Don't Be Too Quick To Judgement!

in #education7 years ago (edited)

My wife and I have an English language center here in Vietnam.

We teach young Vietnamese kids how to speak English. Today during summer camp I came downstairs into one of the classrooms that the students had just entered to find this on the whiteboard.

I was upset, as it's an uphill battle to try and not only improve these student's English but also their behaviour.
Moreover, my wife was furious. She made all the students come and see the board and asked the person who did it to own up to it. Silence. So, she said, we have one hour left in the class, if the person who wrote this doesn't tell me they did it, and I find out who it was, then, they will not be coming back to our school.
Time passed. We slipped our daughter into the classroom to listen to see if anyone was talking, but still nothing. As we worked we chatted about who we thought it was. Some of the usual suspects names were tossed about by us. We were pretty sure, based on body language and past behaviour that we knew who it was. I went on with my teaching and then with about ten minutes left in the class my wife called me outside. She looked shocked, and then she told me, that it was a very small seven year old girl. I was shocked too, I said, "what did she say?" "Why did she do it?" She asked to talk to my wife, she said she did it, she didn't know what the word meant but she thought it must be a nice word because it was written all over the desks at her elementary school. My wife told her it was good that she had confessed to writing it, explained why not to write it anymore and sent her back to the class.
The moral here is don't be too quick to judge an event, I'm glad we didn't as blaming the wrong student could have caused a lot more stress than necessary.

Peace and happiness from Vietnam! @minnowsupport #whalepower @wthomas

Sort:  

That story has a good moral, thanks for sharing it. Peace and happiness :)

Thanks Tylergreen!

Children are so innocent and get exposed to so much. Sometimes I don't know why words have so much power. That word is kind of rough... but $hit... why is that a "bad" word. I really don't understand. It's not violent if you don't do it you die. You can live without your black board word but... well you wouldn't get any more children without it. Maybe someone can explain bad words to me. I think they are just words unless said with malice.

The thing here is, the kids get a lot of swear words from movies and they learn to use them as they do in the movies. We made our summer camp very cheap to allow students who don't usually do extra schooling to be able to come. The parents know in many cases these kids aren't very good students so they've asked us to include as many life skills with the teaching as we can. This is one of those life skills. In this case, yes, the child was quite innocent, in other cases, I've dealt with the isn't usually the case and this can lead to bullying and children leaving the school because they are being picked on and sworn at.

This post have been Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Upvote , Reblogged , Comment when ever you can.
This message come up when you use #whalepower Tag.
@bullionstackers @paul-gillbanks Curator for #whalepower
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog - Please Click to Read

Thanks bullionstackers!

This Post have been Manually Curated / Upvoted.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag ,
Please share Our #whalepower Tag with the community . Upvote , Reblogged Us , when ever you can.
This message comes-up when #whalepower Tag in use.
#whalepower is community project
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

Thanks paul-gillbanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41