, at the same time that his followers are helping him out to spread his content evenly.

Hope you're having a great day! I'm about to follow your recommendations, and yourself as well. :)

p.d. its true though, knowledge is the most powerful weapon available out there. Emotions are what really drive this world forward.

we will keep in touch.
cheers!

@DeXvid

From your intro alone there is definitely quality content coming from you I've no doubt about that! Glad you found steemit and from the looks of the comments glove meet some fellow "newbies" until next time steemIT!!!!!

thanks @charisma777. It'll be an awesome ride thats for sure.
Thanks most importantly for all of those awesome recommendations! That's exactly what I wanted, thanks. Just followed you, I'll be on the lookout for your content as well.

we'll be in communication

have fun!

There are so many different communities you would do well within. I see you have "met" a few of the steemians from newbieresteemday feel free to ask any one of us for help if you need it! See you around @dexvid

I have indeed @charisma777 thanks!
I was going to ask you, is there any other way to create and mantain communication with this awesome tags that you mentioned ( @bengy @newbieresteemday @asapers @davemccoy @beeyou @plushzilla) apart from the comments section? I would love to know all the other ways of communication as well, since those tags you brought out are full of amazing content and lessons to take.
thank you!
hope you're having a great day!

@DeXvid

Welcome @dexvid (love the name) to Steemit! This is the best intro post ever! I saw your comment on one of my other posts and couldn't agree more. Localization is a wise thing in my opinion. Not everyone speaks English as their first language and the more people we can reach, the better.

Some users make one post in each language, while others combine them into one post. The choice is yours, whatever works best for you. I'm curious about how you found my Steemit Tips article? You might also want to check out my friend @yallapapi he has a very expressive writing style and runs a Discord server #sharkschool where you can learn more.

A "Whale being born" indeed! Welcome aboard!


source

Hey man! It's an honor for me to have you in my blog! your writing is awesome. I was actually looking for information on what the do's and not to do's of Steemit and one of your posts kinda fell from the sky to me. It was meant to be. I'm really glad you dig my first ever article and my writing.
thanks for your reference to @yallapapi. I will follow him as well as his Discord server @sharkschool

thanks!
if you need anything from me don't hesitate to let me know.

Spread the word, spread the love!

cheers!!

@DeXvid

Welcome! Judging by your introduction post you'll do well here; I'm sure a lot of people including myself will be looking forward to more quality content from yourself! I'm quite the music nerd, and am definitely excited to hear your work. See you around!!

hey man thanks a lot for those words @herbertholmes !
It's really encouraging to hear those kind of things on my first article, as sometimes it can be a bit hard to find the right people to share it with. I'm so new that everything feels like unexpected. Thanks for your time! I'll definitely won't let you down with my content.
Looking forward to trade knowledge with you man.

cheers!

@DeXvid

Welcome to Steemit @dexvid. We look forward to reading about your interests!

Thanks @charisma777 for bringing him to our attention. and @freedomshift for stopping by with your welcome. :)

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Hey man thanks for the love & support! I’ve been checking you guys out and I can say that @newbieresteemday is a great initiative. I am glad that you’ve found my article interesting. I will definitely keep on using your tag. Hope you have a good day.
Cheers!

@DeXvid

Welcome to steemit! I think your skills and talents are perfect for this platform.

Thank you so much @digitaldreamer! It's an honor to have you around here following my blog. Even more of an honor when it comes from such a great writer like you are. I was reading this morning a few of your works and really enjoyed your overall style and topic selections.
I hope we keep in communication from now on, as I will be bringing great content through my blog, which I can assure will be of your liking.
Hope you have a good day,
cheers!

@DeXvid

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 4k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from
https://discord.gg/WaeJXmE
Join the steemit school on discord channel today

thanks @rosestar. Will do!

Welcome on steemit @dexvid!

Nice to have met you in the newbieresteemgroup!

hey man!!! nice to see you out here @bifilarcoil ! I'm glad we met over there as well. This seems like a pretty awesome space to build a great and honest network. If you need anything from me, don't hesitate to let me know.
cheers!

@DeXvid

Just share you insights in newbieresteem, we are all still 'betatesters', so i tend to think that if there is a chance to improve the platform then NOW is the time. So a critical view now, could make a big difference in the future. If we manage to communicate it to the right people.

Have a blast!

@bifilarcoil

That's awesome man! thank you for that suggestion. @newbieresteemday is definitely a community I want to take part on by contributing to it with my content and ideas. I feel that it's how you said. If we all work together and communicate the things to the right people, we will make a huge difference for not only our future but for the ones who come after us.
we will be in communication.
take care!

@DeXvid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87